We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun night”
Review of Robataya

Robataya
Ranked #488 of 10,854 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
305 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What a fun night”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Yes it is expensive blah blah blah. Ryne and I had a great night and not much more than what we would spend at a nice restaurant in Tampa if we ordered 4 courses and alcohol and tip (which is not a factor in Japan).
It was nice to have a more or less intimate seating arrangement so as to allow for conversation between the other diners - something we always enjoy.
The food was fresh - the fish tank was like "The Green Mile" and I kept wondering if the fish were wondering when their number would be called. The staff are very entertaining. And strong - we tried to hold those paddles up with poor success. All in all it was about 2 and 1/2 hours of entertainment and good food.
The only negative food wise was the whole fish is difficult for a person not skilled with chopsticks to eat and when the chef deboned it the resulting pieces were almost minced and still had some of those I little bones.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    10
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun, good food ... but ouch, the price”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We ate at Robataya on our second next in Tokyo, because our hotel recommended it (we briefed them that we wanted somewhere special and we'd like meat along with our raw fish).

Robataya is a small place - tricky to find unless your taxi drops you directly outside. But, unlike the cheap and cheerful teppanaki bar we went to the night before, it's in no way a locals place. It's fully designed for tourists and is all about the show and the experience - they'll happily show you the photo album of the many, many celebs who've dined there. Little Mix were apparently in just hours before us, if that means anything globally.

Back to dinner. We enjoyed the experience. The shouted orders from the chefs, the beers arriving on a wooden paddle, selecting your ingredients from the bowls in front of you. And, for what it's worth, I thought it tasted good too - fresh, clean - as you'd hope.

Every reviewer has mentioned the price and it's absolutely true. It is stingingly expensive. We don't have a problem paying more for a great meal, but I dislike not knowing beforehand. It's not exclusive - it's sneaky. Why put a blot on a fun experience by bringing out an astronomical surprise bill at the end?

It's a shame because otherwise I'd say 5 stars.

I'd still recommend it, but just be fully prepared for the price tag, relax and enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MooMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
220 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great one”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I went on a Friday night with a friend and was impressed by the set up. The 2 big guys kneeling all night cooking the food was a cool sight and the layout of 3 long tables, sitting next to others did not give a too crowded feel.
The food is laid out in front of you with no menu, so as many have said there is an issue with seeing everything that is on offer and of course the price, which is high for what it is but I really did enjoy the food and the ambiance.
It's worth a try for sure if you don't mind a splurge. For 2 guys we had a number of items including some Kobe beef and fish and amazing baked potatoes with butter which gave us memories of a bonfire night and a good few beers. In all came to about S$500.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Benihana is better”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I don't write many reviews and often give restaurants the benefit of the doubt. That said, i would seriously not compare this experience to a jousting meal in Vegas or a Benihana meal. Both are better.

To be a little fair, the sashimi was good and it ends there. The rest of the yelling and imitating of a fish market scene starts to become annoying after awhile as well for those that were in larger groups. The rest of the grilled fishes were ok at best if you enjoy your food extremely salty.
Cost: I have zero issues paying extremely high costs for good meals. 600 dollars for 2 people with a bottle of wine that was 60 bucks constitutes total ripoff.

I could not recommend this place even if it was free.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pricey yet enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We dined at Robataya at the recommendation of our hotel concierge. Like several other reviewers mentioned there is no menu and no prices displayed. If cost is a concern, avoid this place; if not, the overly friendly staff and delicious fresh food will be well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank monicam570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Robataya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing