We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing little restaurant at end of an alley way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lauburu

Lauburu
Ranked #2,670 of 10,802 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
california
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing little restaurant at end of an alley way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

After more than a week in Tokyo,I was ready to take a break from Japanese food and my husband found this restaurant near our hotel. Not easy to find since it does not face a street but worth every minute spent looking for it. The business facing the street says "Catorce",some kind of clothing store so just walk to the end and you have arrieved at one of the most charming little restaurants ever((25 seats), I ordered grilled porc-juicy,tender and matched with the best grilled vegetables I have ever tasted. My husband had the cassulet also excellent. Shared a salad with the lightest dressing ,crisp bread and melting goat cheese. The kitchen is partially opened to views and it looked liked a choreograph dance between the chefs. Also several french-speaking custumers where there and looked like they knew the chef well. Overall a wonderful surprise in Tokyo-highly recommended. Make sure to phone ahead on the weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nana5California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday. What an absolute delight, and highly authentic rustic French food. My main dish was Alsatian (pork leg) and dessert (custard cake) was yummy. Ordered escargot for the appetizer, which was delicious. My husband's pork pate was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatandLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent rustic French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Tucked in a side street, not far from Nishi-Azabu crossing, this is a very memorable rustic style French restaurant specialising in pork, with a long list of variations on that theme. For example I had a Basque style pate starter and for main had confit of pork shoulder with polenta. Some delicious desserts also on offer (at which point there is a break from the porcine theme). Excellent for a business dinner or special romantic occasion. Not cheap but certainly not overpriced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genkhis_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy as a pig in s...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We only found this place after not been able to get a booking for my wife's B'day at any of the Joel Robuchon restaurants .....and I got to say we were most happy that we did. The food is at the other end of the of the spectrum from the many Tokyo modern French cuisine restaurants, with their rich sauces and flash garishes....Lauburu gives you very high quality ingredients that are simply cooked and to cooked perfection.
Only one michelan star? This needs reviewing....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Michelin star treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The most cozy little French/Bask restaurant with a country farmhouse decor with images of pigs all around, offers a fantastic service, wonderful atmosphere, & delicious bask style food. We've been here on numerous occasions, impressed every time!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zdenka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lauburu also viewed

 

Been to Lauburu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing