We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly quiet and vast park”
Review of Kinuta Park

Kinuta Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$417.72*
and up
Private Tokyo Custom Half-Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #2 of 127 things to do in Setagaya
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly quiet and vast park”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This park is close to my childhood home. It is relatively unknown, yet if a very vast area of quiet ground, full of green grass and woods. It's a bit far from central Tokyo, and so I guess not that popular. Yet, cherry blossoms are really nice for 'Hanami' in the season. There are a lot of facilities including a museum (very nice selection of Chagall paintings), sports facilities, bird sanctuaries and so on. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away just for a little while from all the noise in Tokyo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    125
    27
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Large family friendly park”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We live a 10 minute drive away, so Kinuta Park is our default choice when we want to go for a picnic or a stroll. By train it's only 15 minutes to Yoga station from Shibuya and then a 15-20 minute walk. It's probably similar size to the more well known Yoyogi park, but with a lot less tourists and more locals. Cherry blossom season the park will be very busy, but it's big enough that you will find a spot to enjoy your hanami party. There are lots of sporting grounds and a cycle path, a bird watching area, and tulip gardens in the spring. There are loud announcements with classical music every once in a while, so don't be startled if you happen to sit near one of the speakers. Do note that the Tomei expressway passes right next to the park, so you will hear traffic noise if you are on the south side. There is a large pay parking lot on the north side and some street parking along the south side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice green oasis in the big city”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A large, beautiful park with gardens, wooded areas, paths for strolling and jogging, sports fields, and a special paved route for cyclists.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Magnificent cherry blossoms!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I went to Kinuta Park during the cherry blossom season - seriously, it was one of the most magical and stunning things I have ever seen. Kinuta Park is one of the biggest parks in the suburb of Setagaya and has about 500 cherry blossom trees! It used to be a golf course, so there are loads of wide open spaces perfect for kids to run around in, fly kites, etc. Even in the busy cherry blossom season, you can still find a quiet corner of the park to chill with friends or your partner. I highly recommend this place if you're after somewhere to relax and escape from the busy city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerdayz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
226 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely cherry viewing park”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What an experience it was to see the cherry blossoms at this park. It was a bit crowded even though it was windy and a bit chilly. The Japanese really love their sakura viewing parties.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinuta Park also viewed

 
Setagaya, Tokyo
 

Been to Kinuta Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing