We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonight in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Easy train connection from Haneda this Grand Prince Hotel. There are 4 different Prince Hotels in a block. Several of them share gardens & connecting walkways. This one was very clean & neat. Rooms are a bit small (fairly standard for Japanese hotels!), but ours had a wonderful view of the Tokyo Tower and 2 comfortable twin beds. Large closet, safe & good sized bathroom made it a comfortable room for a 2 night stay. Our Japanese friends were our guides so we didn't have to worry about the logistics, but the train system is awesome and easy connections to anywhere you want to go. Didn't eat in the hotel, but the restaurants looked great. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Tokyo tower which is really spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pshurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

With a very lovely Japanese Garden. The rooms were very comfortable. The staff were very helpful, even helped us arrange for a tour. Breakfast buffet was great. Good location, restaurants and convenient stores nearby. Money exchange machine inside the hotel makes it so convenient !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 999screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

everything up to the mark . service prompt . surroundigs green and cool. breakfast excellent . rooms spacious. bathrooms very clean and tidy.railway station at walking distance. airport not far away. What else one needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gujjarwalprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I could not believe that this hotel with its beautiful gardens was in Tokyo! What a beautiful refuge. This is one of three hotels on the same property and not the newest. Service was exceptional at the desk. The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Take the shuttle bus from Shinagawa Station - especially if you have bags to carry!! We enjoyed walking on the grounds and in the neighborhood. The price for our stay was very reasonable. Everything you need! We will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: A view of the gardens is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThreeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Everything was just right and very Japanese in the best of service. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff especially are superb. Most spoke excellent English. Very comfortable rooms and the location was very good. Frequent shuttle busses to Shinagawa Rail Station- a main hub and a stop for the Bullet train, made it easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo. My choice for my next stay in Tokyo.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel when we recently visited Tokyo and we were not disappointed. They accommodated our request for early check-in and extra towels and pillows. The check in was quick and very courteous. The room was big (for Japanese hotels) and more than adequate for triple occupancy. And the price was quite reasonable for Tokyo. Our room was facing the gardens in between 2 other hotels. In the mornings and late evenings, it is nice to stroll around the gardens, s it had a very relaxing atmosphere. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to/from Shinagawa station but one must know the schedules beforehand otherwise it is long walk uphill to the hotel from Shinagawa station.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the gardens in a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthBB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 6 nights - early April for Cherry Blossom. There is a shuttle to the MTR Station - Shinagawa but it is only a 5 minute walk out the back gate (we never used the shuttle). As of the 1st April 2014 - they now provide free Wifi in the room - signal strength and speed were very good. The breakfast in the Patio Restaurant is very good & reasonable value. We had a room with City View - looking at Tokyo Tower - very good. We only had 1 complaint which we did mention to Guest Relations - that was that there was a grate over a drain on the side of the carpark that was bent - everytime a car, bus, taxi, truck etc... ran over it, you go Bang, Bang - this was so load it kept us awake - If they could replace the grate on the drain - they would have earned an Excellent. For this location we can visit everywhere - Shinagawa is a main station for the Shinkansen, it is also on the Yamanote Line - the main loop line in Tokyo
1 ticket to get on and off at any of the 29 stations is Y140 or a day pass to get on and off as often as you like is Y750.
The Tokyo Morning Television Show was doing the weather in the garden behind the hotel because of the Cherry Blossom trees - they are spectacular.
The Limousine Bus from Narita was at least 1.5hrs - so be prepared for that.
But it was a great location and if we go back to Tokyo we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joneses2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: £88 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing