We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously central. Don't be put off by proximity to Shibuya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Tokyo. The hotel was very easy to find on the Yamanote Line from Tokyo Haneda. The hotel was literally linked to the Shibuya station which made it incredibly easy. The sushi restaurant in the complex was amazing, and outside the hotel elevator. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moorak_5291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Location was good at Shibuya Crossing with lots of activity at night. One stop to Harajuku and two stops to Shinjinku via JR Rail. Rooms were ok, nothing spectacular about them. One thing I did not like about it was the really hard pillows.

One thing to note is that if you are coming from Narita and using the NEX there are no signs or directions as to what exit to use inside the station. Use Tamagawa Exit (think spelled wrong) and look for the sign to hotel, but FYI he are easy to miss. However you can take the airport limousine bus and it will drop you off right in front.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank arkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My stay at Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu was GREAT!!!! The staff was really helpful when it came to providing directions and maps for my trip in Tokyo. From our room, the view was fantastic as we were able to see the Tokyo tower and city lights at night. My friend and I were very excited about the location as it was PERFECT!!! The Shibuya Crossing can be seen from the hotel windows and is located right outside the hotel entrance. Great restaurants and shopping is located near the hotel so be prepared to do some walking because the neighborhood is filled with stores for both men and women. Harajuku was only one train stop away about 5- 7mins, while the Tokyo Tower was 15-20 minutes away and Tokyo Disneyland is only 25-30 mins from Shibuya Station, which made the location even better as the Shibuya Station entrance and exit is located right next door or across the street (depending on where you exit) to the hotel. The rooms were comfy, the staff was really pleasant and though we didn't want daily cleaning, they did provide us with towels and other items needed daily. The Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu is a nice gem at a great price, will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in a four bed room with our two children. The room was a reasonable size although not huge with a large bathroom. The room was clean and the beds were very comfy and we all slept very well. We had breakfast included which was on the 25th floor with an awesome view and a good selection of Western foods.

The location is excellent being attached to Shibuya Station. The area is very interesting with Scramble crossing and lots of shopping. The station makes it a good base for sightseeing. We stayed for just the last night on our way out of Japan. Our children found the area very busy and crowded and I am glad we did not stay here on our first nights in Japan at the start of our trip as it may have been overwhelming for our young kids.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rattyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently connected to Shibuya station while this place could be your central of activity for shopping, dining or even sightseeng. I personally stayed in Tokyo for almost 8 years, thus very familiar and have valid reason why I choose Shibuya as place to stay.

The hotel is very clean and well equipped with the best material you can find, such as tempur etc.

The room itself is very spacious compared with its peers and offered spectacular view if you stay at higher floor.

I plan to visit Tokyo sometime this year and will pick this hotel as our place to enjoy busy life in Tokyo.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ogi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was my second time to stay at this hotel and I will definitely return for further stays. Shibuya is a hub of restaurants, shops, entertainment and transportation and a perfect location for a Tokyo stay (unless you're looking for some place quiet and serene). Over the years I've stayed in many of the hotels in the area and I find the Excel Hotel Tokyu to be my favorite. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean and the views are great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuhaUitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Excel Tokyu Hotel is across the road from Shibuya train station. 3rd floor of hotel takes you into the station. Get out onto the West exit. Hotel is above Mark City shopping complex. Best location in Shibuya. We upgraded as they had a promotion of 3000yen extra per night for a bigger and higher room. We were on 23rd – 24th being the highest room floor. 25th is dining. We were in 2302 being the corner room overlooking the amazing Shibuya Hachiko pedestrian crossing – 3000 pedestrians crossing on average in one set of green lights! Room also overlooks Yoyogi Park towards Shinjuku CBD skyscrapers. We went shopping and came back to room to dump our bags and went off shopping again. Very handy to shops and all eateries. The strip clubs are all here too. Room is spacious. Bathroom reasonable with great amenities. English tea offered with green tea but no coffee. Sugar given but no milk or creamer. Hot water pressure and system working well. Bath tub not too long but fine. The shower head does not tilt and the bath tub has a slant at the back which gets us all the time! Great blackout curtains and when open, light filled room overlooking a great view of buildings and the crossing below. Bed and pillows very comfy. Free wireless internet – password in room. Safe deposit box in bedside drawer. No pool or onsen.

Reception staff friendly enough but could be more pleasant and helpful. We booked our limousine bus to Narita (80 mins) on arrival to ensure we got seats at the time we needed to get our flight – 3000 yen pp one way. Bus picks up right on reception floor (5th floor) so get there 10 mins before departure time – beats the train (especially when there’s 4 bags). Hotel staff assisted with maps etc but there’s a stand with all the leaflets at lobby – grab one and start walking! You see much more on foot (if your legs can take it). 25th floor breakfast (either Western or Japanese) for 2500 yen ($25) seems cheap after a café latte for 850 yen ($8.50). Tables face south towards Haneda and you can see planes taking off/landing in the far distance. Evening sunset over the many buildings make a nice picture.

Try Genki Sushi which is only 2mins walk from hotel – really fun sushi experience. Shoe shop Asbee around the corner has 5 floors of shoes!! Open 10.30am to 11pm. Most shops open either at 11, 11.30 or 12 noon. Candy Fake Tokyo trendy clothes behind Pronto and Levi’s – tucked away in back streets – open 12-10pm – interesting outfits!!! 109 Mens – most unusual shopping and noisy experience. Expensive for what you get – you can get similar for less in Bangkok MBK or even in Melbourne for that matter! Most interesting to watch the unusual fashion – on sale as well as on the locals – both males and females are very trendy and fashionable. We have a great time just people watching the fashion! Wow! Weird!

Bought a 1 day open metro train ticket (about $7 per person) and covered Asakusa, Senso-ji Temple, Akihabara, Ogawamachi and Jimbocho. Train map shows all the train lines and very easy to read as they are colour coded. The hard part is knowing where and how to exit. Asakusa/Sensoji temple was extremely crowded that we did not even bother going towards the temple. We saw it from a distance (side on) which in fact is viewed better anyway from afar. There are heaps of shops and food places around here. We then took the train to Akihabara and wandered around this electric town. Shops along the streets (adult shops too) as well as an entire building with the most amazing amounts of electrical items in one place! We walked to Iwamotocho to get the train to Ogawamachi as all the ski and snow board gear shops are between Ogawamachi and Jimbocho. It’s a haven for snow goers! We then took the train back to Shibuya – trying to find the exit 5 out to Excel Tokyu hotel was a challenge. We relied on the GPS in our phone to head us in the right directions. This takes a day to cover.

Try Thai Garden (next to Genki Sushi). This restaurant is in the basement. Reasonable prices and great tasting food – we ate here three nights – the deep fried fish, tom yum soup, red curry with coconut chicken/pork and the soft shell crab are all very flavoursome and fragrant. 4th floor Mark City East for fresh sushi Umegaoka Sushi No Midori – be very prepared to wait – 1 hr sometimes!

About 30 mins walk to Harajuku, Yoyogi Park and Meiji Shrine. Shinjuku is up the road from these. Meiji Shrine has a separate entrance to Yoyogi Park. We walked around the park only to discover that the shrine was not in there but to enter through another entrance. The crowds at Meiji Shrine is mad but within control. You just follow the crowd and it is very orderly – going clockwise. You get to the shrine and follow the locals – throw your money in and make a wish I guess or ask for forgiveness!? After this, continue walking clockwise and out. Takeshita Ave across Harajuku wooden train station is a scream! Extremely crowded. Again, you queue for food, toilet as well as for payment. Walk with the crowd down to the end and cross the street. Walk to Back Harajuku down to end of the road then cross the bridge overlooking Omote Sando to Oriental Bazaar and fascinating Cat Street. Loads of 2nd hand shops with more reasonable prices along here. Good finds also at 2nd Street Jumble Store. This takes a day to cover.

Tokyo has the biggest fish market if you don’t intend to see the fish auction you can go for 11am for the fresh sushi but be prepared to join the crazy queue. Ginza (branded shopping area), Roppongi (red light/strip clubs), Shinjuku (bars and CBD skyscrapers) or Skytree/Tokyo Tower (views). Tokyo alone has a population of 26 million which is more than the entire Australian population of 24 million! There’s long day trips out to Mount Fuji, Nikko etc. that the hotel can organise for you. Exploring Shibuya, backstreets and shops take another day. Loads of bars around Shibuya – Izakaya, Bourbon Street etc. Try 105 Sushi (similar concept to Genki Sushi). Loads of “love hotels” around the back streets – amazing lights at the entrances. Also loads of clubs – strip club theatre near Lawsons. Shoe shop ABC Mart is also great.

Room Tip: Get the top floors for best views - corner room 2301, 2302, 2401, 2402
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
702 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 28 in Shibuya
339 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £151 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing