We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, staff very helpful and pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gracery Tamachi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gracery Tamachi
Ranked #38 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, staff very helpful and pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here in march. Handy location near jr. Room and location quiet and clean. I had the misfortune in Tokyo of losing my wallet, probably in a taxi after too much wine! When I realised it was gone the staff made lots of phone calls for me to the taxi company and the bar and restaurant we had eaten in the night before.. They had great English and were so kind.. If you find yourself in the local police station which we did, again they couldn't have been more pleasant! I left Tokyo without my wallet but with good memories of how well we were treated in Japan by everyone

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    145
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
46
72
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel was a good find. Its only a short 5 minute walk from tamachi station which conveniently is on the jr yamanote loop. If you like to party then this obviously isnt the place for you because its in a business district , but if you are after a place that is fairly central to all the worthwhile places in tokyo then its perfect. The room is a standard size for a tokyo business hotel , probably a little bit bigger. It was comfortable and if you can get a special discount you can get a room with a double bed for around 7000 yen a night which is pretty good value. I would definitely stay here again when in tokyo

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnchartedGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Hotel Gracery Tamachi is perfectly suited for business travelers needing to visit the Tamachi "district" of Tokyo. A quick 10 minute walk gets you all the way to Rainbow Bridge; 3 minutes to Tamachi station.

The rooms are clean, simple and neat. A bit on the small size but still slightly above average for Tokyo. There is a desk with in the room with wired Internet access. The staff is helpful and those at the front desk speak fluent English, if needed. The connected restaurant also features a nice buffet breakfast to help start the day right.

It's hard to beat the Hotel Gracery without moving outside of Tamachi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zerolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my extended trip in Japan. To be frankly I have some mixed feelings about this hotel.
It's quite close to JR Tamachi station, which is only minutes away from Tokyo station. But if you are going to take the subway, it's on the far side of the JR station.
The room is well decorated and equipped for a hotel of this type. But the room size is quite small, even in Japanese standard.
The hotel staff are professional and speak good English, the breakfast is also delicious. But this hotel is quite expensive for a Japanese "Business hotel". Actually it almost exceeds my budget if I didn't find an online promotion in first place.
The area near the hotel is like a high-end business area, clean and quiet at night while there are still shops and restaurants conveniently located near the station. But in the morning, you need to fight with crowds in order to reach the station.
It is quite amusing that I can see janitors in room level all the time, for some reasons they even appear in the evening. But the hotel is indeed very clean, one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in.
So my conclusion is, this hotel is quite good for a Tokyo hotel, which is usually overpriced and undersized. But considering the value, I'm still a little unwilling to give it a rating of 5.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poorjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I do not know if I will find enough superlatives to praise this hotel.
Sure, the rooms are small. But it has everything you need for a pleasant stay. The bed is comfortable. Internet access is available via cable. And flat-panel televisions on the wall.
Rooms are extremely clean. This is one of two hotels that I stayed at where I could sleep in the bathroom:)
The hotel's location is perfect for travelers who want to live in a quieter environment but still be close to Tokyo's absolute center. Tamachi is located on the main commuter line Yamanote Line, which is a circle line.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Most speak English well, those who do not will still do everything to help you.
On the other side Tamachistation there is a very nice neighborhood restaurant where you can find all kinds of Japanese food at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The Gracery Tamachi Hotel seems to be catered toward the business traveler and during my stay mainly occupied by Japanese people. I stayed for 5 days in this hotel and enjoyed the place for its manageable size and friendly staff. The rooms are small, as others commented before but if you don't travel with an armada of suitcase, the room has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The Tamachi station (JR Line and Metro) is only a few minutes away and there are plenty of small restaurants around the station. I'd rather stay in such a hotel than in those international mainstream bunkers! And for my next stay in Tokyo, I certainly will go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

After getting the boot from the Keio Presso Inn (Kanda location), I was left to find another hotel for the next 2 days. I had decided to extend my stay last minute in Tokyo & the previous hotel was completely booked for the next 2 days.

Hotel Gracery was recommended by a local & they had rooms available. All I had was a text message to direct the taxi driver & instructions to go to the Tamachi station off the Yamanote line.

First off: GREAT location esp. for the tourist who knows zero Japanese. The Tamachi station itself wasn't nearly as chaotic as some other stops as Tokyo & as luck would have it, there were plenty taxis right off the metro stop. Even better, the hotel is very close to the station: walking distance. The drive was fairly quick & I was able to remember the driver's turns so I can walk it next time. Situated around a business/financial district, the streets around it were for once open/well-paved, something I was yet to see here in Tokyo.

& the hotel's great. I liked the contemporary setup. My passport, credit card & a pensive smile was all I needed to get setup & checked in. The room was well-done. The size was bigger for being a Japanese hotel room & it was clean. I was further impressed w/ the LED mounted against the wall as opposed to micro CRT TV's I've seen in most hotels!

And going back to location, I agree w/ the other reviewers. Plenty of places to eat all around. There's a Lawson convenience store only like 5 minutes away. And there's a plenty variety of restaurants along the main street between the Yamanote Line & the hotel.

Look forward to another stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Tamachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gracery Tamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gracery Tamachi

Property: Hotel Gracery Tamachi
Address: 3-8-1 Shibaura, Minato 108-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gracery Tamachi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Gracery Tamachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracery Tamachi Hotel
Hotel Gracery Tamachi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing