We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good access to several metro lines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Ranked #32 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the hotel for aweek and enjoyed nice location as well ascwell kept room. Room was quite compact but we knew that. We arroved to Hanada airport and there was a direct train from there to nearby Daimon Station. And next to Daimon was very handy Yamanote line JR Station. Shimbashi was also notvfar away. Hotel was modern and served reasonably good breakfast buffet with both western and oriental elements.
Only minus was laundry, where some stains were left to trousers and no explanation was given - full charge. Anyone who has ever done any laundry, would have felt that material was linen and there fore bleach could have been used.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaisaEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Mitsui Garden would be on the level of say a Hampton Inn in America of course the rooms are 1/4 the size in Tokyo but they function better. This is a step up from the business hotel chain Keio Presso. The beds are softer, room has a coffee maker, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in-room pants press. We had a double room which had enough room to store two bags, a desk with chair plus lounge chair and a small closet for about 5 pieces of clothing. For business the room had free, reliable in room wi -fi and adjustable air conditioning. We could get the room cool enough to sleep. It did not lock at 68F. The bathroom size was fine - it had a tub and shower with detachable head. Towels were thin. They had basket on counter with razor, toothbrush, etc in case you forgot. The hotel buffet did not look good and it was expensive so we skipped it. Elevators were fast - ours has three. They held our luggage on day of checkout. The location was easily walkable (about 8 min) to Hamatsucho or Shimbashi station (both on Yamanote JR line). Also Daimon subway station was right next to Hamatsucho. Shiodome is a new neighborhood so it doesn't have a lot of charm but the location was convenient and much quieter than Shibuya or Shinjuku for example. There are a lot of food options by the stations. Family Mart around the corner and a Pronto coffee a few blocks away as well. My two negatives were the pillows (like a thin rock) and second that I booked with otel.com. I got a good rate but I could not choose non-smoking and in Tokyo that is a major problem because almost all hotels are still half and half so we were on a smoking floor and the room smelled like an ashtray. Beware. Otherwise I would recommend this as a good business hotel option in Tokyo at the right price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank HighlandMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Booking this hotel was confusing. I thought I had scored a real bargain. Different booking sites showed very different prices for the "Mitsui Garden Hotel" in Tokyo. On the map both seemed to be in the same place, yet the prices varied wildely. So I was eager to book via the cheaper site, ready to enjoy some luxury and feel smug for having paid so little.

Now that I'm actually in the hotel I understand. "Mitsui Garden" is a chain of hotels. They have one hotel in Shiodome, which is on the edge of the "Ginza" area. There's another Mitsu Garden hotel mere minutes away actually in Ginza. The latter is seriously expensive, the hotel in Shiodome is of average price.

The Mitsu Garden of Shiodome is located in a neighbourhood with houses in European style. The pharse "little Italy" would overdo it, but there are several Italian restaurants, an Italian supermarket and some Italian themed shops here. The Mitsui Hotel doesn't have a restaurant of its own, but on the base floor (connected to the central lobby) is a buffet restaurant. And yes, it is Italian style. For those not so keen on a daily dose of cheese, pizza and olive oil there's a "Natural Lawson" supermarket next door. Very convenient!

A walk to Ginza mainstreet takes about ten to fiveteen minutes. Mitsui Garden Shiodome is located between Shiodome stationa and Daimon station (the latter is also known as Hamamatsucho). Both require a 5 minute walk. That's not so bad every day, but when you have heavy luggage or in bad weather a hotel right on top of a station might be more convenient.

While this Mitsui Garden isn't very luxurious, it doos look new, clean and stylish. The designers managed to set an elegant, modern theme which continues in the room. The room is compact, but there's enough space around the bed(s) for big suitcases. And then there's enough space for a desk and lazy chair as well. Some Tokyo hotels offer far less space for more money. Wifi and cable Internet are available for free. The connection speed is very low during the evening; in the morning and mid day speed is okay.

The room is very well equiped, all basic things one expects at this price are there. Some noticeable things: the window in the room actually opens, which I found very pleasant. Every day roomservice brings two complimentary bottles of water to the room. There's a handy phone charger on the room, so one does not have to fiddle around with adapters.

The cons: be aware that beds in Japan are generally hard and the beds in the Mitsui Hotel are even harder than average in Japan. The cushions seem to be filled with balls, seeds or something like that and are very uncomfortable. The air circilation in the bathroom is always on and can be pretty noisy. The room key is a paper (!) card and the staff urged me not to bend or fold it. The staff does speak English, or at least gives it a try. Do mind that this hotel is a little off centre, so the level of understaning English may leave something to be desired. So while this hotel wasn't a steal at this price, it did feel very Italian to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I agree with the majority of positive reviews here. I had a very nice room with a view of Tokyo Tower.

However a warning for those people staying in the in-between seasons (spring and autumn). I was there during a warm spell in April, however the air-con is centrally controlled and set on heating. (The girl at the front desk read from a prepared script in English basically saying it's April therefore the heating is on regardless of the actual weather).

So I was left with the choice of sweltering at night or opening the window (which meant it was very noisy with a construction site nearby).

In other hotels in a similar price range you do have much more control over the temperature in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Pros:
*Good location, close to many train stations, a nice 25-min walk to Ginza/Imperial Palace, a 10-min walk to Tokyo Tower, right next to a convenience store
*Spotlessly clean, not big but a systematic room with nice and simple decor, laundry facilities on the top floor in the public bath area
*Friendly and efficient staff

Cons:
*The all-you-can-eat dinner at the restaurant was pretty average.
*This is essentially an upgraded Japanese business hotel. The pillow is quite low (just one) and the bed quite firm. I personally like it but some might find this difficult.

Overall a great hotel in this price range. We had a great start to our 10-day holiday in Japan thanks to this hotel. Thank you!

3日間泊まりました。
良い点:
*ロケーション たくさんの駅に近く、銀座、皇居などへ25分で散歩でき、東京タワーも10分。コンビニもとなりです。
*小さめですがシステマティックな部屋で、とても清潔でした。内装もシンプルかつモダンです。コインランドリーが最上階の浴場についていたので助かりました。
*スタッフもフレンドリーでした

残念な点:
*バイキングの夕食をいただきましたが、残念ながらあまり美味しくありませんでした。

Room Tip: If you're using JR, get off at Hamamatsucho as it's closer. Subway Ginza Line Shimbashi is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikkirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great little hotel.
Room is small and tight - but that is to be expected here in Tokyo !
5 min walk to station
Nice and quiet
Clean public bath on 13 th floor that is VERY HOT!!!
My hubby and two boys had the buffet for breakfast one day and got their money's worth ( kids were 6000 yen, hubby was 16000 yen)
I prefer to pop around to the family mart or the lawson ( about 4 within 100 metres) and pick up breakfast and daily snacks for about 500 yen!!
Superb pizza bar across the highway walkway called trico or triest or something like that... Anyway the pizza is the best I have ever eaten... It's on a corner near a car park
Our room didn't have air con which was no problem cause it was cold, but would have been a major issue if it was hot ...
Reception staff have limited English but were very helpful with maps and trains and directions
Would recommend this hotel no probrem... He he !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Reception don't seem to speak a great deal of English but it was OK at check-in. Receptionist was apologetic about the possible smell of smoke in a non-smoking room.
Double room was a little small with the bed pushed against one wall so only one bedside table. However, it was quiet, nicely (if plainly) decorated and everything worked. All-singing and all-dancing toilet in the bathroom with a nice heated seat! Our room was on the east side and looked out toward Tokyo Tower. Room had a humidifier, trouser press, slippers, tea and coffee making facilities, Wifi and LAN. I had trouble connecting to the Wifi so pulled out the Travel Wifi adapter I'd brought with us and plugged it into the LAN creating our own Wifi which worked fine.
Plenty of power outlets for charging appliances but only the two pin variety, I could not find a 3 pin in this room.
To get to the hotel from Tokyo station by taxi cost us about 1300Yen and took between 10 and 15 minutes around 8:30pm on a Friday night.
To get to Hamamatsucho JR station from the hotel, go out the front door, turn left, go slightly round the corner of the hotel, cross the road and go down the side road in front of you. It does a dog-leg to the left and then right and then its straight on to the station. We timed it and it took us 7 minutes from the hotel to the station platform.
To get to the hotel from the station, take the North exit, cross the main road at the crossing and bear slightly left then take the narrow road to your right. It looks a little dark and lonely but its fine even late at night. The road does a dog-leg to the left, then right and the hotel is straight in front of you.
There are some Italian restaurants (a little expensive from what we looked at) and a CocoCurry house on the street the hotel is on, go out the front door and bear right.
There are more restaurants, pubs and bars on the streets near the station.
Tokyo Tower is within walking distance (I think maybe 20-25 mins), we also walked back from the Tokyo station area through Ginza.
There is a good view of the City from The World Trade Center Observatory, on the same road as the station.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on the west side would get train-noise but otherwise the hotel is in a very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Shiba Park Hotel
Shiba Park Hotel
#15 of 118 in Minato
1,207 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Tokyo Prince Hotel
Tokyo Prince Hotel
#34 of 118 in Minato
648 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Mystays Premier Hamamatsucho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai

Address: 2-14-24 Higashi-shimbashi, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: £74 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Mitsui Fudosan Hotel Management Co., Ltd., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Minato
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-Gai Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing