We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel Okura Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Okura is an incredibly large and prestigious hotel in Tokyo. We stayed in the South Wing and found the rooms to be traditional (personally not to my taste), but that said I got the feeling that they are maintained this way, rather than being tired and traditional....

We liked the fact that the curtains opened and closed from the comfort of our bed, that the wifi was good and complimentary water came daily and we could relax in our dressing gown and slippers (as well as the more traditional Japanese Kimono) whilst our laundry was done with the free tokens, but we were less enamored by the tacky Scottish bar, the constant hallways full of laundry carts and also having to register just to use the pool....

As one reviewer said, the Okura is just 'soulless in its vastness' and personally for me to return here I would like to see a bit of missing charm injected in to it.

**The hotel is accessible by Kamiyacho or Roppongi-itchome metro stations (both walking distance).**

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    534
    127
    33
    29
See reviews for
344
282
179
530
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I just came back from a 6 night stay (2 rooms) at Hotel Okura in Tokyo. My family and I were excited to be staying at what the locals say is considered a "prestigious hotel", but ended up being very disappointed.

First of all, the staff was not very friendly. When we got to the floor they put us on, the corridors smelled like mold and I could feel the humidity on my skin. One of the rooms had a very out-dated bathroom, with paint peeling from the bathtub and when we asked to change that room, the whole ordeal took about 1 hour and 15 minutes. The lady at reception was literally banging on the keyboard for 30 min straight, with a stern look on her face, supposedly, trying to accommodate our request for another room. We ended up being able to switch that room to another room on the moldy floor. When I told them about the moldy smell, the lady said, "no, couldn't be".

The rooms are also not that big, and nothing special about them. They were neither fancy nor decorative. Also, the doors are super small, look more like janitor closet doors from the outside. The walls are also not made of real wood, but rather fake wood applied to the top layer, which made the entire atmosphere seem very less "prestigious".

Yes, the entrance is very grand, very old-age Japanese style meets 70's style look. However, that is about the most grand part of the whole hotel. Why bother staying somewhere where only the entrance is grand? Not like we could camp out in the entrance/lobby.

For the same price, would recommend going somewhere else with more convenience in terms of transportation also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workingmotherincity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Staying at Okura for business for 4 nights, I have been able to appreciate the work left for them to join a top tiers brand in Asia.
The 'plus'
- location is good for business and close access to all Embassies,
- rate is reasonable,
- staff is generally helpful and attentive.
The 'minus'
- rooms are aging (and I have been told the hotel will be going into renovation soon.... Much needed !),
- lobby is large and tasteless,
- meeting space is old, old, old,...
- the hotel is generally way too big and for meeting organizers it can be a weak point as it takes you over 10 minutes to get back to your room when in main building and going to South building,
- breakfast is a nightmare at peak hour. A nightmare. If you think you can escape by going to japanese restaurant, then you'll be served a japanese specialty breakfast which is not very appealing... Go for diet is probably a better choice,...
- fitness and pool accesses are charged... What !?

Unless the hotel is renovated, there is no chance to see me back there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakunamaatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is an old style 60s 70s institution in Tokyo. The rooms are perfectly acceptable and comfortable and a lovely bathroom, great shower and the obligatory Japanese super wash'n'go toilet. We stayed in a superior room.

However the hotel has two or three wings and is incredibly large - throngs of people milling around at breakfast and very charmless although the view over the garden is gorgeous. I agree with a previous viewer about over modernised high rise luxury hotel chains but I still felt it was soulless in its vastness.

Anyway, it served our purpose for the trip and was close to metros and eating areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepOnTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Sometimes it is the little things that ruin a Hotel experience, and the Okura failed to recognise how they were doing this despite my clear explanation. Tokyo hotels are not cheap, and we had 2 rooms for 2 nights. We had dinner both nights in the hotel, including a teppanyaki evening which was fantastic. In total we spent over £2,000 for the 2 nights - over $3,000. We had a night flight out of Tokyo on the third night and I asked if I could have a shower in the sports centre/swimming pool area before we left. NO. August in Tokyo is very hot and very humid. I had asked the night before, and it was no. Returning the afternoon of out check out, again no -- despite looking horribly sweaty. Well I could for Yen 2,200 or £15.00, -- or £60 for all 4 of us -- even though we offered to share a towel. We felt we were being ripped off. and declined. In contrast the following week we were in Port Douglas Australia, and were switching hotels one day. On the day on the change we were off scuba diving for the day but needed towels. So a whole day in advance of our check in the next hotel we were staying at let us borrow 4, without a credit card deposit question or quibble. Read a positive report on that one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I love this hotel. It preserves old style service with 1960s elegance. Not for me the modern, sanitised high rise identikit "luxury" hotel chains. This is a unique hotel, situated perfectly in the quiet embassy area but easy access to central Tokyo from the nearby subway stations. Comfortable, quiet rooms with top quality bedding and bathrooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Okura is where Obama stayed on his Japan visit. This hotel seems to have hosted lots of presidents. It's an old hotel but a great one. Food is great but the best part is the service. You will notice how they take care of little things and that makes all the difference.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sinhagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,140 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Ana Intercontinental Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,006 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Tokyo

Property: Hotel Okura Tokyo
Address: 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Minato
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#9 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Okura Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Japanese traditional design is carefully preserved, guest rooms ranging from standard to suites are available, providing an array of room choices each offering true relaxation. It is our hope that guests, greeted upon arrival in the room by a traditional folded paper crane, will enjoy a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okura Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Tokyo Hotel
Okura Tokyo Minato
Hotel Okura Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing