We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel near Harajuku/Shibuya!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is clean, tidy and has quite a few facilities. There are washing machines and bathing facilities. It is located between Harajuku and Shibuya stations, with a 5-10 minute walk to either.

Very central location but it can feel far if you are carrying luggage around upon arrival. There is a shuttle bus every half hour in the morning from the hotel to Shibuya station.

One thing to be prepared for is the hotel room size. We were in a double room which was about 20 sqm in size, the Queen room is a bit bigger. Not much room inside after laying your luggage down but given it is Tokyo you won't be spending much time at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice location a 10-15 minutes walk from Shibuya station. Walk down left hand side of Meiji Dori street and look for the sign on a building when to turn left. You are close to Harajuku area and cat street which in my opinion is nicer than Shibuya.
The hotel has small, but super clean rooms. Good breakfast with both western style and Japanese buffet. Complimentary noodles as a late night snack. Also the public bath (onsen) is nice. Hot water and cold water bath plus sauna. Nice after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed at a Dormy Inn at Kurashiki 2 years ago and are now hooked on this chain of hotels.

We stayed here for 5 days visiting family and friends, We love the communal bath and sauna which is immaculately clean and so relaxing after a day walking around Tokyo. Breakfast is very good, eggs cooked in front of you plus so much extra to choose from both Western and Japanese style. It's included in the tariff, as is a bowl of ramen after 9.30pm.

Great location. Walking distance to Harajuku, Omotesando, and Shibuya. Shinjuku is just 4 stops away by bus. Meiji Jingumae subway stop 5 mins away. Although the hotel is right by the JR Yamate Line, you don't hear a thing, the double glazed windows meant we always over slept! The rooms are more spacious than the average business hotel as was the bathroom. We were in a queen bed room.

Service is impeccable with several staff speaking good Englis

All other details have been covered by previous reviewers.

A well-kept secret! Even my Tokyo friends did not know about it and were impressed.

Room Tip: :Some rooms on Level 5 would have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbaradesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very good hotel more than i expected for the price really;

The room is very sufficient, little bit too small for my liking but did't feel cramped with me and my partner there. Given sleepers and pyjama's which was a nice touch something I could get changed into after my shower and everyone in hotels walks around in them. Bed very comfy and get in early at the 2nd floor for a large selection of pillows. (your room comes with two standard ones)

Food was excellent, breakfast included which there was a western and Japanese breakfast which lots of fruits aswell. Set us both up for the day, at night they offered ramen noodles aswell which we both found tasty.

The Spa was excellent and was great it was included in the price, we spent nearly every night in there. Options to have massages as an extra.

This hotel lost a star for me beacuse it didn't have more of a night time menu, no safe in the room(but am I being paranoid about my culture, as felt very safe in japan) also the location was a bit tricky to find at first as its down an alley way.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and can speak good enough English to cater. You won't regret staying here

Room Tip: Room away from the tracks preferably if your really sensitive to sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchellh865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed just under a week in Tokyo, 4 nights in a much more expensive hotel (with an upgraded room which would be 3x the cost of the Dormy Inn per night) and ended up 1 night at the Dormy Inn near the end of our trip.

That being said… the Dormy Inn beat the other hotel hands down on quite a few factors, and in hindsight, would have very happily stayed there the whole week.

The goods:

- Location was fantastic, as many have mentioned, between Shibuya and Harajuku. Tons of shopping, restaurants and bars literally right outside the hotel. It's a bit further from the nearest station (Shibuya) - approx. 10 min walk - but lots to see on the way.

- Free wifi which works great - as I've mentioned in a previous post, wifi at the hotel is great, but HIGHLY recommend a personal wifi device, less than $10 US per day and makes a world of different in finding restaurants, getting around on transit, finding things to do. A must-have if you don't speak/understand Japanese.

- Free Breakfast - both western and japanese options. Average food, what you would expect being free.

- Spa/Onsen, unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to check out the onsen but looked lovely.

- Very friendly, helpful staff. Helped us book some reservations and a show.

Room was a bit on the small side (as expected being in Japan and for the price) - and compared to the other hotel. However, bed was comfy, it was super clean, functional and you get free bottled water which is all you really need in a city like Tokyo where you'll spend VERY little time in the room.

Would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very happy with my stay here. Recommended for a mid-budget traveller placing high priorities on modern decor, comfort and location.

Location (8/10) - Located between Harajuku and Shibuya areas, walkable distances to both. Very convenient if you plan to focus more on these two areas on your trip (I recommend to do so) or if you are planning on doing much shopping.

Downsides: About 10 minutes walk from the nearest underground station. Not straighforward to find as it is off the main street (Meiji Dori). We ended up taking a cab to and from the hotel when carrying our luggages.

Service (8/10) - Very pleasant English speaking staff.

Sleep quality (9/10) - There is a pillow library where you can borrow different types of pillows to suit your preferences. Beds are comfortable. Pyjamas are provided.

Rooms (8/10) - Modern with a "new" feel. Bed and bath rooms felt large (by Tokyo standards. They are still small relative to other cities).

Public bath (7/10) - A great time saver as multiple people in your room can shower at one time. Males and females are seperated. Has a clean and modern feel, e.g. less wood and more tiles. There are individual booths for you to apply soap and rinse (no doors, just three walls around you), which was better for privacy than a row of showers as is the usual case. Intriguingly lemons were liberally placed floating in the large communal bath, not sure what they were for. Unfortunately there was a horde of shouting and splashing school children using the public bath during my stay.

Cleanliness (9/10) - Rooms and public baths were very clean.

Food (7/10) - Breakfast was average, e.g. rice, miso soup, cereals, breads. Late night noodles are served free in the lobby / breakfast area.

Value (7/10) - Slightly higher than average for a us (young, working couple), but we did feel it was "worth it" as it was at the end of our trip and we were quite tired. The sleep quality, overall comfort and convenient location helped re-energise us.

Room Tip: A noisy school trip stayed here during our stay. Worthwhile checking with hotel if any school trips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great location - 10 minute walk from Shibuyu station. Lots of shopping, restaurants etc near hotel. Rooms small but you won't spend to much time in them as there is plenty to do and see outdoors. Breakfast is nice. Place is clean and service was passable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
626 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 29 in Shibuya
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya 150-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £92 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00 4.2nd Floor communal bath with ultra soft water.5.Japanese and Western buffet at 1st-floor 6:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.(It takes JPY 1,500) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing