We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have to love it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roy's Tokyo Bar & Grill Roppongi - CLOSED

Roy's Tokyo Bar & Grill Roppongi
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You have to love it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Roy's Tokyo..... It's one of the best in Japan. A fabulous cross between formal and casual, romantic and friendly, adult and family..... Spend a special occasion and they will make you feel special. Mr. Kasahara is one of those who's there everywhere and yet nowhere managers, who has eyes on the back of his head!!! He sees to it that everything is perfect. And oh my God don't ever forget the butter miso fish house special!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paruharu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
183 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Delicious lunches at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I first tried Roy's in Baltimore and have since my wife and I have been to four or five of the locations in Hawaii as well as the one in Guam. The service varied a lot from location to location, but we always had great food, so we were delighted to find a Roy's in Tokyo. We have been there probably a hundred times, mostly for lunch. The lunch menu has a dozen or so selections, including several types of seafood (misoyaki butterfish, ahi steak, mahi mahi, etc.), a pork steak, a beef steak, and a hamburger. Between the two of us we have had almost everything on the menu, and found the cuisine to be generally delicious. It is "expensive" for lunch compared to the Tokyo-standard 1000-yen set menu, but at 1600 yen for a good-sized meal, including French bread and coffee or tea, I can't complain. The food is excellent and we have generally had very good service. Also, the views over Tokyo are stunning - the view of Tokyo Tower is especially nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food with the best scenic view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Me and some friends went a few times to this restaurant. Not only did we go back for the view, but the food was really nice and also the service was most times good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This establishment is not a real Roy's experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Sadly, this Roy's restaurant is not what you would normally expect in "his standard" establishments in the Islands. The food was in a nutshell, terrible. The menu for the evening was touted as "special", as Chef Roy himself was in the house. No one ever saw him however, which was a bit strange since the hostess made a point to tell us he was to be there when we made reservations. We didn't really care if he made his way into the dining room or not, but was fully expecting the food to be exceptional since he was overseeing the kitchen. I cannot or will not believe that was the case however, because not one dish tasted like a signature Hawaiian fusion Roy's specialty.
To add insult to this lack of culinary satisfaction, the service was even worse! Our waiter was extremely scarce all evening - from our having to ask for water, ask to order our wine (giving us a snappy "wait"), and even ASK if he could take our dinner orders! While he was halfway around our table of 5, he walked away to say goodbye to his friends. (Not just a quick goodbye, but soul handshakes and hugs and conversations). We sat there in amazement that we had to observe all that before he came back to our table,without even a sorry or lack of feeling that something was not quite right. When it was way past our time to get the check, he was again no where to be found. Upon exiting we saw him in a corner laughing and conversing with friends, as if he were a guest in the restaurant. First of all this so unlike the very service oriented Japanese culture. But mainly it was unbelievable they can get away with this and still be in business. Our final bill for 5 came to over $600 (wine included). That is completely unexceptable for the quality of food and lack of service received. I hope Chef Yamaguchi will take note and try to salvage this sad place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodietraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner, Great Views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner here and it was fantastic! We stopped in for a drink at the bar and had actually planned on going elsewhere to dine. But after two amazing, hand-crafted and delicious cocktails, we decided to stay. We didn't have a reservation, but were seated immediately with a great view of the skyline.

Menu sets for dinner are lovely - the $38.00 / person three course dinner was perfect and included an appetizer sampler platter that was to die for delicious, and your choice of four different entrees, plus dessert with coffee. We had a couple glasses of wine as well. Total spend: $140.00 for two. This is an incredible value! We had toyed with the idea of trying a fancy place like the Park Hyatt, but didn't want to end up spending hundreds and hundreds of dollars.

Is it inspired cuisine and over-the-top service? Not really. But it is solidly good with tasty food, efficient, friendly service and a great view. We were very happy with the experience and will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAbeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roy's Tokyo Bar & Grill Roppongi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing