We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place and a great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Zumaia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly place and a great value for money”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Sakura Hatagaya for three nights and enjoyed it a lot. Rooms are clean, large enough and with the included breakfast a great value for money. It is also a very good place to meet fellow travellers as well as locals with a friendly café open 24h (without being a rowdy party place). The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed, without being noisy. The location is also relatively good and well communicated to nearby hotspots like Shinjuku and Shimokitazawa. They are also within a reasonable walking distance, as is Yoyogi park- one of my favourite places in Toyko and perfect for a weekend stroll.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambulanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    157
    87
    20
    8
See reviews for
47
82
85
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have never been in a conventional hotel like it.

Everything thought of. Staff were kind, direct and at ease.

Breakfast was cheap but I wish it was Japanese with some fruit and therefore more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aristotleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

even the room are small, the water pipe always making noise, overall, the hotel is good, we love the place, its clean, the staff are very helpful. we spent 3 days here, and its good. but anyway the other comments are right, you should called it a hostel instead a hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nuwanda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Sakura Hotel Hatagaya is located in a very convenient area. Hatagaya station is located like 2 min away from the hotel and from there you take the Keio NEW Line (there's also a Keio Line, so notice that you take the Keio NEW Line, as Keio Line will not be stopping at Hatagaya station). The trains from Shinjuku and Hatagaya are arriving and departing within a decent time frame (I estimate that there was a 10 minutes stop between each train, but I didn't wait long for the next train). From Shinjuku station you can basically travel everywhere as the lines (as in other major cities) intersects with each other and you can transfer to other lines and etc.

The Post Office is literally around the corner from the hotel entrance, and there's also an ATM there, which is able to take foreign credit cards. This ATM is open from 9AM-5PM on weekdays (at the time of my stay), but there's a 7/11 with an ATM that I think is open 24/7, located across the street from Hatagaya station, so approximately 5 mins away from the hotel. There's two shops close to the hotel, one Tomod (a lot of household articles, cosmetics and quick snack/food) and one FamilyMart (with a bit more of a selection of snacks and food). The Hotel also takes some foreign cards.

The hotel is for Scandinavian standards, very decent, but the rooms are really tiny, but keep in mind that this is in Japan and the rooms are small here. Hairdryer is located in the room, along with a mini fridge. But an electric kettle isn't in the room, but hot water is accessible in the hotel "lobby", which also functions as an area for breakfast/lunch and etc. Sakura Hotel Hatagaya also offers meals for a decent price (coming from Norway and used to the price point there, and the currency equivalent is very in favour for Norwegian currency compared to Japanese). The food was great for the price you pay, and not bad in terms of taste.

The staff here is very service-oriented, all very polite and nice! And they are able to communicate efficiently in English, so not knowing Japanese won't be a problem. The reception is open 24/7, so no matter what time it is, you are able to get some help from the staff any time. They are also very informative if you're wondering about different places in Tokyo to visit, and they also offer a free map of the Underground in Tokyo, which is a great thing to have when you're travelling around in the city and transferring to other lines and etc.

I would definitely recommend you to stay in Sakura Hotel Hatagaya, or other Sakura hotels located around in Tokyo. I stayed here in April 2014, for a school trip for approximately one week, and it was a great stay. We were in total close to... 30 people in our group, and it was all handled well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracay, Venezuela
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Well located small hotel, rooms are very very small, but also very clean and with private bathroom; the staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights and I don't have nothing to complain about. Im pretty sure is the best price you cans get in Japan for all the commodities you get.
Just two stops from Shinjuku via New Keio Line and it has a Family Mart, Moss Burguer, Dotour and a Ramen Soup place literally 1 min walk

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseAlbertoLeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hatagaya Station is located 4 min 2 stops away from Shinjuku Station, use the Keio New Line (NB: NEW, there is also a "Keio Line"). From Hatagaya Station you walk 2 min. The hotel has guests and staff from many countries. There is a friendly and open minded ambience. If you like to make new friends, I recommend this hotel. There is a very fine food-shop around the corner from the station, it is open all night, the name is Gourmet City. Ask hotell-staff for map. There are nice residential areas close to the hotel, good for walking trips and for studying Tokyo life. The hotel is non-smoking inside, but has a nice smoking "cafè-area" outside. Maybe the room-price is in the upper level when considering the bedrooms and the common area (lobby internet-cafè). But since I first visited, I always go there when I stay in Tokyo. It has a homely feel to it, which many people appreciate, and a very good location.

Room Tip: Bedrooms slightly differs in size. Some allows an open suitcase on the floor, some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinner Plain, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed a night and met 2 lovely staff members yuki and honda... We drank beers with them when they finished and were friendly. Rooms small but very clean.
Excellent English speakers, my flight was cancelled to Hokkaido so I went back and tried to stay 2 more nights...they were booked out but had one room spare and were happy to give it to me.
Ate dinner with yuki and honda for 2 nights and was very enjoyable....
Definitely the place to stay in hatagaya if you are on a budget or want to see the culture. AMAZING

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#10 of 28 in Shibuya
294 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
593 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
679 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Hatagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Hatagaya

Property: Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
Address: 1-32-3 Hatagaya, Shibuya 151-0072, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sakura Hotel Hatagaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sakura Hotel Hatagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Shibuya
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing