We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the archaeologist in you”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nezu Museum

Nezu Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi
Ranked #2 of 417 things to do in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore!
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for the archaeologist in you”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Many nice artifacts. Interesting gardens. Be careful of the flies! They bite with a vengeance! You can visit this place after strolling through Omotesando. It's at the end of the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitr0gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    165
    36
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old meets new in Tokyo”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was an amazing museum. Architect Tadao Ando creates an incredible housing for the statues but the gardens are the true magic which are reminiscent of imperial Japan. I strongly recommend a stop there for anyone (especially first timers) visiting Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,125 reviews
563 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 829 helpful votes
“Good Museum and Outstanding Gardens”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This museum is very good for aficionados of the arts but the outstanding garden on the museum grounds is something everyone can appreciate. I was oriented to this situation after reading the TripAdvisor reviews so this experience lived up to my expectations. The museum is not hard to find as it is about a 450 km walk after turning right at the top of the A5 exit from the Omote-Sando Station. There is a sign when you emerge from the Metro exit to impart the confidence you are on the right track. The museum is at the end of the street and you literally walk onto the entry sidewalk as you cross the T-intersection. The cost for the museum is a little high (1200 yen). If not for the garden, it would not be worth it but I say that as one marginally interested in the type of art they display. Others may find the museum well worth it. There are six galleries in the museum featuring different types of art including ceramics and pottery (Japanese and Korean), sculpture (featuring mostly Buddhist pieces), bronze work and wood block painting (ukiyo-e). My favorite display in the museum, however, was the one depicting tea ceremony art and artifacts. This is uniquely Japanese and was, thus, something I could appreciate more than the other displays, though many of the pieces in the other galleries were quite lovely. I spent significant time soaking in the tea ceremony display whereas I surveyed the rest of the galleries stopping to admire select pieces that caught my attention. This kept my visit in the museum to an hour or so as I really wanted to get out to the garden, which was all it was purported to be. The garden grounds were sloped as one enters the green space. The loveliest arrangements are found as one descends to the bottom. Getting there, however, was very serene and relaxing, which is the major attraction to all Asian gardens. There are several notable findings in the garden including structures, sculptures and specific green arrangements. I spent as much time in the garden as in the museum. It is worth noting here was also a small restaurant on site at the garden entrance you need a quick refreshment. I did not sample the restaurant though it appeared quite nice from what I could see. If you like Asian art or Japanese gardens, consider putting this place on your Tokyo itinerary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“go for the garden”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My boyfriend is obsessed with tea, and marveled at the beautiful tea-tools/ceramics in their collection. However, the main attraction is clearly the garden. Tokyo has many formal parks and gardens, but this one is very special. Lots of little winding paths, carefully crafted views, and a pond. We spent the whole afternoon here taking some time out and connecting with nature. It is worth the admission just to have respite from concrete.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xylembonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NEZU MUSEUM”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was expecting simply to see a Japanese screen exhibit, but I got much more than I anticipated...my visit included a glorious Japanese garden with stone statuary, winding paths and serene ponds. The screen exhibit was lovely, and the permanent exhibit of bronze urns and vases was captivating. The architecture gave a feeling of airiness- no stuffiness in this setting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SeptemberRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nezu Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nezu Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing