We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and VERY polite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very Clean and VERY polite staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Staying here on business so can't comment on value for money but I can say;

Location - 2 min walk from Shimbashi station, 2 stops from Tokyo station.
Spotless hotel.
Decor is fantastic.
Staff extremely polite, as you would expect in Japan.
Rooms, very good size, the most comfortable bed in the world, if you like firm beds and pillows to die for, again nice and firm, not hard.
Bathroom - shower and separate bath which is a good size (I/m 6' 2'').
Food - Very good. It is not western at all, so don't think your going to eat a full English, Continental (to a degree) and the the rest is Japanese. Don't get me wrong, it looks lovely and is fresh but is jut not my cup of tea.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view and the quieter it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    244
    68
    17
    14
See reviews for
166
136
50
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was in Tokyo for a 4 day business trip this April and the choice of the hotel made my stay there even more enjoyable.First, the location is very good as it is very close to Ginza, moreover, there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity, some of them even have English menus. The hotel is very clean? sleeping facilities are perfect. The visitors don't have to bother about shower cosmetics - it is all Shiseido what they put in the bathrooms. Tea corner is also very god. All in all there is nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quite room as the railroad is very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Dai-ichi during Cherry Blossom season for 4 nights. The location is nice, hard to find when we first arrived from the subway, since you have to go under the tracks. We stayed in the hotel and had a nice sized room. We asked for a double bed and were given 2 singles on the first night. We asked for a double and they could not accommodate us. They did move our luggage for us the next day to a different room with a double bed. The pool/spa is an additional charge and located in a space next door. We would have like to have a soak and quick swim at night but it was not worth the additional cost for a short time. The breakfast was very expensive and not included in our room price. We walked a couple of blocks away and had an excellent breakfast for a third the price. This is a business hotel for guests on expense accounts and not too friendly for a tourist.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
300 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is very close to Ginza and walking distance from a lot of shopping and restaurants. The hotel is very clean, the bed is very comfy, the and service is average. There was no welcome water in the room. My room had a bath as well as shower which I really liked. Overall, I enjoyed my stay but the hotel didn't leave any impression on me to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for five nights in early February. The Dai-Ichi was able to move us to a room with less noise from the trains. The hotel's concierge service was awesome! They even got us reservations for Jiro and many other hard to get in places.
Room is spacious and the king-size bed is the biggest bed I've seen anywhere! Super comfortable as well.

Room Tip: Pick floor 17 and above if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A classic hotel and "smaller/simpler version" of the Imperial which is only three blocks away. If you love the old school japanese style places with uniformed doormen, resturant staff etc. then you will like Dai-Ichi. Its not modern stylish but classic and actually quite competetive on price. Location is perfect in between Ginza and the Imperial Palace. Breakfast is a bit of a dissapointment for families as its all a la carte but apartf rom that staff is very helpful and you ahve a good view at night from the bar and tepanyaki high up in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms so you get a skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abberre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a premiere room w/ executive lounge access back in Jan. The GOOD:walking distance to Giza, good size room, near Shimbashi station, has its own entrance to subway in the basement, premiere toiletries and you can select the buffet in the Annex or one of the restaurants in the hotel for breakfast. The BAD: smallest executive lounge I've ever been, and very few selections of food during happy/snack hour. I understand that everything is expensive in Tokyo but I expected more thinking I paid extra for a premiere room. DON'T book the premiere room. Save your $$$ and eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: DON'T book the premiere room if you want access to a good quality executive lounge. Save your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Dai-Ichi Hotel Annex
Dai-Ichi Hotel Annex
#45 of 74 in Chiyoda
291 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Shimbashi Hibiyaguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,072 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Millennium Mitsui Garden Hotel Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo

Property: Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-2-6 Shimbashi, Minato 105-8621, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Minato
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dai-ichi Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai-Ichi Hotel Tokyo Japan
Dai Ichi Hotel Minato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing