We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury-type accommodations perfect for a savvy solo traveler!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Good location. Convenient spot not too far from Shibuya station. Since Tokyo is already really expensive, Hotel Shibuya is a great choice for a comfortable, clean and luxury-type hotel that is also affordable. A lot of the reviews I read seemed to highlight how small the room was but for a solo traveler, I felt it was the perfect size. Relatively small for a typical hotel room but when you're in Tokyo, you should be out exploring instead of hanging out in the hotel room. A single bed and bathroom is all you need.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Denelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. It's within walking distance of everything you'll want to explore in Shibuya but it's set a few streets back from the main shopping streets so there's not too much noise. The hotel is stylish and clean. The staff didn't speak a lot of English (why should they) but they were friendly and professional. I stayed in a double room with a friend and we had a double bed each with a decent-sized full bathroom. The room was fairly compact but we didn't have a lot of luggage so didn't notice too much. The bed was really comfortable - and made getting over the jetlag incredibly easy. The room rate was very reasonable for the area too. I would definitely stay here again - based on location, cost and comfort

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idlebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The rooms are absolutely tiny - but that's Japan for you. They make up for this by being very comfortable, clean, modern and stylish. If you have a lot of luggage, you may want to upgrade to a bigger room. I would stay here again, the location is also fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location and does not cost an arm and a leg so it is ideal for a few days in and around Shibuya. Clean rooms, nicely finished, quite basic overall but as a place to sleep it does the job nicely.

Might be a bit small for couples but for one person it worked very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herriotcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I just checked out of this hotel today after 4-nights' stay.
People: this hotel is geared towards Japanese travelers, so if you are not willing to adapt to the Japanese way, don't stay here. After all, a Japanese traveler would not expect the staff at an American hotel to speak their language. The staff do speak some English, but it depends on who, and being Japanese, they are reserved and may appear unwilling to help. They do try to accommodate as best as they can -- if you ask.
I am thankful to past reviewers for pointing the way to this hotel. Really, in Tokyo this is a gem of a find. The location is ideal. I am not the slickest when it comes to finding my ways around in a strange city, but the location is so great that I was able to get around easily.
I will not repeat what others have already said, but -- while the memory is still fresh -- let me add a few things that may be helpful to others.
For my laptop, the ethernet connection works better than the wifi.
The Starbucks across the street has a sausage croissant that's quite delicious - ask for it to be warmed. This shop opens at 7AM on weekdays and 7:30 on weekend.
There is a 魚民(Fish people) restaurant near the hotel, an Itzakaya on a basement floor that serves quite a range of food, including sushi and grilled food. You get to sit in your own little room, and a choice of smoking or non-smoking.
The Denny's on the Park Road (Goen Dori) on the way to Yoyogi Park serves an edible American style breakfast (scrambled eggs with bacon or sausage). If you want, cross the street and eat at the Tobu Hotel, they serve a breakfast buffet that has both Western and Japanese food.
I stayed on the 6th floor, and the cleaning there is something that in my humble opinion can be improved. It seems that they assume no one will be around from 11 through 3, when they do the cleaning. And they seem to follow a strict schedule so don't expect them to clean your room immediately just because they see you walk out of your room. Also, the hallway is strewn with cleaning equipment and towels and sheets during the cleaning - very messy.
There is practically NO storage space except for a tiny and narrow closet. No drawers at all and minimal shelf space. I did find that difficult to adapt.
The window covering is very efficient - two layers of screens, the outer layer, when fully lowered, blacks out the room completely.
I appreciate the built-in clothesline in the bathroom - it allowed me to wash much by hand. And the washing machines in the basement are a wonder - you just put the clothes in and the machine does the cleaning and drying -- no soap required; however it does take 2 hours for the cycle to complete, during which the machine door would not open.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Unizo hotel in Shibuya has a nice lobby, very nice and modern. I was in a double room - ie I had a pretty big bed. The bed is very comfortable, the room clean, good bathroom. It is a little on the small side with the double bed (even by Tokyo standards) and my only little gripe was that my room had no wardrobe space at all. A part from that all good, air purifier, Tto toilet, quiet aircon, quiet room despite being in the middle of Shibuya, I would go back and it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Don't have a negative thing to stay about this hotel. I stayed on the "women only" floor while traveling solo in Japan. Yes, the rooms are small -- this is Tokyo, where real estate is at a premium. I live in NYC, so I'm used to it.

The single room worked like a well-tuned Swiss Army knife -- the wall unit housed a TV, a desk, and a closet, in an amazingly minimal amount of space. Gotta love that Japanese design and ingenuity!

Room had a tea kettle and powdered green tea to make in the mornings and featured a fridge that I was able to use to keep yogurt and fruit I would by at the supermarket to eat for breakfast in the morning (for some reason there is no such thing as breakfast or brunch in Japan -- most restaurants don't open until 11am for lunch) -- which was essential, as I often wanted to start early in the day to head to see whatever I was doing that day.

Bathroom was tiny, but again, very efficient in terms of use of space. Had very nice bath soap and lotions.

Again, not that much space in the rooms, but thanks to the long hallway opposite the bathroom, had a big enough space for me to do in-room yoga next to the mirror! Super-cool way to turn on/off the lights -- just drop your room key in the holder by the door! Awesome! Other nice touches were the ring/watch holder on the nightstand, an light controls right by the bed.

Found the floor to be quiet, hardly ever heard anyone else.

I had a Japanese visitor's SIM card delivered to the front desk, and had no problems picking it up from the front desk.

Out of all of the places I stayed in Japan, this was amongst my favorite -- cannot beat the location, and the rates are decent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank mmwwmmww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
624 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 29 in Shibuya
349 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
712 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya

Address: 4-3 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Price Range: £81 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing