We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mindblowing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mindblowing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Treated like a VIP- the staff here is incredibly professional and friendly. The Hotel itself is overwhelmingly impressive! Start with the lobby being on the 45th floor and enjoy the spectacular view of Tokyo! Beautiful decor- spacious and comfortable- the rooms were so fabulous that I didn't want to leave the hotel! The hotel brilliantly located adjacent to midtown which houses shops and restaurants- nearby food, dining, shopping 7-11 and a convenient supermarket as well. Subway stations are within a block and Roopongi is just down the street!
I'd definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation. Staying at the Ritz totally made our trip to Japan a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    277
    93
    32
    28
See reviews for
328
488
101
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

In Tokyo, you should look for properties offering expansive skyline views like Park Hyatt, Mandarin Oriental and Ritz Carlton. We had a dinner at New York Grill on top of Park Hyatt and the view is very impressive but we did not feel like staying there. We were hesitating between Mandarin and Ritz Carlton and decided for the Ritz.

The lobby is on the 45th floor so when you get in, the views are magnificent. The lobby is both cozy and vibrant with very high ceilings, a restaurant, lounge, bar area with live music and all-around city views.

The rooms offer spectacular views of Tokyo. They are elegant, clean and spacious. Not our style, but nice and roomy with large and well equipped bathrooms. If you like the Peninsula décor style, you’ll like the Ritz Tokyo style. We no fans of that type of décor but the hotel has many other charms that made our stay there memorable.

The service is outstanding. The restaurant was very good. The concierge recommendations were precisely what we were looking for. The hotel location is in the vibrant financial city center where you will feel the energy of the working population of Tokyo. The Starbucks at the 1st floor is a great Starbucks and just getting my usual 5-Shot Grande Skim Milk Latte there is a great experience of the Japanese people. The order is taken with great respect like they all treat people. The order is delivered with extreme care and caution to ensure that you cup is 100% clean, not a single drop of milk or espresso could have tarnished the white cup. And when they put the lid on your cup, never will they touch the mouth hole with their fingers. Japanese people have such a phenomenal sense of respect for others, it drives all their gestures, way of life, driving behavior, something very special and worth discovering. It is only though the little things in life that you do while in Tokyo that you discover them and appreciate how they are and how nice they can be.

So back to the Tokyo Ritz Carlton… would we return? Yes we would. We would still hesitate between Mandarin and Ritz, and that only for the restaurants they both offer. The Mandarin has a phenomenal restaurant but it was closed when we were there so we tried the Ritz and we not deceived at all, we had a truly good time in Tokyo there, much more then when we stayed in Tokyo at Peninsula.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The higher the better for the expansive Tokyo Skyline Views. Get a corner if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo has a staff that makes your stay a delight. Everyone is helpful and courteous. Our room on the 52nd floor was lovely and the view of Tokyo was spectacular. The lobby is so beautiful that you want to spend time relaxing with tea or a glass of wine while listening to the piano. The location was excellent for business and pleasure. A true delight of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASLASLASLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've stayed here twice now, once in 2010 and once in 2013. I travelled here on business and the company that hosted me had the entire 48th floor booked to them. The view is spectacular from the rooms. There is a photo of the view from our room on my website, right after the photos of Morocco, here's the link. http://www.robbahou.com/gallery/travel

Honestly, the highlight of my trip was the japanese toilet. These people have got it right. Who needs toilet paper when you have technology?

Toilet humor aside, the location is great, right in the middle of Roppongi district, ripe with nightlife and fantastic sushi restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have now had the chance to stay at the Ritz Carlton, Tokyo MidTown, on several trips over the last couple of years. It remains consistently one of the finest run hotels I have ever frequented. The service is superb, the rooms are gracious, and the location, at the top of one of the tallest buildings in Tokyo, and sitting on a hill, provides simply stunning views from every window in the building.

Yes, the hotel is not cheap. But, for a few hundred dollars a night more, you get a truly remarkable stay. If you can't quite push yourself to afford the cost of a stay there, I recommend stopping in to the lobby bar for a drink or tea (albeit not cheap either). The lobby is on the 45th floor and has exceptional views of the city. It may be one of the nicest hotel lobbies in the world.

I stay for business, but I could see this being a fine hotel for families or vacation travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Simply outstanding!

The best Ritz I have been so far. The rooms and installations are amazing. Actually, the view from my room was top notch (almost like postcard)!

The location is just perfect! In the heart of Minato.

I told the concierge I wanted to go to Kyoto and he helped me with everything. The very next morning I had an itinerary in Kyoto with private chofer and tour guide. He also took care of the bullet train tickets and the hotel.

The service is wonderful. I had a problem because my husband sent me flower for our anniversary and somehow there was a confusion and I did not get the flowers. The Ritz manager came to my room and deeply apologize. Then, he more than compensated me for the flowers and even accompanied me (with other three people from his team) to take the airport's shuttle when leaving.

No doubt. If you want an outstanding place in Tokyo, go to the Ritz in Minato.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the higher floor you can and enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, nice size rooms, nice gym and with the hotel being on the upper floors you get beautiful views. Also had a nice meal at the restaurant on the lobby floor. it's in a convenient location with several metro station fairly close by. Hotel staff is extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#3 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,730 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#4 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing