We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rippongi on the doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ranked #17 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rippongi on the doorstep”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A large hotel serving international customers. An hour's ride in the airport bus takes you direct to the hotel lobby. Check-in is efficient as you'd expect and the rooms all to a good standard. Not the cheapest hotel in Rippongi but it tries hard to keep up standards.
The hotel restaurant serves a great wine tasting option which is a good way to spend an hour or more working your way through an unlimited amount of French, German and Japanese wines in an evening, especially if you ate a large lunch !
Located across the road from a large number of local restaurants and even some western ones there are lots of options other than eating in.

Room Tip: Try the Starbucks next door for breakfast if all you need is coffee and pastries....much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    1,117
    361
    87
    43
See reviews for
408
625
247
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montana Rose
Level 6 Contributor
951 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

So far this has been the best hotel I've stayed at in the area. Great location to the embassies and subway. Starbucks next store, lots of great restaurants within a 10 min walk. Lobby is beautiful. Check-in was professional. Great service at concierge and the bellmen were prompt. The airport limo (bus) stops here for both airports and the price and times are great. Room is a little out-dated, but bed is very comfortable. Hotel and rooms do not smell like smoke (rare in Japan). Bathroom is simple and plain and could use updating, but it's very clean. Best thing: the cost is usually 1/2 the price of the Hyatt. Yah, they shouldn't charge extra for the pool, internet or extended check-out, but that's pretty typical for most of the big chain hotels here. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

i really hope that someone from the intercon group is reading this review. I have stayed at a lot of hotels around the world and rarely been so upset at the pricing policy of a hotel. Both the Ritz and Grand Hyatt in Ropongi are not that much more expensive but trying to charge Y3000 for use of the pool for in house guests is ridiculous. If it costs you that much to have a pool that you need to charge don't have one. If you do then put in bold letters on your website that you have this insane charge so that noone ever stays at this hotel.

Secondly the rooms, 80s horrible decor with bathrooms that are an acrylic mess.

ok positives....breath....positives are...location pretty good and the beds are nice and big i guess and thats pretty much.

basically dont stay at this hotel ever.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ana Intercontinental Tokyo, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear thekyd,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with us. I'm delighted you found our beds comfortable and pleased our location suited you well. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment you had regarding the pool charges and I regret you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I want you to assure you that the comments and suggestions you've shared will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel because the thought of a few laps outdoors would be great after a full day of office meetings. However, they charge ¥3000 per person per visit (that's the discount rate for hotel guests). I stayed at a regular queen room and moved to a king club after 2 days. The size and layout of the room is practically the same, and so is the view. So if you do not need the club lounge for work, don't book a club room and save yourself ¥6000 per night.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Isoldmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

ANA hotel is one of the most convenient locations and rooms and restaurants are all great. Surprisingly or Not surprisingly for Japan, its too formal. Reception staff are extremely friendly but I wanted a couple of hours extension to check out after a weeks stay and they tried to charge me 200 usd!!. The last bus to airport leaves at 430pm and my flight was at 10pm. Was not much helpful. If you have been to Japan you know a taxi ride to the airport costs 300 usd. Train is from Tokyo station and not very convenient if you have to carry luggages. in the end took a taxi to the TCAT terminal (costs 40 usd) and took the bus, another 40 usd.. Japan is still not easy in terms of airport and access. ANA needs to get a bit of a warm touch and flexibility to its great service. I would probably not stay in ANA because the internet costs 20 usd a day. its not a big amount but don't think anyone should be charging for internet anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizmyshariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The perfect location for the businessman and tourist alike. A short cab ride from the palace and Tokyo Cental Station whilst at the same time within walking distance of the great nightlife of Roppongi.

Room Tip: A room on a mid floor keeps you away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I used to live in Tokyo, very close to the ANA Intercon but I had never stayed there until this trip to Tokyo. I had eaten at several of the restaurants previously and attended meetings and functions but had never stayed. I would stay again as the location is ideal and the room rate is very good.

I particularly like the location for business and pleasure as it's very near Roppongi and Akasaka. Also, the Narita Friendly Limousine Bus stops right below the main Reception.

One complaint; the in-room safe is too small for a laptop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 21st floor as the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscretePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,145 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Shinjuku
4,351 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
InterContinental Hotel Tokyo Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Intercontinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Intercontinental Tokyo

Property: Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Address: 1-12-33 Akasaka | Minato ku, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#14 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#19 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Intercontinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything in a busy city, and ANA InterContinental Tokyo has one of the best. In Ark Hills near Akasaka, Roppongi and Kasumigaseki, the hotel provides easy access to Tokyo Metro stations, government agencies and financial institutions. The Imperial Palace, Senso-ji Temple, Ginza shopping district and the Mori Art Museum are short distances away. Our Club InterContinental Lounge is unique to the city, offering unparalleled levels of service and sweeping views of Tokyo and Mt. Fuji, whilst located away from the bustling metropolis below on level 35 of the hotel. The Club Lounge is a perfect retreat whether it be for business or leisure and offers the following exclusive benefits: ■Personalised welcome and departure service in the Lounge ■Gourmet continental breakfast daily ■Afternoon refreshments ■Evening cocktails and canapes ■Use of our private meeting room for up to two hours (subject to availability) with custom built video-conferencing system ■All day refreshments ■Personalized Club InterContinental concierge and business services ■Shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ana Intercontinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing