We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel indoor swimming pool I have ever seen”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best hotel indoor swimming pool I have ever seen”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

No need to go into why this is a great hotel. Service, design, amenities, everything is superduper which is to be expected from a hotel in this price range.
But what really blew my mind in this hotel is the FANTASTIC swimming pool and spa. Pool is so long you can really do your laps and get tired. Three lanes. I got up at 5 am was the only one in the pool. If you're a Hyatt Gold member (anyone can sign up for free when checking in) you are also allowed free access to steam and Swedish sauna, which are beautiful, including cold and hot dip pools. Even the locker rooms are spectacularly complete with everything you need to prepare for a big night out (I even saw cleaning tissues for glasses, razors, toothbrushes, etc.). Well done, Hyatt!

Room Tip: I was in 701 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatjanaF-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    461
    98
    29
    17
See reviews for
333
428
166
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One does not travel to Tokyo in search of hotel bargains. However, during a recent trip to Tokyo, the Hyatt Regency where I usually stay in Shinjuku was not available and I was offered an Elite rate at the Grand Hyatt - Roppongi Hills. At approximately the same rate I usually pay at Hyatt Regency, I had an opportunity to stay at one my favorite properties in the Hyatt chain. Located away from the, at times, Frentic Roppongi nightlife, the Grand Hyatt is adjacent to a high-end shopping mall. The hotel itself manages to be modern, quiet, and luxious while inviting. The rooms have all the amenities you'd expect, including a well stocked mini-bar. I used 2 of the hotel's restaurants, which were expensive, but came with good (not extraordinary) food and, of course, great service. Maduro is a great place for jazz and cigars which I always enjoy when I stay at the hotel.

A great Hyatt experience...

Room Tip: I recommend requesting a high-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markdolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt Tokyo is in Roponggi Hills, right smack in the middle of an entertainment and shopping complex, and several museums. It is kind of hard to find from the street, because there are tunnels to go through that only taxi drivers or Tokyo residents can easily figure out. Once I got in the building, it was actually hard to tell that I was already in the lobby of the hotel-it looked more like an office building. The lobby is sparsely decorated deliberately with a minimalist theme. After I got checked in and my money exchanged for Yen, the very nice bell ushered me into my room. It was spacious, and afforded views of Roponggi Hills and distant views of the city. There is a spacious closet, a nice workdesk and flat screen TV, nice comfortable bed, a hallway to the open bathroom with glass walls-a nice shower and tub, and the toilet with the automatic motion sensored toilet seat that opens up as soon as you open the door-scared the living daylights out of me until I got used to it. The bathroom has all the amenities in addition to the standard soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion-it seems like Asian customers are used to getting razors, shaving cream, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brush, mouthwash, cotton buds/cotton, slippers which are either optional or not standard in US hotels. In another brush with Japanese technology, I tried to wrestle to get the flat iron out of its case and but now couldn't figure out how to heat it up. Very different from the standing trouser press from the Marriott in Nagoya, and the regular flat iron as we know it, which I have to request each time I have to use it at the Hotel New Otani. Oh well.
I love the automatic lights and opening the sheer/opaque shades from your bedside table. So dramatic, like a theater curtain, and very convenient! While the room has all the bells and whistles of a room, the minimalist monochromatic design could use a little bit of warmth or color in the rooms. The hallway is antiseptic, and even smelled of a household cleaner. The staff however, I found to be very accommodating and efficient. Their Regency Club also had a great selection of Japanese, American and continental breakfast, and their evening selections are pretty heavy so you can actually save money by having dinner with their heavy appetizers.
Otherwise, you can walk to the mall next door that has plenty of restaurants. There is a McDonald's if you're tired of Japanese food, a concert arena, a Japanese garden, an Art museum and a viewpoint where you can see all of Tokyo if you haven't already done that at the Tokyo Tower or the Skytree. There was a Doraimon display at the time I was there, next to the giant sculpture of the spider. Roponggi Hills is amazing, and how they created this multi layered complex is just an engineering feat. This hotel fits in perfectly in that puzzle. I love this hotel but please use a different hallway deodorizer that doesn't smell of clorox!
See you again soon, Grand Hyatt Tokyo!

Room Tip: Choose high floor for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I expected a little more from this hotel. The staff were really disengaged - especially the front desk staff - Doormen were even worse - Is it too much to ask for help with bags?
The rooms were sub-par for a 5 star hotel and the bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. The one redeeming quality though is that they have hands down the best breakfast buffet in all of Tokyo - the bakery items were phenomenal!
If someone else were paying perhaps I will go back but otherwise there are better options in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Choose a rate with breakfast - you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GhLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamato, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have stayed here many times, from the staff, room & amenities they never fail to impress. If you can afford it, this is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nintai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamato, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is 5 stars. Amenities, Grand Club, Lobby staff. I only want to stay here when I visit Tokyo. The guest rooms have recently been renovated and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Concierge staff were above and beyond in regards to service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nintai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and I loved it. The rooms were extra clean with a great view, great different restaurants to choose from within the hotel and the service A+. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hex07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,814 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,869 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,967 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing