We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hidden hotel in shibuya!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel and would have stayed more nights if we hadn't arranged something else! Staff were friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough to help, the free noodles we wish we'd had and the wifi was super quick. Will stay again next time we're in shibuya!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Dormy Inn, while a tad more expensive than other hotels, was a surprisingly good value. Here's some of the awesome:
- Rooms are bigger than other value hotels (like the Sunroute)
- Rooms are newer and updated
- Unit bathroom (all in one) is updated and more spacious than other comparable hotels
- Free shuttle to Shibuya station every half an hour
- Free in-hotel onsen!
- Free late night ramen snack service
- Perfect location in Harajuku/Shibuya, it's a few minutes walking to the best shopping
- Efficient and helpful staff including a Canadian expat who spoke English fluently
- Fast wifi (20mbps up and down)

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
7  Thank gregtakayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location, being close to Shibuya and Harajuku, but just off a quiet main road, which meant it was quiet. The JR train line runs right behind the hotel, however don't let this put you off, as it is very quiet (I am a light sleeper).

The room is small by western standards and we struggled to find room on the floor to lay down both our medium sized suitcases and not trip over them in the dark. We hardly spent any time in the room, so the size was not an issue and was very very clean and comfortable.

The onsen is absolutely wonderful and would highly recommend giving it a go just once. I went at about 9:30pm and was there alone. The shampoo, conditioner and soap were of high quality too.

The staff were very helpful and held our bags before check in time so we could explore and also after check out, before heading to the airport. The western breakfast is good, however there was no cereal.

I would recommend taking the Hachiko exit if arriving by train at Shibuya station. This will put you right onto the busy intersection, where there are many taxis. A taxi to the hotel cost 730 Yen, and after the initial journey, I was able to easily find my way back to the Shibuya crossing area. There is a shuttle bus supplied by the hotel to Shibuya station in the mornings- reservation essential.

Would recommend this hotel and will stay again if I find myself back in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is definitely a hidden gem in Shibuya! Its located about 15 mins walk from Shibuya train station. Its an easy walk. The area is out of the hustle and bustle station centre in a quiet neighbourhood. Breakfast in the morning serves until 10am with both western and Japanese style and there's an indoor hot spring on the second floor. Receptionists are super friendly and helpful. It's relatively cheaper than other hotels near the station. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The thing is, there aren't any hotels in Harajuku. There are many in Shibuya, which Harajuku belongs to...but none of the are that near of Omotesando. Therefore it is very convenient for shopping. And Harajuku is the shopping mecca of Japan. Also you only walk 5 mins. to JR Harajuku and about 5-10 to Shibuya-eki. Rooms are okay, actually bigger than I would've expected. Absolutely okay. Hotel itself is a bit hidden from the main street, but easily accessable. Breakfast was okay, nothing too fancy, but nice to have. Value in our case was not really that great, just booked the day before arrival, was quite difficult to get a decent place to stay in Tokyo last minute. Would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xerobasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is clean, tidy and has quite a few facilities. There are washing machines and bathing facilities. It is located between Harajuku and Shibuya stations, with a 5-10 minute walk to either.

Very central location but it can feel far if you are carrying luggage around upon arrival. There is a shuttle bus every half hour in the morning from the hotel to Shibuya station.

One thing to be prepared for is the hotel room size. We were in a double room which was about 20 sqm in size, the Queen room is a bit bigger. Not much room inside after laying your luggage down but given it is Tokyo you won't be spending much time at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice location a 10-15 minutes walk from Shibuya station. Walk down left hand side of Meiji Dori street and look for the sign on a building when to turn left. You are close to Harajuku area and cat street which in my opinion is nicer than Shibuya.
The hotel has small, but super clean rooms. Good breakfast with both western style and Japanese buffet. Complimentary noodles as a late night snack. Also the public bath (onsen) is nice. Hot water and cold water bath plus sauna. Nice after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
623 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya 150-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £95 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00 4.2nd Floor communal bath with ultra soft water.5.Japanese and Western buffet at 1st-floor 6:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.(It takes JPY 1,500) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing