We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerulean Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spend the $$ and try this place out, rooms are quality in both finish and space. Beds were great and very quiet all round. Great views from all sides and everyone knows about the location right? Well its central to all Shibuya has to offer. I'll go back there again for sure

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaparelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
There are newer reviews for Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed at the Cerulean for one week while on a business trip and found the hotel to be a very good hotel. The huge lobby was a great place to start the day by arranging meet ups there - then the walk to the train station in Shibuya is just minutes away. The breakfast was a bit pricey but very good and the hotel staff was excellent in helping. We experienced several earthquakes over 5 and I felt safe in the modern and quiet building. The beds were wonderful (if you like a hard bed) and the bathtubs are huge. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Make your booking early as this can keep your pricing down considerably. I wouldn't exactly say that the Cerulean has any personality or soul, its a typical business/leisure hotel. You pay for what you get. The rooms are clean, spacious enough and if you can secure a high level floor, some spectacular views.

Shibuya can keep you busy for a couple days, so the location is key. You can also hop on the JR lines at Shibuya station to take you elsewhere when needed.

They have a great top floor bar, but I must admit they run it like a prison. I felt more unwelcome there, than any other place in Japan. They are purely concerned about making money up there and the hotel guests have no preferential treatment in getting nice tables without a cover charge to sit down.

I do understand why they want to charge, but for hotel guests, there should be some other way. I will never drink on that level again.

All in all. A good hotel with decent rates.

Room Tip: The higher up you can get, the better views!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared_C_OBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a great choice for a first trip to Tokyo as it is relatively easy to find when arriving late from a long haul flight. We were able to find our way there based on comments from other TA reviewers. It is close to eveything that Shibuya has to offer and is only 5 mins walk to the train station over a pedestrian overpass. Our room was on the 32nd floor with great views over the city and the heart of Shibuya. It was spacious, quiet and smartly decorated. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath/shower compartment. It was perfect for relaxing and sleeping after a day out sightseeing in the stifling heat. We would have liked better teamaking facilities in our room; small handleless cups, japanese tea and a kettle that never quite got the water hot enough.The buffet breakfast was better value than the set breakfast but we felt it was expensive and quite ordinary compared to other places we stayed at in Japan with a poor selection of Japanese goodies. This may be a reflection of the clientele in that they are trying to cover all bases with breakfast preferences. We went up to Level 40 for drinks one night and I had what must be the worlds smallest strawberry daiquiri. We were also charged Y800 each to sit by the window. Great views and ambience but it comes at a price! Service was efficient and we were upgraded to a club room on a higher level on the other side of the building when we returned for two more nights at the end of our stay in Japan; a nice touch. Th foyer and lobby lounge however was cavernous and rather soul less in contrast to all the other spaces in this hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is right outside the heart of Shibuya and just a quick walk to Shibuya Train Station. The night life and shopping in Shibuya is great, plus it is extremely easy to get around anywhere you want to go in Tokyo with a quick walk to the Shibuya Train Station. The price was a bit on the high side compared to other hotels, but I stayed here on a recommendation of a friend and have been very happy.

Room Tip: I stayed in a sky room on the 23rd floor facing towards Tokyo tower.. great views of the city below...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The Narita Express train can whisk you directly from the airport terminals to Shibuya station in about an hour and a quarter. I am amazed that the hotel doesn't offer simple walking directions from the station though (Leave the station at the WEST exit, walk over the pedestrian walkway and the hotel is 75 metres up the road - its the large tower looking to your left when you exit the main Shibuya station complex). This being my first visit to Tokyo, I left by mistake at the new south entrance of this very large station and spent some time walking up and down a road in the dark and sleet trying to find the hotel!

The hotel rooms are a good size and the higher up you go the better the view. Mount Fuji is visible in the distance. Good breakfast buffet - both Japanese and Western dishes. The restaurants were very good, especially the Italian. Large indoor pool with saunas and jacuzzi. As mentioned by other TA reviewers, you do pay extra for use of the spa, internet etc. unless paying to be on the executive level.

This is very much a business hotel and quiet therefore at the weekends.

Room Tip: Go as high as your budget allows.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed here for a week on business. I needed a hotel where the rooms were comfortable to work in for half a day each day, but with business support and convenient to the Ginza line of the subway. This was a superb answer. I had a King room on level 32. Colleagues in corner rooms were in slightly larger spaces. It is worth seeing if you can get a room facing Mount Fuji, although variable weather and poor visibility makes sightings rare.

The room was very comfortable and well set up for a business traveller (and large enough to avoid cabin fever). Rooms in the nearby Excel hotel are totally unsuited to work in. The guest services staff were excellent. Shibuya station is very close. The hotel itself is well located in Shibuya. The ground floor restaurant and bar were handy for meetings and the food was fine (although lovers of good italian espresso will be disappointed, but will at least survive!).

The curiously named "Airport Limosine" Bus service offers comfortable, reasonably priced transfers from hotel door to Narita.

While there I had a reasonable meal in Kanetanaka-so, the inhouse Japanese restaurant. Sashimi was delightful and well presented. A bamboo rice cleverly evoked simple rural fare. Unfortunately the tempura batter was falling apart and oily.

A meal at the Coucagno on the 40th floor was superb (I am unsure whether it still retains its Michelin hat, but would not be surprised if it does).

Perhaps the most extraordinary act of service I have ever seen in a hotel occurred at check out. Rushing, I dropped my house keys on the floor as I left my room. I was just boarding the airport bus a few minutes later when front of house ran up to me and returned them. For housekeeping to be in the room, see them and for me to be located and identified in the space of 5 minutes was simply remarkable. It was consistent with the whole tone of the establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,409 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Address: 26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £195 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Hotel Tokyu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing