We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is located in Roponggi area.

Nice area lots of Restaurant / Pubs

Not far from Shibuya Shopping area.

Hotel is top few floors of Office Building (probably the tallest one in this area)
All Rooms have great view of Tokyo
Lounge also have amazing View of Tokyo.
Pool is nice (indoor) and heated

I usually stay in their international rooms
This time I got the traditional Suite.
Its actually quite an experience.
It a traditional Japanese room, tatami mat and sitting on the floor type of setting.

Service staff are great always friendly and helpful and trying to anticipate your needs.
Many choice of Food in the Hotel + All have excellent view of the City

Room Tip: They have different rooms which give you different view of the City.. so choose wisely ;) Tokyo Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is a very good hotel, everything make you fill so pampered, every body is vey polite…. they helps you in any way you request. Some bed rooms like in the one we stayed in, and the bar, which is absolutely beautiful, have Mt. Fuji view, that makes them breath taken,the sushi restaurant very good. It was the best hotel we stayed in. It is worth the price you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with Mt. Fuji view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylbeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything you'd expect and then some from a Ritz Carlton. Unbelievable views from the rooms and bar. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to go the extra mile (they helped us secure a great reservation at a wonderful sushi place).

Rooms are much larger than I expected; the bathrooms were the size of some hotel rooms.

Fitness centre is a bit tough to navigate; seems you need to be a member to use the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton, luxurious and sophisticated. You are catered to every minute of the day without it being annoying or intrusive. There is a lovely lobby bar and the restauarant there is top notch. There is a mall underneath which is very convenient for a break from hotel life. The pool is great and so is the spa. Staff is extemelt polite and helpful. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EG509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived late, checked in and went for a swim and a Jacuzzi to perk up after the flight form Dubai; fabulous pool and great views from the (very) hot jacuzzi. After that we had a cocktail in the beautiful lobby bar, which is smartly “divided” from the chic main lobby by a stunning water feature.

In all, we stayed 4 nights here and had a fantastic time. The room was large and appointed perfectly as in Ritz Carlton style; great walk in shower and very comfortable bed. We had a Mt. Fuji view but the unfortunately the hazy weather was not our friend. The staff could not have been more helpful in making and confirming dining reservations as well as giving directions for touring around the local Roppongi area.

The great jet lag revival massages in the ESPA are to be recommended and they did what the name implies and really set us up for the first day.

The hotel is superbly located not just for local Roppongi but all of central Tokyo is easily and quickly accessible from the adjoining subway line. The last day was a treat as all the cherry blossoms started to come out in the park around the hotel.

Would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mt Fuji room for the view but you are at the mercy of the atmospheric conditions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveSailSkiTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton Tokyo for 9 nights on business on the Club Level. I had my family with me as they chose to tag along and see the sights of Japan (wife and 10 year old daughter). Pre arrival - the Club Lounge concierge (Katori-san) was absolutely fabulous. Booking sighseeing tours, sumo ticktets and suggesting things for my family to do while I was working - before we even arrived. I can't say enough about him. He also met us upon arrival from the airport - escorted us from the main entrance to our room on the 53rd floor with exceptional views (a corner room with wrap around views) and completed the check in from the comfort of our room.
During our stay I cannot give enough praise to the entire Club staff. From Desiree, the Club Manager, to Katori-san, who seemed to be our personal attendant, and Helena another exceptional Club attendant - anything we needed was either anticipated or immediately delivered when ordered. My daughter was doted on like a princess every day and truly enjoyed telling everyone about her daily activities and the sights that she had seen. When we checked out she went to say good bye to Katori-san, and could not find him in the lounge, she was heartbroken. That is, until we arrived downstairs to find him waiting at the car to wish us good bye with a "care package" of goodies for her to take on the plane! Absolutely great personal service! And always with a huge smile on his face.
My only negative comment on the Club is my disappointment with the food offerings. For the money paid to stay on the Club Floor I would expect more. I have stayed at other high end properties across the world (and even slightly lower rated (JW Marriott, Grand Hyatt, etc) and the food offerings for both Breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres in the Club lounges at other hotels far exceed those offered here. After reading the reviews on this site it appears that the food has been scaled back recently - which is very apparent when comparing to other hotels I have stayed it. That is my only "negative" comment, and is meant more for informational purposes. Other reviews have covered the rooms and location so I will not get into those details here. I look forward to my next visit to Tokyo and will definitely be again staying at the Ritz Carlton - I can only hope they go back to the "old" food offerings in the lounge.

Room Tip: Club Floor, Corner Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Pre-arrival:
Queries were answered and actioned quickly
Restaurant bookings were made and follow up in a timely manner.

Arrival:
Checking was fast and efficient
The property was well maintained
Room was large (in Tokyo standard) and comfortable with magnificent view (how could it not be when it was on the 50th floor?)

Overall:
Magnificent hotel with the usual Ritz standard

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_KenKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,179 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#4 of 117 in Minato
2,057 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,081 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 82 in Chiyoda
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo

Address: Tokyo Midtown 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Minato
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range: £387 - £1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests arive from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel in Tokyo, Japan is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing