We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect short-stay Tokyo hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the b akasaka-mitsuke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the b akasaka-mitsuke
Ranked #46 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect short-stay Tokyo hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently refurb-ed, very clean, comfortable [although the beds are pretty firm], great location & reasonably priced - all the essentials. Perfect if you're just visiting Tokyo for a few days. The local neighbourhood is lively with plenty of places to eat & drink until late evening. The Tokyo metro station at Akasaka is 3mins away & also an easy interchange for several lines which will take you all over town, including the fish market, Asakusa, Roppongi, Shinjuku & Shibuya. It's a bit hidden so my advice is: if you're arriving on the Express Limousine Bus outside the Excel Hotel Tokyu, walk straight across the road to Akasaka Metro station, walk through the station, turn left outside then 1st right & right again & you're there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Brizz V

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka-mitsuke and for taking the time to post the review.
We are pleased to read your kindly comment and thank you very much for explaining access to limousine bus stop also access from the train staion.

Thank you again for your review. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    91
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
39
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel ws clean and modern. It is located in an area filled with restaurants and cafes...as well as all sorts of shops that meet your personal needs. It is 1 block from the subway entrance. Once you get used to Japan's subway system, you won't want to travel around Tokyo by any other means. The metro is clean, fast, cheap and goes everywhere. The underground stations have numerous places to eat and shop. The hotel was quiet and a great place to come to after a day sightseeing. Ms. Muke at reception was a great help to us. And we are indebted to her assistance and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear J A

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka-mitsuke and for taking the time to post the review.
We are pleased to read your kind comment and thank you for your kind words towards our staff Ms.Miku. She was also very pleased to this comment !

We are looking forward to welcoming to you back.

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

In a prior review, I stated I wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than the Best Western Shinjuku Astina hotel when in Tokyo. I still felt that way when we planned our most recent trip, but unfortunately that hotel was all booked up, so we had a chance to experience the b akasaka-mitsuke.

My husband and I experienced some confusion about which hotel we had booked. There is a b Akasaka, and a b Akasaka-mitsuke. This one apparently just rebranded and opened under this name (as a matter of fact, during our stay, there was still a sign out front that said "Opening May 2014!"), so when we booked, we had no idea this hotel existed. We thought we were staying at the b Akasaka. Fortunately, the two are only a 10-15 minute walk apart. Unfortunately, my husband somehow lost his passport during that walk. He had it when we tried to check in at the first b, but no longer had it when we arrived at the correct b. The reason I mention this is because the staff at the b akasaka-mitsuke were very helpful in trying to help us recover his passport. They called the first hotel, they called area police stations to see if it had been turned in, they directed us to the nearest police box to fill out a lost item report--something we wouldn't have known to look for/do. We were grateful for their assistance.

The location, as others have stated, is great. Very close to the Akasaka-mitsuke metro stop (which connects to a good number of lines), and there are many bars/restaurants and convenience stores in the immediate area.

The room itself is nothing special. It is, of course, small, but that is to be expected in Tokyo. One downside is the lack of any sort of closet--even a tiny one. There are a few hangers flat against the wall behind the room door. And as has been mentioned in other reviews, the beds are HARD. I find this worth repeating because even expecting a very firm mattress, I was still shocked at how damn hard the bed was. It was like sleeping on a sheet over plywood. I ended up with a shoulder that was sore for days. I read that apparently, if you find the mattress too firm, you can call and they will send up extra blankets to use as padding. I don't know how much that would help, but it might be worth a try.

The blackout shades were appreciated, as was the good amount of hot water & water pressure in the shower. The free wi-fi came in very handy and the signal was strong. There were actually a number of signals to choose from, so you could pick the one that was best for your room location. Having a mini fridge was also great.

Breakfast is in a cafe attached to the hotel, Excelsior Cafe. It has an entrance right off the lobby, and an entrance to the street. Your voucher gets you one of about 6 breakfast sets, and a choice of juice, coffee, tea. I always had the ham sandwich, which came with a side salad and a small dish of yogurt. I really enjoyed it all, but if you're expecting typical American breakfast buffet fare, you may be disappointed. If you go into it knowing you're probably going to have a sandwich or soup & rice for breakfast, I think it's quite tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Former_Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Former_Badger

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka-mitsuke and for taking the time to post your review.
We apologize would not let the confusion in the location of b two hotels in the same area.

We are pleased to read your positive comments about the rooms, location and breakfast. We truly appreciate your kind comments towards our staff and are glad that we were able to help you. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I cannot emphasize more how excellent the location of this hotel is. It is just 2 minutes outside Akasaka Mitsuke metro station. If you check out the metro map, this station is just 10 mins away from major areas such as Shinjuku, Shibuya, Ginza, Tokyo station.

The surrounding streets are also filled with delicious eateries. You will never run out of food options here. If you fancy a little night life, there are also a number of stand up bars and yakitori bars along the same street where you see salary-men mingle after work.
On top that, the room is generally clean with all the in-room amenities you would expect and staff were attentive. The complementary breakfast was pretty good as well.

Overall, my experience at this hotel was fantastic. It will be my number 1 choice when I return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalebChay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theb_akasaka_Ito, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Deal CalebChay

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka-mitsuke and for taking the time to post the review.
Access is good even to go anywhere in downtown area from our property by train,car walk...
We are pleased to read your experience at and around the hotel. and we are looking forward to serving you soon!

Best regards,

Jinichi Ito
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The Sunroute in Akasaka is on a FANTASTIC block. My husband and I were here for Christmas and New Year's. There are several great bars and restaurants within walking distance of the Sunroute, as well as the train station and a temple. The rooms are very small, but clean. Book through agoda.com for the best deals.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Vada112

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel to Tokyo.
As you mentioned our location is convenient for many popular sites and restaurants. Some of our rooms are Tokyo sized, and we do try our best to make them clean and comfortable.
Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is situated in a good location with great restaurants close by in the Tokyo Plaza namely the roast chicken and beer cafe across the road. The hotel staff are polite and accommodating the rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels and the shower is nice and hot. So why have a rated it average unfortunately a hotel can be perfect but if the bed is hard you're not going to sleep and this bed was like sleeping on a stone, this hotel would be a great place if only the bed were more comfortable the rooms are very small even by tokyo standards there are no cupboards to put your things in and your bed almost touches the window.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Mr/Ms. Corey B

Thank you very much for you stayed at Hotel Sunroute Akasaka,

I want to apologize that a bed does not match you and you could not sleep comfortably.

If you feel a bed is hard, we will bring blankets to spread below.

I wait for the next your reservations.


Best regards,

Kazuhiko Otomo
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. Hotel is a 2 minute walk to Akasaka Mitsuke metro station.

Hotel staff were excellent, they were all very helpful and polite. The rooms are small, as is the norm in Tokyo, but they are very clean and functional.

The area around the hotel is good, quite lively with convenience stores and many restaurants and bars in the streets around the hotel. We tried some local Japanese restaurants and found them to be great. There is a MacDonalds if that's your thing, handy for breakfast.

The hotel itself has a small breakfast type cafe which looked ok but we didn't use that so I can't comment on the food quality.

We felt safe in the area even late at night and I'd recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a mid range central hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kg08953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b akasaka-mitsuke, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear kg08953

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sunroute Akasaka and for posting your review.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff - I will share your comments with them. We are glad that you got to try a restaurant near us - there are so many to choose from!
Please come back and see us again. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#44 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Villa Hotel Akasakamitsuke
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
#47 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#27 of 108 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b akasaka-mitsuke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka-mitsuke

Property: the b akasaka-mitsuke
Address: 3-21-7 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka-mitsuke 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the b akasaka-mitsuke, is in the center of Akasaka's lively shopping, dining and entertainment district. Just a few minutes' walk from Akasaka-mitsuke subway station, it is also close walking distance to Akasaka Sacas Biz Tower and the Act Theatre. Close by is the Imperial Palace, the Diet Building and the shopping areas of Omote-Sando, Ginza and Shinjuku and Shibuya, with the entire city easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your the b akasaka-mitsuke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunroute Akasaka
Sunroute Akasaka Minato
The b Akasaka-Mitsuke Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing