We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke
Nearby Hotels
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$463
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
41
113
32
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
113
32
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcelsior cafebic cameralimited japaneseminute walkfree wifi worked wellgreat locationrooms are smallsmall deskan ironshort staymetro stophour flightsized bedreception deskmini fridgelots of restaurantsjapanese hotels
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Hotel Sunroute Akasaka was superb! The staff are extremely helpful and spoke excellent English – something we struggled with a bit whilst in Japan. The rooms are comfortable and quiet at night plus they supplied free internet and sleeping gown with slippers for those small enough to fit them (my gown was more like a pyjama top!) Also, Hotel Sunroute Akasaka is on the Marunouchi subway line, a minute's walk from Akasaka-mitsuke station. There's not much in Akasaka itself for travellers but being in between Shinjuku and Tokyo central was ideal!

Room Tip: The hotel was smoking and non-smoking floors - check first before you book.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveusorleaveus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotels, Manager at the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear babytarragon
Thank you for your comments and for taking your time to review the Sunroute Akasaka.
As you mentioned it is a great location and so close to so many attractions of Tokyo. And if you do want to venture further afield the subways are closeby and allow access all over the city.
The Akasaka area is a wonderful place to see and feel the real Tokyo - as you mentioned izakaya's and lots of locals enjoying their evenings. And the Pachinko Parlours are so uniquely Japan.
We hope to welcome you back to experience Tokyo again, and we hope you choose the Sunroute Akasaka or one of our sister properties in the Ishin Hotels Group.
Regards
Area Manager
Ryuji Chiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is right behind AkasakaMitsuke station, which has an underground walkway linking it to Nagatacho, providing very good transport to the rest of Tokyo.

The hotel itself is very compact! It has a very small but pleasant lobby, and the rooms are also small, but very comfortable and clean.

Our stay included breakfast at the adjoining Excelsior Cafe, which we really enjoyed. I can highly recommend the lightly toasted ham salad sandwich! A very nice start to the day.

Although there is no restaurant in the hotel (where would they put it??) it is surrounded by many izakaya, gyudon restaurants, etc. It's a really destination for salarymen after work, which is always fun to see! There's a slight seedy feel to the area as it's full of Pachinko parlours and Hostess clubs but I felt totally safe and comfortable at the hotel. There was a Hooters opening up opposite when we stayed!

All in all this is a simple hotel offering a comfortable nights sleep :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babytarragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear babytarragon

Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunroute Akasaka and for taking the time to review the hotel.
We sincerely apologize that our response to you wasn't posted sooner.

We are beyond happy that you rate us five stars and find us clean and efficient because that's what we try to be! Looks like you were able to explore the area and had a great time, which we are pleased to know.

Please come back and see us! Thank you again for choosing Hotel Sunroute Akasaka!

Kind regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The best feature of this place in my opinion is its location. It's not hard to get around Tokyo on the subway but it really is such a pleasure to get out of the station and be back in your room in less than 5 minutes. (This was especially handy when we got hit by the typhoon without our umbrellas!). The Akasaka station is maybe a 15 minute walk through interesting rows of food/drink outlets.

The Akasaka-Mitsuke area is such a lovely haunt with plenty of interesting restaurants and bars - tapas, oysters, pasta, thai, korean, aside from Japanese. We spent most evenings just wandering the area and popping into any place which caught our fancy and had some amazing meals.

We stayed 6 nights and whilst the room is small, and the bed was what they called a semi-double (not quite a queen), it was clean and comfortable enough. My only grouse is that I love my pillows big and fluffy so was a bit put off by the practically flat and soft pillows they provided. I did see a sign stating that they could provide 'designer pillows' on request but I never got down to that. The room we were in was extremely quiet (I suspect this may apply to all the rooms since there is very little vehicular traffic in the area) and the blackout curtains worked a treat. High speed internet was useful for my partner who was there on business. I was fine with potato salad and clam chowder for breakfast though I can see how some would object to this. This is however a minor thing and you can always walk out and have McDonald's (somehow their burgers tasted a lot 'healthier'...) or Krispy Kreme!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divyne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotels, Manager at the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Divyne1
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Sunroute Akasaka.
It is a fantastic area, and hard to leave as you have pointed out - so much to see and do.
As you mentioned we do have a choice of pillows, so please contact the Team Members on your next visit and they will be able to assist.
We hope to see you back at the hotel soon and we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I usually stay at more up market Hotels in Tokyo, especially the New Otani, but times are tough and costs need to be watched.
The room was small but functional. Double bed, quite comfortable, desk and fridge. The bathroom was snug but big enough for a good shower, in a bath. Amenities included a robe, toiletries and importantly - FREE high speed internet. Not wireless as advertised but via an ethernet cable
The front desk was helpful and there is a cafe attached so breakfast is available basically on site
There are no "big hotel" facilities such as a gym, but for the price this was an excellent choice. The area is interesting and studded with bars and restaurants

One negative, not a biggie, is that check-in is strictly maintained at 3 pm and as i arrived before 10AM from Australia, that was a little inconvenient

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BotanyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunaka, Front Office Manager at the b tokyo akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Dear Botany Bay

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry for inconvenient to you.

You know, our check-out time is 11:00 AM and after that we will clean the room, it is 3:00 PM that we can prepare for a roomand.

Please understand it.

Best regards,

Kazuhiko Otomo
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We (me and my wife) have stayed in this hotel at April 2010.
The hotel is small but really nice. Surrounding area is full of nice bars and small restaurants. It is really interesting to explore this small district at night. A lot of lights at small nice shops and restaurants, music and smiling people :). It looks like managers from Akasaka business towers came here to get some beer and relax after hard work. I think this is nice place to feel like the part of local community but not just some gaijin.
The hotel has really nice location. Bit away from noise part of the district and only 40-60 steps away from underground station Akasaka-Mitsuke (if you not mind to pass narrow walking pass between two buildings). The station has connections to all main subway lines you need to observe Tokyo.
Hotels staff is friendly and nice.
The rooms are small (just like everywhere in Japan) but clean. I think you not going to Tokyo to spend days at hotel number anyway :).
Because of the volcanic activity at April we have lost two days (the flights was declined) and the hotel have returned money to us we don’t even expect this.
I absolutely recommend this hotel to those people who want to see the Tokyo and don’t mind to stay is some small but nice backstreet hotel.
We have planed new trip to Japan and I thin we stay here again.
If anyone would like to see some photos of our trip please fill free to contact me by e-mail.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Sobolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews