We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Business & Vacation Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for Business & Vacation Travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stay at the Shinagawa Prince whenever we visit Tokyo. Have a sumptuous breakast buffet (about $20) at the elegant emporium Hapuna - chandeliers, high ceiling, miles of food, and the professional staff manages long lines well during busy times. Western, Japanese, and Chinese choices available - mix and match, and make several trips! Yummy pastries - selection changes daily. Bacon is crispy, not limp & soggy, which seems to be the preference in Japan). Cafe 24 is a very decent casual eatery with great thin crust pizza and pasta (there is excellent Italian food in Japan!). Go to Shinagawa station across the street and visit the Queen's Isetan gourmet food store for carry-out meals to eat your room. There is a well-stocked 7-Eleven on the hotel site as well.
Rooms are small but clean. Try and book a higher floor for great city views. The front desk staff is professional and well-trained. We took a 3-day trip to Kyoto and left our large suitcases with the bell desk, since the bullet train is not meant for large luggage. Recommend that you buy a JR Rail Pass before coming to Japan, especially if planning to ride the bullet train anywhere. The bullet trains very conveniently stop at Shinagawa Station.
Hotel has an extensive souvenir gift shop and a Tomods (well-known drugstore chain) on the ground floor. There's also an aquarium, bowling alley, numerous eateries. On a recent rainy day we found much to do within the hotel grounds. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more expensive but with great views. Request one overlooking the busy train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    1,595
    912
    203
    80
See reviews for
573
557
568
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Right in front of train station, direct train to Haneda international airport. Clean but small room. Some of front desk staff doesn't speak English well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggbabycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A wonderful business hotel and a holiday resort..! Well designed rooms, very good views, fantastic restaurants. Don't miss Top of Shinagawa restaurant. Very close to station, well connected by buses and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidhanathSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, right opposite Shinagawa Station, so very handy for the Narita Express and trips into central Tokyo and beyond. It's a huge hotel with 3 separate towers, and believe it has many attractions such as an aquarium, but I didn't have time to see. The rooms are OK, if a little tired. Some updating due soon hopefully. The view from the top floor bar at night is stunning. Breakfast buffet is very good with plenty of western food options.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a BIG hotel, but overall, it was just fine. I had a room with two twin beds, which was quite spacious for Tokyo.... much more spacious than the other big Japanese business man's hotel chain Sunroute Hotels. The location is convenient, right across the street from a big train station, so easy to get to central Tokyo. Also, close to Hanada airport, about $50 for a taxi, but also frequent bus/limosine service. Also direct bus/limo from the hotel to Narita airport, so it's very convenient. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, convenience store 7-11 on the property.

The room was fine, clean and comfortable, and a very good value for Tokyo. I found it to be about 1/2 the price of hotels closer to central Tokyo like in the Shinjuku area... I was impresssed with the space in the twin bed room, but I suspect the single size room is very small, so probably worth just a little extra for the twin bed room with two twin beds.

Reasonably priced breakfast buffet. Beware of which tower or annex tower you have booked, cause you have to check in at the lobby for that tower (there are 4 different lobbies), and there is no signage informing people of this.

No english language t.v. in the room is a disadvantage, free in room wifi worked great. Very friendly service.

Room Tip: Nice views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW Area
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast on the 39th floor is not to be missed...not so much for the food, but the view is lovely.

The hotel is extremely easy to access and it does not take an expert to navigate your way there from Narita Airport via Tokyo Station to the Shinigawa Station. With good instructions and a little help from those around you, it's easily done. The hotel is across the street and easily accessed, even with luggage.

There are many conveniences nearby, including OK food (the Mickey D's is interesting just to see what different things they have), a cinema and all sorts of entertainment in the large complex. The hotel itself has fairly basic business amenities, but everything around it can make it an enjoyable stop for a family.

I've stayed in better and I've stayed in worse, but my major caution to new guests is to research your room thoroughly. My company booked me in the East tower by mistake. When I say by mistake, it was old, thoroughly needing renovation, and extremely Japanese in room size, when I was there. If I put my rather small suitcase between the wall and the bed, I could not get to the rest of the room; it was that narrow. I've stayed in cruise cabins that were spacious compared to this, with its tiny slit of a window.

After almost having a full blown panic attack, a very nice person, Casey, in customer relations got me moved to the N tower. This tower had been recently renovated and while the rooms were still small, per the usual in Tokyo, it at least did not feel like a jail cell. It also had a fresh smell and nice, modern amenities like multiple charging cables built-in between the beds.

Overall, it's a decent and convenient place to stay, whether you are visiting for business or for sight seeing.

Room Tip: Do NOT select a room in the East tower unless they have renovated recently. Research the room size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Being literally just across the road from Shinagawa train station, Prince Hotel is very conveniently located for those on a budget especially. It is just 19 minutes (exactly) on the Keikyu train line from Haneda Airport for 410Yen (USD4) 1 way. We deliberately chose an airline that flew into Haneda as opposed to Narita which although is the bigger airport is much further away (90 minutes by train).

Shinagawa is located just south of central Tokyo which means you are away from the mad hustle and bustle (and higher prices) but at the same time a mere 4-6 train stops away from key places of interest such as Tsukiji market, Ginza, Roppongi and Shibuya. The area of Shinagawa itself is a major business and transport hub so there is a lot activity in terms of shops, restaurants, bars etc.

Being from South East Asia, I am quite spoilt by the new luxury hotels at budget prices so it would not be fair to compare to Japan, a much more mature market. The rooms are no doubt small but that's Tokyo for you. My room was in the Annexe Tower but I heard that the Main Tower has nicer and bigger rooms. I also heard that the rooms on the upper floors of the Annexe are also better. What I liked was that you had a choice of 3 different venues for breakfast. I you fancy a late brunch then the East Tower opened until 11am and you could have a 200gm steak to go with the usual continental offerings. The Main tower had a very extensive international and japanese buffet. My favourite was the Japanese breakfast in the Annexe Tower which also had some American style dishes.

Room Tip: Main Tower or upper floors of the Annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazzaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo

Property: Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Address: 4-10-30 Takanawa, Minato 108-8611, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#31 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing