We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good surprises in many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good surprises in many ways”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I'm so excited to add my thoughts on this hotel, because I am so pleasantly surprised by it.

* ok, the rooms are small, but I'm not in Tokyo to spend my time inside the hotel. It's like New York, space is at a premium. Small room, no problem.
* between the closet and drawers, I had plenty of room to put my clothes and shoes away and stow my suitcase.
* in the room, they have outlets next to the bed, in the bathroom and next to a vanity mirror. Awesome!
* on the nightstand, they have provided multiple charging adapters (see picture). This is brilliant. I was able to charge my iPhone and Samsung at the same time. They have 5 connector choices, including iPhone 5 as well as old 30-pin connector.
* Great view of Shibuya, including the famous intersection.
*location, location! A short walk to my favorite noodle place and so much shopping. The metro is right there. You are really in the heart of it at this hotel.

Need to improve:
* western style breakfast buffet is small and the scrambled eggs are runny. The bacon is meh. Go for the Japanese breakfast instead.
* air-con turns off by itself in the middle of the night which makes for a very sweaty wake-up in the middle of August when it is hot and humid outside.
*no coffee in the room, only tea. Also no bottled water.

All in all, I really appreciate this hotel. I will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wings415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    548
    137
    25
    18
See reviews for
298
250
138
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung,Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here several nights when visiting Tokyo.Superb location ,near to everything,restaurants , shopping mall, ,the Yamanote MRT line was just opposite the hotel.
The room was quite small but very clean.Wi-fi was strong inside the room and within the hotel.Check in and out was superbly quick.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you're looking to hit the square for some Shibuya night life the Shibuya Hotel is the place to be. It's super convenient for traveling the rail, as you never really leave them, you just go upstairs. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Ask for a window view, as we where facing the main square several stories up and got some amazing pictures.

Room Tip: See if you can get a high floor with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Small functional hotel room but located in the heart of Shibuya and close to metro/train lines. The room was so small the bed was against one wall. However the view was fantastic, the restaurant was expensive!

Room Tip: If you're used to staying in an American hotel, make sure you inquire about room size before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here during my first visit to Japan. Although the room is a bit small compared to your usual NY hotel room, it was very clean and comfortable. Wifi access throughout the whole hotel. Perfect location for first time visitors. Close to many restaurants, shops and across the street from train station. We loved it here and would definitely return! Oh and staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room & toilet is big and clean. But need to improve at customer service. We've booked 2 rooms with triple bed & we requested for connection room or both rooms at the same floor, but they have only 1 room for triple bed on each floor, so we tried to ask for downgrading one of our room to double bed room as it's more than enough for us. However, the service desk was rejected our request impolitely and told us to pay extra (about 10k yen) for this option.

The location of the hotel is great, it's at the Shibuya street & link to both subway and JR station. it's less than 5 mins walk to reach the station from hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice_Tay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to taste the famed "warm Eastern Hospitality" ie the "Bows", the "aligato gozaimas (meaning thank you)", the "sweet smiles", etc, you are in for great disappointment with the staff of this hotel!!!

From day 1 contact point, they have been slow in email response and not wanting to please during our stay.

Only plus point is the location, 5mins walk to main shopping strip.

Rooms were small and clean
as is expected of hotels in Tokyo.

Wont be back to this Hotel for sure!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#13 of 28 in Shibuya
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Property: Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing