We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong bar the tracing paper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong bar the tracing paper”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived early about 8.30am early :-) needless to say i expected to wait til the official 2pm check in time (as with all things Japanese - everything starts on time). But to my surprise and after leaving our luggage with the concierge, i was called back by the front desk staff and told that our rooms would be ready by 12 noon. Brownie points great!

Our rooms were decent from a Tokyo size perspective; didn't mind that there was no room service as we had already planned our itinerary back to back and expected to eat out most of the time (highly recommend Jean Francois bakery just below the hotel if you want freshly baked breads or just a few doors down there's a sushi place with a queue that starts at 10.30am for lunch). So as you can see food wasn't a problem.

As most reviewers have already pointed out; the hotel itself is well placed - shops, restaurants and Jr/Metro stations all nearby. My only gripe and to some it may be small, was with the toilet paper.....or er tracing paper that they tried to pass off as toilet paper :-)

All in all a decent enough stay at this hotel but might be inclined to try another hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcw6862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    549
    137
    25
    18
See reviews for
299
250
138
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

You can't go wrong with the location. Ask for a room facing the scramble. It make for some entertaining watching. The view from the top floor breakfast room more than makes up for a breakfast that hardly changed for the 7 days I was here. There is a water drainage system in the bathroom that makes for odd smells occasionally. I got a note in my room from the front desk asking that I don't smoke in the room....I never did! Otherwise the service is solid and nice. The glass elevator at night makes a great video.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spent a week at this wonderful hotel in the heart of Tokyo. The service is excellent and the staff is very kind. There is an excellent breakfast on the top floor, 25th level with a magnificent view of Mt. Fuji on a clear day. There was a strong quake while I was there and the hotel held up perfectly. Not even a crack! The only issue is that the hotel is not easily accessible from the street. You have to go up a long driveway to the entrance. There is a nice cafe in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is very nice to stay because of the location. It's great to have a JR line near the hotel so that I can travel easily.

The rooms are big enough for me. Good views to see from the inside of the room. Also,comfortable bed.

However,as a muslim,the western breakfast doesn't serve beef most of the time. It's quite dissappointing because breakfast is important before having sightseeing activities.

All in all,book this hotel if you need JR line the most on your holiday or simply have a great view of Tokyo!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bimo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I truly do not like being negative but must say my stay at the Excel Hotel in Shibuya last week was most disappointing. This was my third trip to the region in the past year, and the first time I paid so much for a room (due to my trip being so last minute my usual place was booked out!) I was initially completely surprised by the fact I did not at all feel welcome when I checked in at the reception desk - which is so NOT the Japanese way. Their customer service is usually beyond reproach. And, at over $300 a night for my room, this was the first hotel I have ever stayed anywhere in the world where one's luggage is not taken to the room for the guests. More an observation than a complaint however. I had flown into Tokyo at 8.30am so by the time I arrived at Shibuya it was more 11am and too early to check into my room so I went out walking for hours. Returned to take occupancy of my room, desperate for a cold water, and not a single thing in the bar fridge: nothing. I checked the documentation and no 'room service' either until later in the day.
Towels - I would advise packing your own. Towels in the room extremely thin - matching the oh-so-thin toilet tissue.
I found it difficult finding my way around and, as an elderly person, thought it would have been wonderful if I was told that the airport limousine had dropped me at the fifth floor, and I then had been given a map to work out exactly how to get around the hotel.
On a positive note, the room was larger than the 'normal' standard accommodation space in Japan. Beautifully presented bed linen. Great view of course. Fabulous location if you are a train user, but I do think there is much room for improvement - particularly for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creativegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for 6 days during Golden Week, 2014. The entrance to the hotel is pretty hard to find but if you're at a place called "shibuya mark city" then you're within the vicinity of the hotel. Shibuya Excel Hotel staff did not speak english well. The clerk, however, spoke english well but his attitude wasn't that welcoming. What I mean is that it seemed he was tired and wanted to go home. I'm not asking for much but at least put on a smile, you know? Anyway, the other staff were friendly and polite.

Room: Very tiny (I'm used to US-room standards), yet clean. The AC would not turn on unless the lights were on, which was odd. Bathroom was small and came with basic amenities.

View: Stayed in the 20th (out of 25) floor and we had an amazing view of the city. Although we requested a view of shibuya crossing, it was only a partial view of it.

Value: It was definitely a fair price (around 150USD/night)

Food: We didn't order any but we had wine at their local restaurant.

Proximity to Shibuya station: 3 minute walk

Note: Shibuya is a pretty sketchy place to walk around at night. I was offered adult services numerous times by rude vietnamese touts who get angry if you ignore them. In addition, if you go north to kabukicho, you'll probably be constantly bothered by nigerian touts inviting you to check out their bar.

Bottom line: No pool or fitness center. I'd recommend this place if you know Japanese well or if you're a local. In the future, I think I'd stay in Roppongi or Shinjuku.

Room Tip: 20th floor. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My favorite hotel in the city! From the valet to the bartender every single staff member is polite and friendly. The suites are immaculate. Not a single detail is over looked at this beautiful historic land mark. I recommend it to anyone visiting Dallas or anyone just wanting to get away from the kids for the weekend. Beautiful!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyson s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#13 of 28 in Shibuya
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing