We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Friendly Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was looking for a hotel for a family of four. I have searched for many places in Tokyo. I would need to book two double rooms. Somehow I found Sakura Hotel Hatagaya. It is reasonable priced. I have read many good reviews before I booked for 3 night stay. We flew to Narita Airport and took Narita Express to Shinjuku station. We looked for Keio New line. Hatagaya is only two stations away. After got out Hatagaya station, it took us about two minutes to get to the hotel. We checked in right before 6PM without any problem. Staffs were very friendly and answered any question we had in English. We walked in to the rooms. The room is small which is very typical in Tokyo. Right after settled in, we went out to street to find a traditional Japanese restaurant. The owners of the restaurant were very friendly. After the dinner, we walked around streets. There was Family Mart and 7-11. If you walked out to the big street, you can find Gourmet City which is a big super market. The hotel location is just very nice. Later in evening, I spoke to hotel staff Eddie and Tarmo about what to do in Tokyo. They showed me different map and what attractions we could go as a family. They also would look online to find out more detail answers. They really spent time with me to make sure my visit would go well. Later I found out Eddie was a professional Tour Guide. Did I find the right person how to visit Tokyo? I am very impressed with the staffs, most of them are young and full of energy. First day, we visited Asakusa temple, SkyTree, Tsukiji fish market and Tokyo Tower. All these places were accessible with subway all day pass which cost $1000 yen per adult which is a very economical way to go around Tokyo. Later in Saturday evening, we took Keio New line to Sasakuza which is one station down of Hatagaya on Keio New line however you can walk if you want. There were more shops in Sasakuza. By the time we finished the day, we just fell asleep in hotel bed very quickly. For the second day, we just walked around Shinjuku. One suggestion is that you can go to Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building observation deck in Shinjuku. When you are up there, you can see the city very well. The one good thing is that it is free. Also there are a lot of big department stores in Shinjuku which are nice to visit. Overall, I like the location and staff of Sakura Hotel Hatagaya. The hotel rooms are ok and clean. Breakfast included in our hotel rate was very good (I love the soap of the day). We will definitely stay at this hotel again. One more thing, we were asked by staff Mihoko (maybe wrong spelling) which she could have a picture with our family. There is a board in the hotel entrance full of hotel guest pictures which I found very interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Staying at this small hotel was a good option. It's cheap and you get all the basic amenities you need for a pleasant stay in a private room. It's also near a station, so you can move easily in Tokyo. You can also have a nice walk and get to know the neighborhood, in order to get to Meiji Shrine, which is 30 minutes walking. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ask them for options to have dinner or visit different places in Tokyo!

The cons: the room I got had a small window and the view were some pipes. There was a lot of noise from the water running at night.

Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights! The room is pretty small (Tokyo standard, maybe). Easy access, just 2 metro stops from Shinjuku Station. A lot of eateries around. The staff can speak english very well.

The down part is the toilet is super small, as size as airplane lavatory with additional bath tub and it's super smelly because there's no ventilation at all. And the toilet seater is just the normal one, not the typical japanese toilet with warmer and bidet, etc.

The wall is really thin so we can heard people on the next room snoring, i don't know it's because the thin wall or that guy really snore too loud.

Room Tip: If you have higher budget, get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

During a recent visit early April to Tokyo my Wife and I spent two nights in this hotel. We had previously stayed here and had some concerns re cleanliness, décor ,carpets etc.. Redecoration has taken place, new carpeting is in place and altogether a big improvement. Staff as ever it seems are mixed nationality and very welcoming and helpful.
We had a pleasant room which cost us £135 for the two nights. This was a larger room than we had used previously, but at an increased cost! Rooms here are generally small by western measures but perfectly serviceable. If your resources run to it, try to get a "Queen Room"
Breakfast is available but at an extra cost of 350 yen and consists of toast, soup, pastries and preserves, tea and coffee. There is free Wi Fi. There is a café facility and the outside terrace is available which runs across 24 hours but is not a problem. If you don't want to stay for breakfast, there are several local coffee shops serving very good coffee and sandwiches and pastries and some things you cannot identify but taste nice!!
Sakura is a good location, being next to the post office, and very close to the New Keio line for trains into the city at a cost of 140yen single to Shinjuku. If you are staying a while in the area get a Pasmo Card which you can use on trains and buses.
We would be happy to use this hotel again given the improvements made.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gwilym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are first user for this hotel . We found Great price. Great location. 2 stop only from sinjuku station . See keio new line for hatagawa. Great service.The room is small, the bathroom is super tini. But over all clean...... Awesome its woorth it for stay here.
The poor thing is chek out 10am. Need to review. Normaly 12pm fir chekout. The breakfast need to upgrade for yogurt and cereal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank danielbudijanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The sakura hotel Hatagaya is a charming place. Very simple, cheap, but clean and comfortable. The room are small, but there's a nice terrace and a café. Near Shinjuku, Yoyogi Park and Harajuku, it's ideally located.The staff is very helpful. A very nice place to stay in Tokyo if you are not looking for luxe and space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Sakura Hatagaya for three nights and enjoyed it a lot. Rooms are clean, large enough and with the included breakfast a great value for money. It is also a very good place to meet fellow travellers as well as locals with a friendly café open 24h (without being a rowdy party place). The atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed, without being noisy. The location is also relatively good and well communicated to nearby hotspots like Shinjuku and Shimokitazawa. They are also within a reasonable walking distance, as is Yoyogi park- one of my favourite places in Toyko and perfect for a weekend stroll.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambulanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#10 of 29 in Shibuya
304 reviews
Nishi Shinjuku Green Hotel
#26 of 29 in Shibuya
14 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
624 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Hatagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Hatagaya

Address: 1-32-3 Hatagaya, Shibuya 151-0072, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £47 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sakura Hotel Hatagaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sakura Hotel Hatagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Shibuya
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing