We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location & Value For Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Location & Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is my third or fourth time visiting the Shibuya Excel. I must reiterate what I have said before, this is the best location you could possibly find. Located just right above the train station and RIGHT at the world famous intersection, one could not possibly ask for more. However, you shouldn't be expecting such a massive high-end room. The rooms are of modest size for Japanese hotel standards and are very clean so I wouldn't complain. The staffs have a fine level of communicational English and although I do not know how good the hotel restaurant is, if you go to the 4th floor you'll see a long queue for a very very famous sushi place which is supposed to be really really good. Word of advice, take this hotel and none else! You'll get to walk a lot in Tokyo, and being in this hotel would probably save A LOT of that walking to the train station!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papongza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    512
    131
    22
    16
See reviews for
264
225
131
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 days for a business trip, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The wifi was free, and the rooms were decent size. The staff was always very helpful, even though I didn't speak Japanese, they would get someone right away who could speak English. There were so many good restaurants and places to go within walking distance and all my meetings were a short cab ride away. The beds were comfortable as well. I would definitely stay again on my next trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during my trip to Tokyo. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Shibuya and also have a direct exit from Shibuya station (through Mark City dept store). Only a 3 minute walk to the famous 109 building and also overlooks the scramble intersection. It's just nice to stay in such a centrally located hotel and not to worry about being too tired after shopping the entire day in shibuya.

I stayed on the 7th floor and in a twin bedroom. The room size is very good to japanese standards, clean and comfortable. however try to avoid staying on the 7th floor because the billboards are RIGHT outside your window which lights up throughout the entire night and even the curtains won't help (if you're a person who needs to sleep in absolute darkness like myself).

Room Tip: don't choose the 7th floor, bright billboards light up during the entire night. go higher up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here during my Tokyo trip.

Located in the Shibuya Mark City building. Department stores/restaurants/metro are located on lower floors.

Clean room, great views (view of the Crossing!). Shibuya station is right there. Room comes with hair dryer, toothbrush, razor, shaving cream, amongst other things.

Front desk speaks English and were very helpful in booking restaurant reservations for me as I cannot speak much Japanese.

To get here from Narita Airport - after baggage claim walk directly out and there should be signs for "Airport Limo/Bus" - get a ticket for Shibuya Excel (3000 yen) and then proceed directly outside (gate should be right in front of you). My flight landed during rush hour so the bus ride was approximately an hour and a half.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niccimichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of Shibuya and very near the Shibuya station that will take you to all places in Tokyo very easy. The hotel itself is a high-rise so if possible get yourself a room high up from where you will have amazing views. The lobby is on third floor and you can access the hotel from the street and the train station. The room we stayed in was large (we paid extra for an upgrade) and stayed on 23rd floor. Two large twin beds, sofa, separate toilet and bathroom and huge panoramic windows. The breakfast restaurants is on 25 floor also with amazing views. Be early as the restaurant is small. Breakfast was not that great, not enough choices of food. So if you are paying extra for breakfast think twice.

Room Tip: We stayed on 23rd floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fortalezakaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Shibuya Excel for 5 nights. It was our first time in Tokyo and I must say, this hotel is great! The location is awesome and is right across the street from the shibuya station, which has basically every train line you could need. The hotel overlooks the main square, so we had a great view, but it was still really quiet at night.

The rooms are small, but not unbearable. They are very clean and the bathroom was nice. There was free wifi in the room and it worked great. The hotel staff was friendly, but didnt speak english that well, so we didn't use them a ton for recommendations. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it to my friends. The overall experience and price were very good!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is geared more for the young and hip party goer or Business Traveler as the area is filled in drinking (Izakaya's) places and its proximity to Harajuku. Nevertheless the location of the hotel is great:

The Pros:
1.) Direct drop-off to the hotel by the Airport Limousine Bus from Narita. (prepare for a really windy and cold arrival upon exit from the bus as the parking lot is open).
2.) Access to the 4th Floor Food hall of the Mark City Mall next door is a plus (access to Mark City is better on the 3rd floor than the Lobby because of the tight lift provided by the mall from lobby to 4th floor).
3.) Proximity to the Tokyu Supermarket and Shibuya train station across the street. The Tokyu supermarket is the best place to grab some Sushi or Sashimi for Dinner. They offer 20% discount after 6PM and rivals the quality in some of the best restaurants. Remember, the supermarket not the food hall right outside it. Just buy some soy sauce in the supermarket as they don't offer it for free.
4.) There are also a lot of reasonable eating outlets to the left of the Hotel (upon exit from the G/F lobby). Soba, Ramen, Yakiniku, Donburi, everything you want in such a small area!
5.) There are a lot of vending machines in the hotel lobby even a washing machine in the vending area per floor of the hotel.
6.) Access to Starbucks (3rd Floor) and Excelsior Cafe (4th floor) in Mark City. Great sandwiched in Excelsior as well.

The Cons:
1.) The Shibuya area is filled with young people, this is the only reason I can attribute to the area being generally dirtier than the rest of Tokyo. Small trash can be seen everywhere. Compare this to the Ginza area and other nearby areas and you will know what I mean.
2.) We left used cups and teaspoon from the tea service in the room and came back to find then un-washed when we returned. I really don't know if its customary in Japan not to have this cleaned by the maid service.
3.)The cleaning service was generally not that good. We only found the room really clean (1) night out of the (4) nights we stayed. We constantly found our used Starbucks coffee cups still lying on the floor next to the trash bin due to it being filled already.
4.) You will constantly hear the train all night (stayed in the 8th floor). So this will be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Just drink a 500ml can of beer from the vending machine and you will be all set for the night. :-)

Some tips for Families with Strollers or Baby Prams:
1.) When taking the train.Take the South Entrance of the Shibuya Station (to the right when you cross the street). This is where the lift is located, took me 10 min. just to find it.
2.) Most of the restaurants in the 4th floor Food Hall of Mark City next door is very child friendly.
3.) Remember to take the 3rd floor access to Mark City from the hotel and just go (1) flight up the escalator.
4.) Most if not all convenience stores do not sell fruit so if you want or need some for your baby or what not get it from the Supermarket (the Tokyu supermarket is small so go off-peak hours) or the fruit stand right outside to the right of the Hotel G/F exit.
5.) ask the hotel for extra towels for your babies as they wont give you extras unless requested.
6.) The Hotel doesnt offer baggage assistance so expect to log your own luggage to and from the lobby and/or bus.

You will see that the Pro's out-way the Con's but given my experience here and in Shinjuku, I think we will try Ginza next. I think it is much more laid-back and definitely cleaner.

Room Tip: You have to pay more to get the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eejster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#14 of 27 in Shibuya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing