We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location & Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location & Great hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in June 14. Upgraded on check in to a view room (19th floor) overlooking the famous scramble crossing.

Our room was clean and much bigger than we were expecting, even a little table as chairs by the window to sit and watch the crossing below.

Finding the hotel the first time can be a little tricky (just keep following signs to Mark City however and you'll get there!) but once you locate it- you can easily get your bearings.

We didn't eat at the hotel- prices were quite expensive there (25 breakfast) but there are heaps of fantastic little local restaurants all around you where can get an authentic Japanese meal for 1/4 of the cost of hotel dining.

We would stay here again when in Tokyo. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    529
    135
    24
    17
See reviews for
284
240
136
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Excel is right in top of the famous Shibuya scramble crossing and you can see it from some rooms and the lift lobbies. That was pretty cool for a girl on her first trip to a Tokyo!

It's absolutely ideally situated if you want to shop in Shibuya. Plus, it's right on the (huge) train station so getting to and from the airport - or anywhere else - is a cinch.

Rooms were bigger than I'd expected in Tokyo and typical nice hotel style: heavy furniture, crisp white linen etc.

The breakfast upstairs is somewhat expensive but worth it as they have a good selection at the buffet.

Staff seemed a little abrupt but they do speak excellent English!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Ok, the rooms aren´t amazing. But the mediocre furniture is easily forgotten thanks to the astonishing view on the city and the super good location right on Shibuya crossing. Just a trip on the glass elevator that brings you up is worth the booking. The hotel can be entered right from the train station, which at first might seem tricky, but it´s pretty cool as soon as you get how it works. Fun fact: if you´re a woman travellng alone, you´ll probably get a room in the "women only" floor. The restaurant on top didn´t look particularly nice and the menu was pretty mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

As the other reviewer said: can't go wrong with the location. Location is superb, just in front of many restaurants and shopping mall. Very convenient to walk and closed to the JR or Metro station. Room is rather small but clean. And with the small room, the room rate is quite expensive compare to other hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahmadimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room was rather small but clean and comfortable. I asked for another duvet but they could only give me a fleece blanket.
The hotel is situated right on top of the subway station.It was extremely convenient especially when travelling with children. You can practically walk anywhere from this hotel and there are also plenty of nice restaurants around that area.
We didn't have breakfast included, but it was easy to grab a bite from one of the cafes nearby. Would choose this hotel again but definitely book a bigger room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Staying in Shibuya is a must. This was my second time staying at Excel and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when in Shibuya. Perfect location, with a million dollar view. The rooms are big and clean. The buffet breakfast is amazing and the service was excellent. Having the train station right under your door step is a Big Plus.I just loved it there and I look forward to going back someday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arrived early about 8.30am early :-) needless to say i expected to wait til the official 2pm check in time (as with all things Japanese - everything starts on time). But to my surprise and after leaving our luggage with the concierge, i was called back by the front desk staff and told that our rooms would be ready by 12 noon. Brownie points great!

Our rooms were decent from a Tokyo size perspective; didn't mind that there was no room service as we had already planned our itinerary back to back and expected to eat out most of the time (highly recommend Jean Francois bakery just below the hotel if you want freshly baked breads or just a few doors down there's a sushi place with a queue that starts at 10.30am for lunch). So as you can see food wasn't a problem.

As most reviewers have already pointed out; the hotel itself is well placed - shops, restaurants and Jr/Metro stations all nearby. My only gripe and to some it may be small, was with the toilet paper.....or er tracing paper that they tried to pass off as toilet paper :-)

All in all a decent enough stay at this hotel but might be inclined to try another hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcw6862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#14 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing