We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sets a Good Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've stayed at Strings twice and really enjoyed both visits. The hotel lobby is located on the 26th floor and is within a relatively small atrium style space. The lobby is very relaxing and feels quite exclusive and isolated from the bustle below it. Rooms are modern and good size for Tokyo but wouldn't qualify as spacious most places.Views from the rooms are excellent! The decor is modern and up to date. Rooms were very clean. The bathroom was very nice with a shower and separate tub in the same enclosure. I hadn't seen that anywhere before but it was attractive and functional. The tub was large and looked great for soaking. There's a good gym but no spa facilities. There a bar and restaurant in the open lobby/atrium area and another Chinese restaurant, separated from the main lobby, with a better view on one side of the building. The bar is a good place to unwind especially during happy hour. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. There are eggs ordered from a menu combined with a rather smallish buffet. It's not bad just not up to the quality of the rest of the hotel experience. They offer a few different types of omelets but there's a 800¥ up charge for ham and cheese. I didn't get that, when there's ham and cheese available at the buffet (is there some sort of additional labor?) There are a lot of other great eating choices in the immediate area. Check out noodle alley, if you like that sort of thing (I do! ) its great. One of the best parts of the hotel is it's really excellent location next to Shinagawa station. Great connections to Tokyo public transportion system. This made it really easy to get around. The staff were eager to please and help out with special requests and the concierge was good, although I wish he were on duty a little earlier. I had minor problems connecting with the Internet but it was free and mostly good.
Overall a few minor blimps but one of my favorite hotels ever, I'd happily go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ualu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear ualu2,

Warm greetings from The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you liked the location and room, and we do appreciate your feedback on our breakfast, and have shared your comments with our Executive Chef also.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is excellent. Fancy lobby. Clean, luxurious rooms. Great service. Good fitness center open 24 hours. Convenient location to Shinagawa station with all train lines. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear kbl1973,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here 2 nights. Their services is even more than the already Japanese' already good services. What's impressive is that their bathroom is great. with a good layout design, they surely achieve one of the best hotels in the world

However, I think their bed matrix is kind of hard and comparing lower level than expected. I can still remember that InterContinental San Francisco have a far more comfortable bed and pillow than the Strings. It is not as bad as Days Inn Alamosa's bed but still not that good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTrekkerWalomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear ypwalter,


Thank you for choosing to stay The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo and we are delighted to receive your positive comments. Thank you also for your comment regarding our bed matrix which we have shared with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate attention. We look forward to again being your preferred hotel choice when you next visit Tokyo.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

InterContinental Tokyo - the Strings is very well located. Just a few minutes away by foot from Shinagawa JR station, this hotel can do better with a Club Lounge and other facilities such as swimming pool and a gym with sauna. Currently it only has a steam room facility. Rooms are located from 26th floor to 32nd floor. Given the height, view from the rooms are quite spectacular. Staff were friendly and professional. If you are coming by shinkansen or JR train, you will have to head to East Exit. If you are not sure, I recommend to check with the staff at the train station to save you walking back from one end to the other end (although it is only about 3-5 minute walk from one exit to the other exit). The area has a lot of restaurants around it. 7-eleven store is conveniently located at the hotel exit on the second floor in case you need something in the middle of the night. One thing that really surprised me is that my suitcases were delivered to the room when I returned to my second an third check-ins prior to my arrival. So far, no other hotels is doing this. Well done IC - the Strings, Tokyo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear SEDY,

Thank you very much for your review and for your very positive comments on The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo's location and personalised service. We hope to welcome you back again soon to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fantastic, stylish, quiet hotel right at the station. It has a small and intimate feel with great design. Because the lobby is up on a high floor, it feels miles away from the city down below. Our company often uses the Westin but I greatly prefer the Strings, as do most colleagues.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear jpm,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback with us. about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo. Our aim is to deliver to our guests a highly personalised and boutique style of experience and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on leisure back in September 2013 for 7 nights. The room was very nice with nice amenities. Ben was really helpful and nothing was too much to ask. For a first trip to Tokyo this was THE perfect choice as the hotel is perfectly located on top of the Shinagawa Train station which allows you to go everywhere in Tokyo.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SebastienM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear SebastienM18,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your warm comments on our staff and are very happy to know that you really enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo on your return to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Fantastic location for a hotel above Shinagawa Station making it easy to get anywhere.
Hotel presents well and offers all the business amenities that you could need. Plenty of places to eat in the immediate area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eric3853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICStrings, Guest Relations Manager at The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Eric3853,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you found our location very convenient and enjoye your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo again on your next visit to Tokyo.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinbashi Shiodome, Odaiba
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,311 reviews
Shinagawa, Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinbashi Shiodome, Odaiba
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa, Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinbashi Shiodome, Odaiba
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo

Address: 2-16-1 Konan | 26-32F Shinagawa East One Tower, Minato 108-0075, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#8 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: £185 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo is an island of calm amid the swirl of a fast-paced business district. Tokyo Conference Center, Shinagawa, is right here, and a sheltered walkway leads to nearby Shinagawa Station. The Sengakuji Temple, Shinagawa Aquarium, the Tsukiji fish market and the shops in Shibuya offer glimpses of local lifestyles and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strings By Intercontinental Tokyo Hotel Minato
Intercontinental Hotel Minato
The Strings By InterContinental Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing