We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge saved the day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great concierge saved the day!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our daughter, age 23, was on her first solo trip overseas earlier this year. Due to some serious miscommunications upon arrival in another part of Tokyo, she found herself urgently needing a safe, secure, and convenient hotel room.
The concierge at Dormy Inn, Paul Arnold, aka Asano, saved the day! He not only communicated with us in the USA several times, prior to her arrival at the Dormy, but he also arranged her taxi to alleviate a very confusing situation on the other side of town. Once at the Dormy, she was assisted many times by this excellent hotel employee, over the four weeks she stayed there.
My daughter loved the location, and its proximity to shops and restaurants.
Back home, we were very relieved that all was well, once she reached the Dormy Inn.
Thank you, Asano!
- - -
Phone tip: through Vonage, you can set up a local number in Tokyo (or other locations), which will allow your traveler to call you back home, as a local call at no cost, while they are overseas. Cost is approximately $15 per month. Perfect for nervous parents!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aybceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    214
    34
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
172
124
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a nine-night stay in Tokyo. Dormy Inn was our home base. To start, the location—sandwiched between Harajuku and Shibuya, and accessible via three subway stations and eight lines—was ideal. It's a bit of a hike (10- to 15-minute walk) to the Shibuya station, which is the one we used most often, but it's located just off a thoroughfare with plenty of interesting stores. For U.S. travelers hoping to use their debit card to withdraw money at ATMs, there's a 7-Eleven about ten minutes from the hotel.

The rooms, though tiny (aren't they all in Japan?), were clean and well-kept. The shower was hot and the water pressure good, and the bed super-comfy. There are complimentary bike rentals and a spa on the second floor, though we didn't use either. There's also a free breakfast each morning—exciting at first because there's so much to eat, but tiresome after a few days since they don't really mix up the menu.

The concierge speaks fine English and was super helpful, printing out maps, answering all of our questions, making recommendations, and so forth.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in or near the Shibuya area (a great neighborhood, btw—colorful and full of lively bars and restaurants).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location in Shibuya which is near to both bara and shopping and the Narita express stops here as well. As always rooms are very small and our double bed was almost a single one, but the rooms are new, well kept and generally good value. Breakfast is included (served as a semi buffet, where soup and warm sandwich is served on tray and a small selection of sallad, sandwich, yogurts, breads and muesli is offered buffet style) and there is a complimentary noodle soup each evening in the restaurant. There are 24 hours spa facilities and free wifi in the entire hotel.

In my opinion a perfect hotel if you anyway plan to spend most of your time outside the hotel, but if you will spend much time on your room, you should probably go for something w more spacious rooms.

For those very sensitive to noise, note that there are train tracks outside and ask for a room not facing the tracks. That said, our room was facing the tracks and we were never bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bjorn_in_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

2nd Dormy Inn I've stayed in in Japan. Like most chains they are fairly identical but travelodge and Premier Inn could learn a thing or two from these guys. Sure, the rooms are fairly small but they are so well equipped it doesn't matter. Loads of toiletries, free Internet, fridge, big widescreen TV, really comfortable bed, free onsen ( spa), free ramen (noodles) in the evening, vending machines for drinks and beer etc, I could go on. Has really been a pleasure staying in these hotels, highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at dormy inn, great location, smart, clean and comfortable with a few extras that make this place a real winner!!

Relatively easy to find from Shibuya main station, it`s located in a perfect place between Harajuka and shibuya. Night life, shopping and restaurants are all in short walking distances!

The hotel is very welcoming with friendly staff, we arrived at around 11am and although check in is not until 3pm the concierge called up and made our room a priority (we were in the room by 12).

Breakfast is pretty decent with a big selection to choose from. The hotel also provides a nightly Soba noodles snack which is welcomed if you are feeling peckish before bed time. Coffee is also freely available all day.

The hotel has a great relaxing Onsen which is free to use - highly recommend using this to help with the de-stress of travelling/jet-lag.

Additionals such as pc@s to utilise, wifi, vending machines & microwaves are all available. Plus you can hire Cycles to view the local area if you are feeling energetic!

The rooms are a little small but very comfortable and cleaned daily!

I`ll be returning to dormy inn next time i am in tokyo!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A great location half way in between Shibuya & Harajuku. Could be a bit hard to locate for first time Tokyo visitors so make sure to double check your map beforehand.
The Onsen & Sauna are fantastic, a great way to unwind after a big day of walking around the city. Both wifi & ethernet access in the rooms at a decent speed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscoNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We Stayed at Dormy Inn for five nights in early September. We flew into Haneda airport late at night ( after the last bus and train) and caught a taxi to the hotel, I think it cost close to $100, which is a lot considering we were only in the taxi for 20 mins but we were exhausted after traveling for two days so didn't really care!

The hotel is hard to find as it's located in an alleyway, and I recommend that you have the address of the hotel on paper so the taxi driver can put it in his GPS. Taxis were lovely and clean and you don't have to worry about getting scammed like in other parts of Asia! The doors in the back of the taxi open automatically, pretty amazing!

We arrived very early in the morning and I was a bit worried about the reception not being open. I had emailed them and they didn't reply so I was a tad worried as I had heard a lot of smaller hotels close around midnight. However everything at check-in ran smoothly and the staff were friendly.

The room was tiny! And I had a little chuckle when I first saw it, I had heard that Japanese hotel rooms were small but I didn't really understand how small! The room was very clean and tidy. It was small but still had all the amenities that we needed, and after a while I started thinking that we didn't really need anymore space! The room was like a cabin on a boat, that sort of size. The bed was small but my partner, being 6ft4 was still able to sleep comfortably. We could still hear the train passing but that stopped around midnight and then after that everything was silent. The rooms looked like they had been recently renovated.

Breakfast was ok, I liked the soups and there was fresh fruit, juices and bakery items to choose from. There was also free noodles to have at night time which was a nice gesture.

The hotel is located between Shibuya and Harajaku and both stations are within walking distance, about 10-15 mins walk to both, in the opposite direction. I recommend that you bring along good walking shoes because although the stations make everything close, you still walk and walk! Our legs/ feet were exhausted every night!

The staff were polite and spoke good English, some better than others, but we were always able to communicate our messages. Our stay wasn't as personal as other small hotel stays. They never really asked us where we had been that day, or suggested places to visit.. However they would greet you upon arriving and were polite and smiley. Maybe that is just part of the Japanese culture being quiet and shy???

There is a family mart across the road so that was good to get snacks and other items.

I would recommend this hotel to others, it's very clean, polite staff and good location. I think next time I visit Tokyo I would want to stay right next to a station, I was shopping like crazy so my legs and feet were so sore so I would definitely want to cut out the walk to the station!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Property: Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya 150-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00 4.2nd Floor communal bath with ultra soft.5.Japanese and Western buffet at 1st-floor 6:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.(It takes JPY 1,500) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing