We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tonkatsu for a reasonable price”

Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya
Ranked #17 of 7,494 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Description: We serve Fried pork cutlet,as a healthy dish, using carefully selected ingredients. Set menu includes all-you-can-eat"sliced cabbage, miso soup, rice, and pickles".
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Tonkatsu for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Katsukura is on the 14th floor of the Takashimaya department store. They have an English menu, but the waiters speak limited English. The restaurant specializes in tonkatsu (fried pork cutlets). They serve great sides with the pork, pickled veggies, rice, and a variety of sauces. This was our first meal upon arrival in Tokyo and it was a great way to kick off our vacation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    67
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Really approachable. Friendly staff. 50$ for 2 Great food. We were the only westerners in the restaurant. They have an english menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marieequebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tender and moist pork tonkatsu”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The food here was great value. The pork tonkatsu was crisp on the outside, tender and moist on the inside. Prior to food arriving, a bowl of sesame seeds were provided and I was asked to grind them and mix with the sauce (sweet or spicy) of my choice. English menus were available and the staff spoke adequate English. Service was prompt with only a short wait for the food. The fried ice-cream was different, with a chewy batter like mochi.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonTravelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service, great prices and great atmosphere. We arrived at 8:30pm and seated in 5 minutes. Highly recommended if you love katsu.

Helpful?
Thank Roch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmm Tonkatsu”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Tucked away within 3 floors of solid restaurants in the Takashimaya Times Square, this place is solid. Fast, friendly, efficient service. Great food, it’s a win. Totally approachable if your lacking any Japanese skills. I enjoyed sitting at the counter watching them send out cutlet after cutlet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirkstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya also viewed

 

Been to Katsukura Shinjuku Takashimaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing