We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood, great value, very small Single "A" rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood, great value, very small Single "A" rooms”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After spending five nights at the Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier, including waiting out a moderate typhoon that passed over Tokyo on September 16, I can say that I was very pleased / satisfied with my stay. However, there are a few aspects of the hotel that merit consideration before booking.

Starting with the positives. The rate I was able to obtain through a third party booking site for a single room in a great Tokyo neighborhood was phenomenal. That one can book a hotel room in the Aoyama district of Tokyo with FREE in-room wi-fi, breakfast included in the room rate, and with a washing machine (includes a drying cycle, so no need for a separate dryer) with nominally priced detergent available at the front desk), and a microwave and refrigerator for less than $125 US per night is amazing. Adding to this is that the wi-fi is very simple to set up and is very stable and sufficiently fast. There is also an in-room safe, and body wash, shampoo, conditioner and hand soap are provided as well. The only negatives on the in-room amenities are that the towels are thin and the toilet paper is not "top of the line." I was in room 2010 and had some road noise, but nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is near a busy intersection and whenever an ambulance went through, they used a loud speaker to warn cross traffic (great idea, by the way) and that was audible from the room. There are English language instruction pages for the washing machine, the safe and the air conditioner remote control (which you will need, if you are not familiar with typical Japanese hotel a/c set ups).

The other overwhelming positive was the neighborhood around the hotel. Excellent choice of dining in all cuisines. There are several restaurants in the Aoyama Passage at the foot of the hotel. I found a Britsh Pub on the road to Meiji Jingu Stadium (less than 10 minute walk from the hotel). There are two Starbucks within five minutes of the hotel, and three more on the walk to Shibuya Station (not to mention the world's busiest Starbucks at Hachinko Crossing outside Shibuya Station). There is a Family Mart around the corner and a 7-11 across Aoyama Dori. There is also easy access to the Gaiemmae Station (G-03) on the Ginza Line. More on that below.

Two aspects that I would consider positive but not to the same degree as above. I found the hotel staff to be helpful and polite (and English speaking) but the overall level of common area amenities was sparse (one vending machine, hidden just off the check in lobby on the 13th floor). One pays for one's stay at check-in.

Breakfast is in the Architect Cafe in the same building on the second floor (so outside of the hotel area which is floors 13-25). At check in, one is given coupons for breakfast, otherwise the charge is 1,200 yen. Note, bring the coupon with you. Your room card / your room number means zip / zilch / nada to the Cafe crew. The cafe has sufficient seating, but is overall a bit cramped (not a lot of "personal space"). The selection of food is OK, but may feel limited to those with western preferences. There is a good selection of beverages, including - for breakast - iced black tea, iced oolong tea, and iced coffee. Of the three differenent hotels I've stayed at in Tokyo over the years, while the this hotel is the least expensive, the breakfast is also the most limited. Of course, it is included in the room rate.

The one negative is the size of the room. Single A guest rooms are described on the hotel's website as 17 m2. That is about 185 square feet. There is no room to spare and the room felt cramped. It rained hard on September 15 in the morning and then Typhoon TS 1318 passed over on the 16th, and I was most glad to be able to get out of the room when the weather cleared in the afternoon both days.

A few suggestions / observations for guests planning on booking a stay.

1) The hotel has an excellent website. Search for "Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier" and you should easily find a link to an English language version of the hotel's website. Check this out before booking.

2) The hotel is intended as an "extended stay" hotel. If you are staying more than six nights, be sure you understand the hotel's room servicing policies.

3) The hotel is the tallest building in the neighborhood, and the elevator lobbies have good views of the Shinjuku highrise district and rooms xx07-xx16 (at least that is the case on the 20th floor) have views of Mt. Fuji and the hills west of Tokyo on clear days. I would imagine the views of central Tokyo from east facing rooms are equally good.

4) This hotel has very easy access to the Gaiemmae station (G-03) on the Ginza Line. Enter and exit via Gate 1A and you will be within a two - three minute walk of the hotel entrance. I have been in Tokyo previously, and had tried (wisely) to avoid Tokyo subways at peak hours. I did not have a choice this time on two occasions and misjudged the end of morning rush hour on another occasion. The Ginza Line gets quite crowded at peak hours - and that is an understatement. The most crowded stretch is between stops G-05 (Akasaka - Mitsuke) and G-08 (Shimbashi). However, crowding can extend all the way to Shibuya (G-01) through Nihombashi (G-11). Just be forewarned, because unless you are willing to walk a bit, your "first kilometre" and "last kilometre" of public transit access to and from this hotel are going to be on the Ginza Line. Also, Gaiemmae is the station for the Yakult Swallows stadium and the national rugby stadium. I did not use the station during peak crowd arrival or departure times, but I imagine it can get hectic. Otherwise, I found it a fairly quiet, easy to navigate station.

Overall, I think this is a great value in Tokyo lodging with a lot of positives. But do consider room sizes, servicing on longer stays and the subway access before booking.

Room Tip: On the 20th floor, rooms 07-16 had Mt. Fuji views on clear days. I cannot guarantee this is the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    102
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
10
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is really nice for a short term stay in Tokyo for non-Japanese looking for a place that is less expensive than the 5 start hotels. . It is excellent value and provides the best breakfast buffet for foreigners outside of the 5 star hotels. This is generally my hotel of choice when I travel to Japan as it is Central and convenient to my work place. The staff are conscientious as is the case always in Japan. The rooms are quite small as is also the norm in Japan but the work space is adequate to spread out a computer and there is also room to hang suits. Most of the necesssary information is in English. The one difficult thing about this hotel is that you will need to get a cab from wherever you get off the bus from Narita/Haneda.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here b/c I missed my train back home which takes like 20000yen.

Excellent location, great neighborhood (very quiet). Great staff and interior.

But very small room size for what you pay for. I would stay here again if I had extra $$.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokyocrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really nice hotel, perfect location, good price for value and beautiful view over Tokyo. All in all really recommended if you're staying in Tokyo, want a central location in an quiet neighbourhood and want to combine business with leasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionVerbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I flew in to Narita Airport and took the bus (Limousine?) to Tokyo. While the 1 hr. bus did no go directly to my hotel, I selected a bus that got me close (within 1.5 miles) and took a cab to my hotel. I purchased a ticket to the Excel? Hotel figuring that was closest to my hotel. It was the 3rd or 4th stop and it would have been better to get off at the Osio? Hotel (1st stop) and take a cab from there. That move would have saved 20-30 minutes as the bus dropped other off others at these hotels. The Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier is a small hotel and the taxi driver had to enter the address in his GPS to find it.

The lobby for the hotel is on the 12th floor and rooms are above that floor. I did not need help with getting bags to my room, and there did not appear to be anyone to help if needed. The staff spoke very good English and they were very helpful. I received a breakfast coupon for each night that allowed me to eat each morning at a small restaurant on the 2nd floor. The food was mostly Japanese with some western food and the restaurant staff was very helpful. Unfortunately there was no coffee only tea, so a quick trip around the corner to Starbucks was needed. I never felt unsafe walking around.

The room was very “efficient” and typical for many Tokyo hotels. The main room was 8’ x 8’ wall to wall. There was ~2’ of floor at the end of the bed about ~3’ on the side. The fire escape map confirmed that all rooms on that floor (21st) were the same size. I did have a view of Mt. Fuji one morning, but most of the time it was hidden by clouds (smog?). The bed was very firm and the pillows were also stiff/firm. There were no drawers to use for unpacking your bag. The small slot (6” wide) to hang up clothes could only fit 3 hangers. There was a microwave, very small frig and washing machine in the room. The hotel was very quiet and I didn’t hear any noises from the adjacent rooms. The lighting was controlled by buttons on the headboard and there was a nice “Night Light” that provided dim light to find the bathroom. There was a cut out in the headboard to hold your iPhone and a power outlet next to it if you use the phone as an alarm clock. The heated bathroom seat is typical for Tokyo. The tub walls were quite high and the hand held shower fit nicely into a high bracket for a typical US shower experience. The room had a good size personal safe that allowed me to lock up my laptop and other valuables. The free Wi-Fi was very strong and Skype to the US worked very smoothly. The AC unit is mounted above the headboard on the wall and worked fine once I found the English instructions in the book on the desk.
The room was very clean, and I will go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 07 through 16 face Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_WalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is the perfect base for any traveller. Clean, good sized rooms complete with washer/drier, microwave and cooking faciliities. Wifi now in every room. A very easy 2 stops from Shibuya and 2 minutes from the subway station. You can walk to Shibuya in about 20 minutes and if you go right at the Omotesando subway, a direct road takes you down to Meigi Jingu shrine and Harajuku. As a female travelling alone the whole area feels very safe to walk around at any time. Very good transport connections to other parts of Tokyo. Excellent breakfasts so you can fill up for the day. Good range of eating places close by, both Japanese and European. Try Eat on Kita-Aoyama for a cheap tasty burger. Lovely cake shop down stairs. Staff are pleasant and helpful. My only quibble would be the twit that decided to do his washing at midnight. Great views of Tokyo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier is located in the Aoyama district, the most fashionable part of Tokyo and only 2 minutes walk to Tokyo Metro Ginza line Gaienmae station.
Also close to Akasaka business district, Harajyuku fashion town, and Shibuya.
The rooms are equipped with washing machine, mini kitchen, presser and complimentary buffet breakfast in one of their tenant cafe.
They also have serviced apartments for longer stays.
Jingu Gaien park is nearby if you want to go jogging,
or lots of top-notch restaurants which Aoyama is famous for.
The staffs are welcoming but the service is limited as this hotel is regarded as business hotel,
and not a luxury hotel. But that's what keeps the price down.
Lots of Western people live in Aoyama too, which makes this place distinguished.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiyoshi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 28 in Shibuya
293 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
#15 of 28 in Shibuya
136 reviews
Hotel Allamanda Aoyama
#73 of 110 in Minato
23 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier

Property: Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier
Address: 2-27-18 Minami Aoyama, Minato 107-0062, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier Hotel Minato
Tokyu Stay Aoyama Premier Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing