We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

So glad I chose this hotel. From Narita airport, we took the Limousine Airport Bus and the drop off is directly at the hotel. No hassle, no confusion on how to take the metro, don't need that stress upon arrival. The bus operates every hour. We booked a room with 3 beds, its spacious enough, and has a separate bathroom and toilet which is fantastic for 3 persons staying in one room. Check in was quick, the room is clean, quiet and has free wifi which works well. The hotel is located within Mark City which is a shopping mall with lots of restaurants. It is very central, you can find the metro, lots of restaurants & shopping nearby. Its about 15-20 mins walk to Meiji Shrine & Yoyogi Park. We can see the Shibuya crossing from our room, and if you go up to 25th floor, you can get a nice view around. The restaurant on the 25th floor serves both western and Japanese breakfast. We only went once for western breakfast when we got tired of Japanese food. The food was ok, don't expect a huge buffet. The hotel also offers free shuttle bus service to Akasaka and Roponggi. To leave Tokyo for Narita airport, just book the bus tickets from the reception. The only negative thing is check out is officially at 11 am and our flight out was at 10.30pm. They could only extend check out to 12 noon. The rates are a bit on the higher end but this is Japan, expensive.

Room Tip: Higher floor and facing Shibuya crossing if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ladyDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel could not be better placed; it is on the direct airport bus route from both Narita and Haneda Airports and is built above the busiest interchange station on the Tokyo Metro system. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with all the usual facilities, including a very good free wifi and a coffee machine, but the public areas, including the restaurant, are al little bland and functional. However, what the restaurant lacks in ambience is made up by its location on the 25th floor with spectacular views over the city. Check in and out process is amazingly quick and efficient and the prices, although a little high, are reasonable when considering the location and ease of location. If one is looking for a friendly atmospheric hotel this is not for you but if you want a functional, efficient and impersonal hotel this is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed for four nights with my wife and daughters. The location is superb, right in the middle of famous Shibuya Crossing, you can watch from the hotel elevator or feel it the crowd after exiting the hotel entrance. You can spend a whole day exploring restaurant, shops etc in the surrounding hotel which is Shibuya station area. If you want to experience the the Tokyo megapolitan then this is the right place. The room is not that big, but spacious enough for family with children. The staff is polite and attentive, they helped me to call my airline to get my seat problem fix. The hotel also has a bus stop for airport bus which is very convenience so you don't have to the taxi or monorail. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytktdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

As my title says, the location of this hotel cannot be beat.
After taking the airport limo bus, which not only drops you off right at the hotel, but is the easiest
way to travel from the aiport into town...as we did not want to take the NEX with the luggage we had with us.
Once at the hotel, a set of elevators down to the 3rd floor ( check in and lobby is on the 5th floor )will put you within walking distances of the Subway and train lines.
Also on this 3rd floor you will find a great sushi restaurant, Umegaoka Sushi No Midori, the wait will be long but the sushi and the price is well worth it.
Getting off on the 1st floor in the same set of elevators will take you at street level...and right into the action....a great little supermarket on one corner, and shopping malls. Highly suggest you go to the lower basement floors of these mega shopping malls and you will see what a Tokyo food court looks like...wow !!!
Back to the hotel;
- nice clean rooms, comfy beds, but not very huge rooms.
- washrooms are small.
- nice front desk and staff....booked Mt.Fuji trip, taxis, overall very helpful.

Room Tip: - get a room with a view of the crossing...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RDSTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would echo many of the other comments made – very clean, decent bed, location can’t be beat. But don’t rely on the advice others have given to “call the night before to get a room facing the Crossing”. We did, and they had none available. Facing the crossing was important to us, it’s why we booked the Excel – my wife is a photographer. When we asked again at check-in, they claimed they had no doubles facing the Crossing, but I am a bit dubious about that.

Regardless, it is a good hotel and I would recommend it. (We rode the northeast corner guest-only elevator, which is made of glass and has a stunning view of the crossing, up and down a few times, to get our crossing “fix”.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I'm so excited to add my thoughts on this hotel, because I am so pleasantly surprised by it.

* ok, the rooms are small, but I'm not in Tokyo to spend my time inside the hotel. It's like New York, space is at a premium. Small room, no problem.
* between the closet and drawers, I had plenty of room to put my clothes and shoes away and stow my suitcase.
* in the room, they have outlets next to the bed, in the bathroom and next to a vanity mirror. Awesome!
* on the nightstand, they have provided multiple charging adapters (see picture). This is brilliant. I was able to charge my iPhone and Samsung at the same time. They have 5 connector choices, including iPhone 5 as well as old 30-pin connector.
* Great view of Shibuya, including the famous intersection.
*location, location! A short walk to my favorite noodle place and so much shopping. The metro is right there. You are really in the heart of it at this hotel.

Need to improve:
* western style breakfast buffet is small and the scrambled eggs are runny. The bacon is meh. Go for the Japanese breakfast instead.
* air-con turns off by itself in the middle of the night which makes for a very sweaty wake-up in the middle of August when it is hot and humid outside.
*no coffee in the room, only tea. Also no bottled water.

All in all, I really appreciate this hotel. I will stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Wings415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here several nights when visiting Tokyo.Superb location ,near to everything,restaurants , shopping mall, ,the Yamanote MRT line was just opposite the hotel.
The room was quite small but very clean.Wi-fi was strong inside the room and within the hotel.Check in and out was superbly quick.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 29 in Shibuya
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 29 in Shibuya
347 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £149 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Rakuten, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing