We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with great views of Tokyo Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Wherever the cheap fares take me
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with great views of Tokyo Bay”
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Stayed here as part of a recent trip to Japan for 2 nights. Location is so so, as it is near a train stop, but not a very useful one. To get anywhere you have to either walk 10 minutes to a subway or change trains a bit, but this is not a major issue. Hotel lobby was elegant and very quiet. We saw no one pretty much in the lobby area at any time we were in the hotel. Check in and check out were very painless with a friendly staff. Received a very nice room with a spectacular view of Tokyo Bay. Room was very nice, clean and had a spacious bathroom, with a tub that was right next to the window so you could overlook the bay. Club lounge was adequate and served a satisfactory breakfast, but nothing extraordinary. Overall, a nice hotel and for the 18,000 yen I paid per night, very much worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonius66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    574
    172
    35
    20
See reviews for
333
402
114
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

My first time to Tokyo and I had no idea where to book a hotel. I had read a review that I should get a room with an overview of Tokyo Bay and so I did – Thanks it was fantastic. Instead of looking into a wall or another building you now have a magnificent overview of the Tokyo Bay harbor. It’s about 25 min walk from the shopping street “Ginza”. Our room was big with a spacious bathroom.

  • Liked — Tokyo Bay overview
  • Disliked — No free internet
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksvaneborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

On a one night stop in Tokyo on my way to Singapore I stayed at the Intercontinental Tokyo Bay. The hotel staff was very friendly and the view from the hotel was amazing. As a girl traveling by herself through Tokyo I was a bit nervous at first but the hotel staff was very helpful. The morning that I was there I woke up very early to go to the Fish Market. The concierge gave an overview of the market, called a taxi and gave me the card to the hotel in case I were to get lost I was to show the card to the taxi driver. In the mornings you can get a awesome view of the sun rising over the Rainbow Bridge and in the evenings you can enjoy a relaxing time at the Sunset Lounge while watching the Rainbow Bridge display it's lights.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Views and staff
  • Disliked — Not in thte center of the action
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YRamos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

This is a really nice hotel. I stayed there with family in July 2008. The rooms were HUGE for Tokyo and if you can get a room facing the bay the views are to die for. The rooms are spotless, immaculate and feature those amazing TOTO washlets (look it up ;-).

The staff is very nice and friendly and the location of the hotel is close to public transit (Hamamatsu JR stop, taxi, Takeshiba monorail and the Tokyo subway). I can't believe the kind of deal we got for what we paid! I will most certainly stay there whenever I have to pay for my own stay!! (the Westin in Ebisu is also a huge favorite of mine).

The only gripes would be to do a low level renovation since the carpet is wearing in places and some parts of the hotel have a dated 1980s look. Also their "Grasmatta spa" was just a regular guest room with little privacy. The therapists were.....just ehhh (not really anything to write home about).

All in all a WONDERFUL place and one that the Intercontinental chain should exploit more to target high end leisure travel (in addition to business travelers). They really have a gem of a place on their hands. The staff were uncommonly nice to our young kids.

Remember -- get the Bay view rooms !

Two unreserved thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank S3CR3T3X3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

This hotel is great. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the bay, the view is amazing. Even on a cloudy day, you can see fairly well.

The staff there is really helpful and the location is very transit friendly. You can easily walk, taxi or take the train to wherever you need to go.

All in all, you can't get much better than this hotel.

  • Liked — The view and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tanoshegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

Family of 4 (Parents & 2 teens) - 10 nights in Tokyo. Did the research and as expected, rates at Ryokans and hotels were numbingly expensive. Ryokans averaged maybe 7000y -20,000y per person per night
(converting to avg Au$70 - AU$200 per person per night), and hotels were quite restrictive in # persons per room (max 2 or 3 with rollaway). With Ryokans, we would most likely be in the suburbs (so allow extra for transport), sharing bathroom facilities, living in a spartan environment - difficult with 2 restless teens. Took a punt and emailed Intercontinental TB after reading reviews, and got a great rate for Tokyo of 17,500y+tax per night hoping that the room would accommodate 4 persons. Err I may have not mentioned that we were a party of 4.
Let's see the positives:
- Great view of Tokyo Bay: - 17th floor: a huge plus after a long day of sightseeing (being in a country where we can't communicate makes touring doubly exhausting)
- Luxe bathroom amenites (and not just one each of the little bottles, but 4 of each item!)/ comp chocolates/ comp plate of fruit on arrival, and again during our stay.
- kettle and fridge space (we asked for the minibar to be cleared out - no problem)
- Adaptor provided for our stay, extra blankets/ pillows (my son ended up sleeping on the floor as the beds are only double size - but he would have slept on the floor in a ryokan), bathrobes, night kimonos, and standard fare of iron/ board, hair-dryer, daily English newspaper
- TV with 3 English channels - you wouldn't believe how appreciative we were of this facility (not available at a Ryokan) after battling with the Japanese language all day
- little touches that made the stay that bit special eg fresh flowers
in a vase, ice bucket filled daily
- Large supermarket (Food Express) about 12 minutes walk (at base of Siodome buildings) on the way to Shimashi Station (more later) 3 Convenience stores within 2 - mins walk: these convenience stores sell products & food at very reasonable prices eg hot dogs at 100y, pasta dishes 360y. Over ½ dozen good restaurants in next building (Ferry Bldg) & nearby. There was an exit door to the next building and onto the overpass to the monorail on the 2nd (I think) floor - which we used to avoid the gauntlet of well-wishing staff in the lobby. Also, I was a bit mindful of having 'snuck' 4 of us in the room.
Monorail - 3 mins, Toei Metro line (Daimon Stn) 7 mins, JR rail line
(Hamamatsucho Stn) 6 minutes, Tokyo Metro line (Shimbashi Stn) 15 mins walk. I mention these different stations because they are all separate train lines that you need to pay separately to take, which go to different areas of Tokyo- stations sometimes intersecting. We made the mistake of buying Tokyo- Metro passes covering our entire stay, to find that they only covered certain stations. I would next time buy single tickets (on whichever line that took us to the destination) and stick to one or 2 areas a day for touring, as we ended up having to buy extra tickets on top of the TM passes, to get us to places that weren't covered. At then at the end of the day walking 15 minutes from Shimbashi to the hotel, rather than pay to go
on the monorail (approx 180y ea for 2 stops). Kids over 11 are full price on pub transport. However, Tokyo is super-safe, so there wasn't
really a problem walking back to the hotel late at night - apart from
failing legs.

It would be arrogant to expect English spoken everywhere, but I was surprised at how little was spoken by staff (both in the hotel and in Tokyo as a whole). However, the best person to contact is the person on the phone that dealt with Guest Services: his English was excellent.

All up, this is an astonishingly great choice if you are travelling with a small family and want not only comfort and convenience, but good value in Tokyo.

  • Liked — View, Room, location, staff, price, service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank family-mcbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Tokyo Bay is just a 5 star in Tokyo. By Intercontinental standards is just makes the grade as a 5 star as it is slightly old. The Hotel has outstanding service, character and value. I found that through the Interncontinental website I paid abt US$190 per night (1 month in advance) which was great value for Tokyo for a 5 star. I will definately stay here again. The service level was outstanding with the hotel staff helping at will. The manager spent a good part of his morning helping me with some train connections to the airport. He really went out of his way. I felt like home in this place, home away from home. Really great intercontinental service here. I recommend it. Ask the concierge abt the train systems. There is one station just outside the hotel which leads to Shinbashi and then connect to Ginza, a happening area of Tokyo. Also ask abt going on a half day tour if this is your first time in Tokyo. Dont worry you'lll figure it out, just ask there locals, Japanese are very tourist friendly.

  • Liked — service level, views
  • Disliked — was a bit old for intercontinental standards
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,112 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#10 of 109 in Minato
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay

Property: InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Address: 1-16-2 Kaigan, Minato 105-8576, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can practically feel the heartbeat of the city from the impressive InterContinental Tokyo Bay. Convenient for business or pleasure travel, the hotel puts you in easy reach of business, shopping and entertainment centres including the World Trade Center Tokyo, Shiodome and Ginza. The Imperial Palace and Shiki Theatre provide tastes of culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tokyo Bay
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing