We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Breton
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. It is a drop off point for the airport express bus and it is on a metro station and across the street from the train station. It is connected to a huge mall and surrounded by restaurants, shops and other malls. Transportation to other parts and sights in Tokyo is steps away and very efficient. The buffet for breafast is limited,but adequate.
The staff is helpful and most speak English. The rooms are very clean and roomy. We went on a couple of tours and the free pickup hotel was five minutes walking from our hotel. Wifi was great and free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelloverdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    548
    137
    25
    18
See reviews for
298
250
138
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've been to Tokyo a few times and it's hard to find a bad hotel. Most are very clean / have great service etc etc.

The big difference between Hotels for tourists is location. If you have kids / teenagers - stay in Shibuya. Theres no better located hotel than the excel if you have teenagers / older juniors. It's located right on top of the station right in the heart of the action. Kids love this spot. Millions of them.

If your older, or are not travelling with kids - Stay in Shinjuku. Couple of traps. The Southern Century and Sunroute (both popular choices on trip advisor) are NOT in Shibuya. They are in Shinjuku. If you are travelling to Tokyo - these two major locations should be where you stay. Shinjuku or Shibuya.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank finchpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is so convenient. From Narita airport you can take the narita express so cheap if you take return trip or one way trip with suica card included (only for foreigners) or limousine bus. Limousine bus might be more practical if you have a lot of luggages. If you take narita express you might need to at least get down some stairs with your luggages in order to go to the hotel from Shibuya station. but afterwards the building is connected to the hotel building.

For the room : I got the 7th floor room (actually the first floor for the rooms) even facing Shibuya crossing you got no views except for a big publicity panel. This room was very depressing and the bed very uncomfortable. Asked for another room at higher floor and were told no more big bed room but only twin bed room left at higher floor and would have to pay 2000Yen per night. I took the upgrade for the nights left (except the first night) and were very happy then. The view was wonderful and the bed was much better. The rooms are quit small but for Tokyo and the price it was good.

For the service : very good as everywhere in Tokyo, people are willing to help but not everybody could speak good English.

I will go back to Tokyo for sure as I really enjoyed the city but might try Shinjuku instead of Shibuya as there is not much to do by night (shopping). Nevertheless if I go back to Shibuya I will stay again in this wonderful located hotel in higher floor room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Location is Right in the centre of Shibuya district. The Twin room we got was big (Japanese standards). We will definitely stay here again.
Restaurants and Shopping Malls around the hotel.
Walking distance (5 minutes walk) to Shibuya and JR train stations.
A/C worked well.
There is strong WIFI signal in our room.
We stayed in a non- smoking room.
Staff very friendly and can speak english.
You have to reserve a twin room to get the big rooms.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for Twin Room to get big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I'll be returning to this hotel next month when I go back to Tokyo on business here is why: Staff is friendly and helpful, even with my very basic Japanese I had no problem communicating with staff and getting help with complex directions, and computer issues. My room last time was clean, and as it was on an upper floor had a STAGGERINGLY GORGEOUS view of Shibuya, the crossing and many of Shinjuku's landmark buildings in the distance. The location is super convenient with all the major depato's and restaurants of Shibuya at your feet. The hotel offers a shuttle to the airport, which I've never used as I prefer to take N'ex in from Narita, but other guests have told me it's affordable and efficient. The only drawback in my mind (and this may not matter to most) is that as a large Western Style hotel, it lacks the charm of places like the nearby Dormy Inn, but that is not a huge concern if you are out and about enjoying Tokyo all day.

Room Tip: A higher floor is a must, spend extra on the view rooms and then enjoy a take-out bento from the nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is in the heart of Shibuya; from Narita Airport you have a direct bus or train connection hence very easy accessible. The hotel offered free Wifi, our room rate included a sumptuous breakfast being served on the 25th floor which offers an awesome view across greater Tokyo. Rooms are very functional and clean like everything in Tokyo. Simply a place to stay without regret.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Shibuya Excel Hotel is an excellent location that places you amongst it all. Shopping, Restaurants, Bars and Transport. The Hotel is connected to an excellent shopping mall and a walkway straight through to Shibuya Station. The views from the hotel are amazing, you can even see Mt Fuji from the top floor dining room. The rooms are quite small, but have everything you need. I will stay here again the next time I come to Tokyo.
Copy this: Tokyo Ten Glenn Wingrove ,into "You Tube" and see the views from The Excel Shibuya Hotel and why we love Japan

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on a high floor facing Shinjuku.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing