We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived quite early in the morning, with children. We fully expected to have to wait until much later to check in. This hotel was Very accommodating! They checked us in, and had a room for us in just 20 minutes.
Staff was extremely helpful and friendly at both the front desk and in the club level lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 596Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel end of June, beginning July. The location is excellent, the staff is incredibly nice, and the suite that we had was one of the more spacious hotel suites that we've seen. We have Hyatt diamond status which probably helped with an upgraded room, and we were also able to be on a club floor for that reason. The advantage to the club floor is that during the day you can come in and get a soda, and maybe a light snack of cookies or fruit or something like that. Plus the club has a sitting area w/ TV's, etc. But, what sets this hotel apart is how nice the people there are. We stayed at 3 Hyatts in Japan and every one had incredibly pleasant and helpful staff. Would absolutely recommend this hotel, and the price made it an excellent value as well. Friends of ours had recommended it to us and they were correct. Also, very comfortable beds, and housekeeping level was excellent.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with club access, it's a plus. Otherwise any room on a high floor will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BostonFrequentTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I stayed here for one night during my one week in Tokyo. The Grand Hyatt is located in Roponggi Hills and can be a bit hard to find if you are new to Tokyo. You have to go through a lot tunnels if you planning to come here by MRT. I was escorted to the lounge on the 12th floor to check in as a Hyatt diamond member. The services were excellent and attentive. The room was great but a little disappointed by the size. The bathroom was excellent and I love the motion censored toilet. The Grand lounge was good but not great either. It can get very crowded by 6-7PM. The food was just average at the lounge. The swimming pool was clean and pretty big. There is a massage chair at the locker, which you could come to relax. There is a lot good restaurants and bars near the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

No need to go into why this is a great hotel. Service, design, amenities, everything is superduper which is to be expected from a hotel in this price range.
But what really blew my mind in this hotel is the FANTASTIC swimming pool and spa. Pool is so long you can really do your laps and get tired. Three lanes. I got up at 5 am was the only one in the pool. If you're a Hyatt Gold member (anyone can sign up for free when checking in) you are also allowed free access to steam and Swedish sauna, which are beautiful, including cold and hot dip pools. Even the locker rooms are spectacularly complete with everything you need to prepare for a big night out (I even saw cleaning tissues for glasses, razors, toothbrushes, etc.). Well done, Hyatt!

Room Tip: I was in 701 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TatjanaF-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One does not travel to Tokyo in search of hotel bargains. However, during a recent trip to Tokyo, the Hyatt Regency where I usually stay in Shinjuku was not available and I was offered an Elite rate at the Grand Hyatt - Roppongi Hills. At approximately the same rate I usually pay at Hyatt Regency, I had an opportunity to stay at one my favorite properties in the Hyatt chain. Located away from the, at times, Frentic Roppongi nightlife, the Grand Hyatt is adjacent to a high-end shopping mall. The hotel itself manages to be modern, quiet, and luxious while inviting. The rooms have all the amenities you'd expect, including a well stocked mini-bar. I used 2 of the hotel's restaurants, which were expensive, but came with good (not extraordinary) food and, of course, great service. Maduro is a great place for jazz and cigars which I always enjoy when I stay at the hotel.

A great Hyatt experience...

Room Tip: I recommend requesting a high-floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markdolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt Tokyo is in Roponggi Hills, right smack in the middle of an entertainment and shopping complex, and several museums. It is kind of hard to find from the street, because there are tunnels to go through that only taxi drivers or Tokyo residents can easily figure out. Once I got in the building, it was actually hard to tell that I was already in the lobby of the hotel-it looked more like an office building. The lobby is sparsely decorated deliberately with a minimalist theme. After I got checked in and my money exchanged for Yen, the very nice bell ushered me into my room. It was spacious, and afforded views of Roponggi Hills and distant views of the city. There is a spacious closet, a nice workdesk and flat screen TV, nice comfortable bed, a hallway to the open bathroom with glass walls-a nice shower and tub, and the toilet with the automatic motion sensored toilet seat that opens up as soon as you open the door-scared the living daylights out of me until I got used to it. The bathroom has all the amenities in addition to the standard soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion-it seems like Asian customers are used to getting razors, shaving cream, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brush, mouthwash, cotton buds/cotton, slippers which are either optional or not standard in US hotels. In another brush with Japanese technology, I tried to wrestle to get the flat iron out of its case and but now couldn't figure out how to heat it up. Very different from the standing trouser press from the Marriott in Nagoya, and the regular flat iron as we know it, which I have to request each time I have to use it at the Hotel New Otani. Oh well.
I love the automatic lights and opening the sheer/opaque shades from your bedside table. So dramatic, like a theater curtain, and very convenient! While the room has all the bells and whistles of a room, the minimalist monochromatic design could use a little bit of warmth or color in the rooms. The hallway is antiseptic, and even smelled of a household cleaner. The staff however, I found to be very accommodating and efficient. Their Regency Club also had a great selection of Japanese, American and continental breakfast, and their evening selections are pretty heavy so you can actually save money by having dinner with their heavy appetizers.
Otherwise, you can walk to the mall next door that has plenty of restaurants. There is a McDonald's if you're tired of Japanese food, a concert arena, a Japanese garden, an Art museum and a viewpoint where you can see all of Tokyo if you haven't already done that at the Tokyo Tower or the Skytree. There was a Doraimon display at the time I was there, next to the giant sculpture of the spider. Roponggi Hills is amazing, and how they created this multi layered complex is just an engineering feat. This hotel fits in perfectly in that puzzle. I love this hotel but please use a different hallway deodorizer that doesn't smell of clorox!
See you again soon, Grand Hyatt Tokyo!

Room Tip: Choose high floor for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I expected a little more from this hotel. The staff were really disengaged - especially the front desk staff - Doormen were even worse - Is it too much to ask for help with bags?
The rooms were sub-par for a 5 star hotel and the bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. The one redeeming quality though is that they have hands down the best breakfast buffet in all of Tokyo - the bakery items were phenomenal!
If someone else were paying perhaps I will go back but otherwise there are better options in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Choose a rate with breakfast - you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GhLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,091 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,013 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tokyo

Address: 6-10-3 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#3 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#5 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: £338 - £766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning luxury hotel centrally located in Roppongi Hills, a multi-use complex housing 200 shops and restaurants, a cinema, an art museum and an observatory overlooking the city skyline. Roppongi Station is just a three minute walk away and the hotel is a 40 minute limousine bus ride away from Haneda Aiport and a 90 minute ride away from Narita Airport (charges apply). Grand Hyatt Tokyo offers ten restaurants and bars widely acclaimed for their authentic gastronomy that feature an incredible variety of international cuisine including French, Italian, American, Chinese, and Japanese sushi, teppanyaki and seasonal kaiseki fare. Enjoy al fresco dining at one of the open-air terraces or listen to live music in the chic jazz lounge Maduro. The stylish and modern rooms incorporate warm wood furnishings and Japanese aesthetics into the design and feature a spacious bathroom with an invigorating rain shower and a deep soaking limestone bathtub that allows guests to relax after a long day. In addition, the room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, a safety deposit box, a laptop charger, a minibar and Japanese yukata robes and complimentary mineral water is provided. Book a room with club-access for additional benefits in our Grand Club lounge such as complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and guests also have access to the business center on site. Guests can find inner harmony with rejuvenating spa treatments and massages that incorporate Japanese healing traditions at the Nagomi Spa and Fitness Center or relax by the red granite indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Minato
Grand Hyatt Minato
Grand Hyatt Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Minato Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing