We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price/room ratio but not as convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
Ranked #52 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good price/room ratio but not as convenient”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Pro
Reasonably priced vs the room size (by Japan standards). Stayed in Superior room and can have 2 large suitcases open + room to move around and a large bathroom.
Pleasant and helpful front desk staff
Despite the Location Con below, we arrrived by train into Tokyo at Tokyo station and it was only a $15 taxi ride to hotel (it was a pub holiday though so no traffic) which saves navigating through the complex subway system

Con
Location is not ideal - even though it is right above a subway line, its not a major line and we found getting to most of the places we wanted to took some effort in transfer (and transferring between subway lines in Tokyo can involve up to 500m walks! next time will probably stay back at somewhere like Shinjuku where there are major subway lines runnign through). There is a super mkt and convenience store nearby and there is some restaurants in the office mall downstairs but there isn't much aroudn the area so you would have to walk to Roppongi to get better choices (about a 10min walk)
Breakfast is very ordinary, do not have high expectations,
To get to Narita airport you would have to take the airport limo whose nearest stop is Ana continental (5-10min walk away on a hill so take a taxi if you have heavy luggage, but the airport limo is pleasant enough except it has limited service hours), Don't bother with the airport train because, as I pointed out above, the nearest subway is not on a major line and it would take multipe transfers to get onto an airport train line

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    188
    96
    21
    9
See reviews for
30
77
44
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The size of the room and the bed was not too bad (in Tokyo term).

However, the bed was very hard and I could feel the spring inside the mattress. Probably because it has been used for years, it has a slightly concave shape. Finding an acceptable position for my legs was extremely difficult. On the following day, I asked for an additional quilt to cover the hard bed. Much to my surprise, the staff told me that the hotel didn't have a single spare quilt available.

The breakfast was provided in front of the check-in counter without any proper dining table. The environment was weird and the choice was poor.

In term of location, there is a metro station in front of the hotel but that specific line is not a major one. It is not convenient at all if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minato hotels

Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is better than most business hotels I have stayed in during past trips to Japan. The room is certainly more spacious and the high speed internet is reliable and included with the room fee. Unfortunately, WiFi is only available at the lobby so you have to use the cable provided in your room. Breakfast is also included and is buffet style at the lobby (there's no resto) and choice is limited but the meals are good enough for a business hotel. The location is great because its just across a subway station and you can walk to the Roppongi district.

My rating is actually between average and very good as it is very good for a business hotel but average overall compared with all other hotels. Price-wise, I had to remind myself I was in Tokyo because I could get a much better room and service if I were in a Southeast Asian city like Bangkok, Bali or Cebu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d0ctrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent business hotel with a full size bath tub and a great bed. Breakfast is provided but no room service. However, given its proximity with Roppongi night district, finding food at odd hours of the night is not difficult. Centrally located, it's next to a train station and right next to ANA Intercontinental Hotel. Narita airport has a direct bus connectivity to ANA Intercontinental for Yen 3,000 by Airport Limousine bus service. Room size is big for Tokyo standards and staff are friendly. Most speak good English. Cleanliness is high although the buffet spread for breakfast is limited. I stayed 4 nights and was ver pleased with convenience and comfort of the hotel. Their late checkout rates are also extremely reasonable given it is in Tokyo. There's wired Internet inside rom and Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or Gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

stayed for a 8 day vacation (7nights) hotel is located right on top of a subway station so it is good when your legs are done after a long day walking, most staff I encounter speaks good enough English to communicate, room are very Tokyo size but does have everything you need. Breakfast are very limited in choice but will do it for you to start the day. their are several restaurant and bar in the building but the heart of roppongi is only about 10~15 minutes walk away (uphill) so really you should head there to discover even you are not necessary a night perosn.

Room Tip: i think some higher floors have the view of tokyo tower, not 100% sure though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAROICNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel when it opened about 8 years ago and it was beautiful with pristine rooms, good service and basic breakfast buffet. So I was shocked when I recently went back and found candy wrapper beside TV with unemptied dust bin next to it. Bathroom was more of a shock as opened soap and shampoo on the tub and used comb and brush by the sink. When I pointed this out to the front desk they were slow to respond and said it would take a while to rectify as they had no evening cleaning staff. No attempt to make up for the convenience just an apology. Overall rooms are starting to look a bit tired and service could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RROW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's located in a really good area, but it lacks a couple of things. Wifi only at the entrance lobby, which by the way is where you have your breakfast, which is weird. The breakfast is not that good and you don't have a lot of choice. Rooms are small but very cleaned.There is a fridge, but it's empty and there is no room service. Staff if helpful.
It does the work.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b roppongi
the b roppongi
#49 of 110 in Minato
327 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Roppongi Hotel S
Roppongi Hotel S
#40 of 110 in Minato
186 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
Hotel Arca Torre Roppongi
#65 of 110 in Minato
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Itchome Ekimae
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#71 of 110 in Minato
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi
Address: 1-6-2 Roppngi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Roppongi
Fontaine Roppongi Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Roppongi Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing