We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$647
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sakura Fleur Aoyama(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveller rating
483
619
160
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
619
160
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark cityquad roomtrain stationgreat locationmidori sushitop floorwestern breakfastshopping malltriple roomfamous crossinghotel is locatedsame buildinghachiko statuelimousine busprime locationtokyo standardsjapanese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is located just above the Shibuya station on 2 lines, the Yamanote and the Ginza. It is in actually part of Shibuya Mark City so location-wise, there's really not much to say as everyone else has commented.
The rooms size were reasonable and were clean.
A common problem in Japanese hotels: insufficient power plugs for chargers.
The breakfast provided (both continental and japanese) were not very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is quite good I must say. The food is always freshly prepared, and the service was excellent. The view also frm the restaurant is quite spectacular as you cvan see mount Fuji on a sunny day. What I also like about the hotel is that it is very closde to the subway station which has a lot of shops, as yu know most stations in the East are also shopping malls. It is just so convenient and you can also get fresh rice parcels and sushi-freshly prepare.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmadiboka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel within a year, so basically our first stay was good thats why we decided to stay there again. Very convinient since it is located in the central part of Tokyo. Its 5 mins away from everything. The only thing is, we forgot to mention to book us on a non smoking floor, since we were tired from the trip, we decided to stay. Once you get out of the lift, you can really say its a smoking floor as you can smell the difference. Breakfast had a few selection but it was good and fresh. Rooms and bathroom were clean. We put a Do not Disturb sign but when we got back, the room was cleaned. Didnt mind to inform the front desk because only a few knew how to speak little english. Overall stay was good.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank DelightedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu is a well run facility, with very helpful and knowledgable staff. The hotel is located right at the Shibuya "hub" of transportation (subway is basically AT the hotel) and busses, shopping and restaurants. With the great selection of restaurants within 5 minutes walk, one does barely need to venture out to get fantastic Japanese specialities (however, see "Caution" below).

The hotel has good meeting room facilities, albeit rather expensive (approx $50 for two hours and there's a minimum of 1 drink order per meeting participant). The meeting facilities tend to get booked, so make sure this is secured before setting meeting agenda etc.

Hotel rooms are small, but clean and beds very comfortable. Beware though that "non smoking" needs to be emphasized upon both booking and check-in (apparently, since I was first given a smoking room). The breakfast is a little minimalistic in selection, and the breakfast room is rather starkly lit (resembles a cantina at a struggling company at best…) and the breakfast is not cheap (approx $22 for the "buffet").

So…the "Caution"…: If you ask the concierge at the hotel for restaurant suggestions, make sure you indicate the price level you're looking for, since restaurants can vary widely on pricing, even for "entry level" Japanese foods like Tempura. We were recommended an (allegedly) fabulous tempura restaurant around the corner, to realize that the menu (which was sparse) had main courses typically in the range $80-110 (for food that you would expect to pay $15 for at most elsewhere. But, the concierge staff was excellent, great command of English, great smiles and always there to assist to find a "regularly priced" restaurant too.

I will stay again, and now knowing what to ask for and how to book the meeting facilities and get the right restaurants.

And… there are plenty cafés and coffee shops (including Starbucks) right at the floor levels below the hotel… the hotel's reception is at the 5th floor of the building...

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non-smoking (if you so desire) both at booking and at check-in!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eggestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When booking a hotel, location and cleanliness are always at the top of my list. When it came down to staying in tokyo, I knew i wanted to be at either Shibuya or Shinjuku station and ended up at the Shibuya Excel.

Service: Very helpful and accomodating! Japanese hospitality is second to none. I had contacted the hotel 3 months prior to see if they would hold our luggage for a week while we traveled throughout Japan by train (we were coming back after to stay). They promptly and politely replied that it was no problem. Upon check in, the front desk clerk had told me that they had saw my booking request to be on a higher floor. I was informed we were going to be staying on the top (24th) floor of the hotel. Despite the clerk's broken English, he did his best to tell us about local restaurants and shops in the area.

Location: It is actually part of the Shibuya station - you don't even need to go outside to enter the hotel. Look for signs and head towards the Shibuya Mark City complex. The lobby is located on the 5th floor of the building - you can enter from the 3rd floor of the Mark city or 1st floor from ground level. Note that if you're coming via Narita Express, you have to make you way to an upper platform and walk along that for 300m. We spent half an hour in the train station looking for the right way out. The hotel itself looks down on the famous shibuya crossing with many dining and shopping options nearby.

Room: Small room by north american standards (~200sq ft) but typical for Asia. We had a double room with just enough room for 2 large suitcases. Bathroom was compact but clean. We had a fantastic view from our room on the 24th floor. Didn't hear any noise from the rooms beside us but strangely, could hear the occasional ambulance down near the shibuya crossing. AC/Heater worked fine and was quiet.

Overall: We got a great deal on this hotel as we booked early. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for a better view and less noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icedtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews