We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good for business”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

its small, and simple. and like most the tokyu stay hotels they are in great locatiosn with a decent price.

i only stayed one night but was able to walk to the train station (VERY CLOSE) and also go the main part of Shibuya.

id stay again if i was just there for business a few days. but if you are holidaying in tokyo, probably not. its not exactly the kinda place youd hang in the room or at the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grazmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    64
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
18
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Tiny room, bland services, poor English speaking abilities, below-average breakfast, noisy air-con.

Everything looks new but just turns out to be not very guest-friendly. The only exception is the in-room washing machine, which works efficiently.

Avoid, at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We liked this hotel for several reasons:
1) The room was larger than we expected. Not huge, mind you, but not bad considering the stories we've heard about Tokyo hotel rooms.
2) The price was quite good.
3) Breakfast was included. It was perfectly adequate food that arrived quickly and filled us up until lunchtime.
4) The hotel is located a few blocks from the Shibuya train station, which is a great base for exploration, but the hotel area itself was more quiet than expected.
5) Free internet.

The only issue we had was that cab drivers could not seem to find this particular Tokyu Stay hotel to save their lives. There is another Tokyu Stay in Shinjuku and it's close to this one, so as long as the cab driver got us there we could walk the extra three or so blocks to our hotel.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone I knew traveling to Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I've stayed at Tokyo Stay several times over the past 2 years traveling in Japan and I think the rooms are quite sufficient for a business trip. The rooms are typical size for the area but having the washer/dryer and kitchen made up for so much. I was able to pack much lighter and brought a carry on and backpack for 14days. They provide shampoo, conditioner and body wash as well as any other toiletries you made need - brush, razor, toothbrush and toothpaste. They also provide a sleeping gown and slippers - so even less to pack. Bring less but pack a small ziploc of powdered soap so you can do laundry. If you want internet bring a LAN cable - they don't have wifi. If you forget it, no worries - you can borrow one from the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FBYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

When I arrived at the hotel I inquired about getting a larger room as the single A room type was too cramped to myself and one piece of luggage. I've stayed in other hotels in Tokyo so I am knowledgeable of the room sizes being smaller than typical western standards. They told me that because I booked through a travel agent they could not change the room type. I spoke to management that I would pay any additional upgrade charges but in their polite way of course told me NO, not allowed. Besides the room being unlivable cramped, the toilet leaked water, their was urine from the previous guest on the bathroom floor, internet in the room did not work, bed an pillows were horrible making it difficult to get any sleep and the room faces the LOUD trains.
I did however like the FREE breakfast at Johnathan's Family Restaurant, they were very nice, food was prepared with care and were open 24 hours which is also nice for a late night snack.
Overall my experience with Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin- Minimaguchi was POOR and I would never stay there nor would I recommend the hotel to friends

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maldoror23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Good size room for Tokyo, located very close to the train station and near the Shibuya centre making is very convenient to get around. Lots of shopping and eating joints close by.
The breakfast is in an attached restaurant and it was not great, but otherwise nice place to stay in, with the included washing machine and cooking facilities in the room.

Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank musafir18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in a single 'D' room. The hotel is located on a quiet street, just a short walk away from the new south exit of shibuya station.. Exited through the main exit and ended up walking about 10mins to the hotel. Would recommend the hotel if you would like it to be near to where the main shopping street (about 5 mins walk) is without the disturbance of traffic and street noise. If you are taking the Narita Express(NEX) to Narita Airport, this would be a good place to consider as the station is just below the new south exit of shibuya station. Although the towels are changed everyday, bed making services and sheet changing services are not included. Nevertheless, the breakfast menu(5 set menus) at the restaurant (jonathan's) serves delicious toast.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uki_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
679 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
#15 of 28 in Shibuya
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Hotel Mets Shibuya
Hotel Mets Shibuya
#14 of 28 in Shibuya
194 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
327 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi

Property: Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi
Address: 3-26-21 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-Minamiguchi Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing