We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great views, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great views, excellent staff”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a five star hotel - beautiful entrances, fabulous rooms (albeit small) and helpful staff all in one great location - Shinjuku. The hotel itself is located 2 minutes from the main JR station and right next to restaurants, shopping and other activities. The room we had (double) had an enormous picture window looking out over Tokyo which was great to wake up to and the bed was extremely comfortable but the pillows were hard. Amenities were pleasant (shower/bath) and our level was silent, perfect for a great sleep. Our room had recently been refurbished with modern and muted tones. An English language paper (The Japan Times) was delivered each morning to our door. The location was superb as all train lines go through Shinjuku and if you didn't feel like heading out for the night, restuarants were located within the building (although the food is so great everywhere in Japan we went out every night!). The staff were helpful and pleasant - I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the city, not facing the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandragfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    705
    98
    14
    9
See reviews for
537
714
200
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in mid Jan 2014. We booked Twin Room via Travel agent. The agent has helped us to request double bed. However, the front desk lady advised us if we would like to have double bed, we need to book double room instead of twin room. She said twin room meaning two beds. Finally, she asked us to upgrade to newly decorated double room by paying extra HK$200 a night. However, since the rooms are fully booked, we can only upgrade our room in the last two night. Indeed, my travel agent told me that they only provide twin room for selection at the time of booking. I don't know what wrong...

The size of the standard room and the newly decorated room is same. Indeed, I can't sleep well in both the standard room and newly decorated room due to the poor pillow and mattress quality.

The choices of breakfast is limited too. I pay around HK$1700 a night for the standard twin room but I don't expect such quality. Anyway, I think I will not choose this hotel again in Tokyo.

Travel blog: workheartplayheart.blogspot.com

Room Tip: Their twin room meaning two bed. If you would like to have 1 kind-size bed, pls book double room ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our first trip to Japan September 2012, we ended up living in this hotel for a week. Sure it's a bit pricey, but worth the money! Nice big (as they can be in Tokyo) rooms, very clean, and we had a really nice view from our room on the 28th floor. Nice and helpful staff if you are a bit lost, in the hotel OR need to know the way through the city. And a little shop, where you can buy soft drinks, snacks etc. you can store it your fridge in your room.
It lays in the central Shinjuku, really close to the stations, electric street. Lots off small shops where you can buy your food. And if it goes all wrong, McDonald's is right around the corner.

Note: If you are going to travel further, they have a service you can pay a small fee for in the shop. Trains in japan are not good with big travel bags. You fill a form from where your next hotel is, and they will send it for you. Our bags where waiting for us the next day when we arrived at our hotel in Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our second stay and our only disappointment was skimping on the room. Previously we stayed in the Panoramic King which was spectacular. This time we opted for a Scenic King and were a little let down because we had only one amazing window to view Tokyo, not two. Classy but not pretentious.

Room Tip: Love this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavenSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights, and we couldn`t have chosen a better location. Located right next to the Shinjuku Station, its a perfect place to explore Tokyo, as this is one of the main stations of the city. The rooms are really spacious for Tokyo standards, the decor is a little bit dated but nothing that would compromise the quality of the hotel. The only downside is abut the poor english spoken by the staff, which made it really difficult to ask for information.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you want the high floor hotel experience in Tokyo this is a great option. Nice bar on the 20th floor. Our room was on the 34th floor with great views. Good services nice rooms that are in the process of being updated. Great location near Shinjuku station and the fact that the hotel has an entrance on Shinjuku terrace is also nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I've stayed at the Southern Tower twice now, the proximity to Shinjuku Station makes it a great starting point to any Tokyo adventure. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and relatively spacious, and the views.. oh my god, the views...

The Hotel actually starts on the 30th floor of the building, so every guest room is above the 33rd floor and offers a breathtaking view of Tokyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Property: Hotel Century Southern Tower
Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Century Southern Tower, Shinjuku Tokyo Convenient Access Just 3 minute walk from the South exit of SHINJUKU Station. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes. Take the glass elevator from the 1st floor foyer or 2nd floor Southern Terrace entrances up to the main lobby on the 20th floor, where we will introduce you to our selection of comfortable guest rooms. This Tokyo business hotel occupies the 19th through 35th floors. Main Lobby and reception desk are on the 20th floor. 375 guests rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor and offer spectacular views of the city. We have no the Porter and Room Services. However we provide self-service luggage carts instead of the bell service or porters, vending machines on each floor and a lobby shop instead of Room Service, and also compact refrigerators in each room that guests can stock with items of their choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Odigeo, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing