We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmm Tonkatsu”

Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya
Ranked #17 of 7,470 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Description: We serve Fried pork cutlet,as a healthy dish, using carefully selected ingredients. Set menu includes all-you-can-eat"sliced cabbage, miso soup, rice, and pickles".
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmm Tonkatsu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Tucked away within 3 floors of solid restaurants in the Takashimaya Times Square, this place is solid. Fast, friendly, efficient service. Great food, it’s a win. Totally approachable if your lacking any Japanese skills. I enjoyed sitting at the counter watching them send out cutlet after cutlet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirkstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious but you might have to wait...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent tonkatsu and tempura. Unlimited rice, soup and cabbage. Two different kinds of tea served. A choice of delicious sauces. Good food, good service, good value.

Staff know conversational English so we could even explain that we needed not hot-not ice cold but just normal water...Amongst the few places in japan where we did not see a buzzer on our table so you had to raise your hands to get the staff to come to you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank INSUKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
353 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Delicious Kyoto-Style Tonkatsu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Katsukura, on the 14th floor of Takashimaya Times Square, is a Kyoto-style tonkatsu restaurant. I had seasonal vegetables wrapped in yuba, breaded and then deep fried, and fillet tonkatsu. The set came with barley rice, miso soup, and cabbage, which were all unlimited, and a choice of tofu or pickles. While I ordered the tofu, I also had a chance to taste the pickles - they were very good. The yuzu (citron) dressing led me to having two more servings of cabbage. We were given sesame seeds in a suribachi (mortar), along with a wooden pestle. To this, we could add a choice of two kinds of sauce: a sweet tonkatsu sauce, and a darker, slightly thicker sauce; both were delicious. The service was excellent and an English menu was available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pagesixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“One of my choice restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We reached at 7pm on a week night and was lucky to be seated immediately. A long line formed right after we were seated. Seeing that we were laden with shopping bags, the restaurant manager offered to take our bags and handed us a tag.

We ordered 2 sets of pork katsu and crab croquette and they were excellent! You can taste the crab meat in the creamy croquette. Before our meals were served, our server explained the various sauces to us and also showed us how to grind our own sesame.

Barley rice, cabbage and miso soup are refillable and I especially miss the yuzu sauce that goes with the cabbage!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back for the 2nd time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Quality pork cutlets served with unlimited barley rice, cabbage salad and unlimited japanese pickles or tofu.

They have english menu, staff can speak and understand english.. one was able to teach us how to order cold or warm water
And explain the contents of the table.condiments.

Located in the 14th floor of Takashiyama Times square shinjuku.They seem to be open until 11pm.. pretty long queue on meal hours 12noon and 7pm

Helpful?
1 Thank PatGan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya also viewed

 

Been to Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing