We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but Too formal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice but Too formal”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

ANA hotel is one of the most convenient locations and rooms and restaurants are all great. Surprisingly or Not surprisingly for Japan, its too formal. Reception staff are extremely friendly but I wanted a couple of hours extension to check out after a weeks stay and they tried to charge me 200 usd!!. The last bus to airport leaves at 430pm and my flight was at 10pm. Was not much helpful. If you have been to Japan you know a taxi ride to the airport costs 300 usd. Train is from Tokyo station and not very convenient if you have to carry luggages. in the end took a taxi to the TCAT terminal (costs 40 usd) and took the bus, another 40 usd.. Japan is still not easy in terms of airport and access. ANA needs to get a bit of a warm touch and flexibility to its great service. I would probably not stay in ANA because the internet costs 20 usd a day. its not a big amount but don't think anyone should be charging for internet anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizmyshariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    1,098
    348
    83
    42
See reviews for
392
611
237
988
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The perfect location for the businessman and tourist alike. A short cab ride from the palace and Tokyo Cental Station whilst at the same time within walking distance of the great nightlife of Roppongi.

Room Tip: A room on a mid floor keeps you away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I used to live in Tokyo, very close to the ANA Intercon but I had never stayed there until this trip to Tokyo. I had eaten at several of the restaurants previously and attended meetings and functions but had never stayed. I would stay again as the location is ideal and the room rate is very good.

I particularly like the location for business and pleasure as it's very near Roppongi and Akasaka. Also, the Narita Friendly Limousine Bus stops right below the main Reception.

One complaint; the in-room safe is too small for a laptop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 21st floor as the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscretePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Once again we chose the IC ANA Tokyo and as usual we had a wonderful time. On arrival surprisingly we were not checked in at the lounge but rather at the main desks in the lobby.

The staff at this property makes every effort to ensure that all your needs are well taken care of. So I would like to thank the following, Junko the Club Lounge Manager and Yuko the Assistant Chief, Yuji and Sonoko.

The club lounge is going through some changes, there is no more champagne, which is a shame as it was really nice to be able to sip on bubbly as an option while admiring the views from the lounge. I think management should rethink about bringing back the champagne.

Initially we were given a nice Club King room but the washroom was very small with one sink for 2 people. The hotel staff kindly gave us a suite with a larger washroom and more room for 2 people. I was also informed that there will be no more Club Access for Royal Ambassadors which is a shame really as that is one of the draws for us to this property as well as the staff. Overall a very good property but if you like the night life in Shinjuku then I would recommend a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very impressive hotel, excellent location very close to the railway station clean large public areas.
But the room is very old smoking room smelled unbearable like the room was continues to smoke alone.
For a high price so I would recommend to renovate the rooms.

Room Tip: non smoking!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowneplaza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

When I arrived my room wasn't ready (I arrived at 8am and check in isn't until 2pm). Staff were most apologetic and took me to the health club so I could shower after my flight and get changed for my meetings. Throughout my stay the staff were extremely courteous.

The room was large and had good views of the surrounding area. Very comfortable hotel and perfect location for business.

I didn't eat in the hotel but seemed to have a large range of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers the location of this hotel for business is excellent. Getting there is easy, walk through customs and into exit area at Narita and buy a 3000 yen ticket on Limousine Bus, they take your luggage and almost immediately outside the gate is the bus terminal running every @ 30 mins. It takes about 1 hour 10 minutes and first stop drops you in the ground floor of hotel. Up an escalator and you are in reception. Equally easy getting back......However be warned the early morning buses get booked up, so suggest you book a few days ahead if you want to be sure.

Everything here is expensive, but this is Tokyo, but everything worked as one would expect, you are not delayed queuing up to check in or out as you very often are in Europe and USA where the hotel has decided the balance of customers/staff should be in their favour. Service and food is good, the only complaint I had was in the top bar where we went to celebrate a successful day was wanting 1000 yen just to walk in, which I felt was a bit stiff especially considering the price of drinks and that it was at best 20% full.

Would I come back here.......for business yes, because it works, for pleasure, I think I would try to find somewhere with a little less clinical.

Room Tip: Higher up gets better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singapore_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,243 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 110 in Minato
2,873 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 1070052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#15 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing