We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proximity, Affordability, Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Traveled May 3rd week 2014.


Proximity - your hotel is just 5 minutes away from the biggest train hub in Japan. you can access anywhere with Shinjuku station!

Affordability - at $140-$150 a night, this is a bargain given how neat the rooms are. Yes, rooms are small, but hey, hotels are just your resting place when you are traveling.

Hospitality - So we went to Tokyo for a week and lost our passport... the staff, while speaking in English, helped call the embassy to help us find the passport. Thankfully the hotel found it in their quarters! all the stuff with the passport are still intact. So awesome.

I loved this place. :D

Room Tip: We took a night in a smoking room, but you can't smell the nicotine smell lingering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwayne Sanson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay.
I was really pleased to read your kind words and have passed them on to our staff.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,237 - 2,243 of 4,949 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel built, it looks like, in the 80s, right next to Shinjuku station. The rooms are small but clean. The service is very friendly. The bathrooms are comfortably large, and the shower pressure is great. They have huge shampoo and soap dispensers in the bathroom which is funny. The restaurant serves both Japanese and Western food for breakfast, which is more than adequate. Most people get a breakfast pass as part if the room fee. If your room has no view the window will be matted. We were a group of 30 and everyone was very pleased. If you are looking for a more expensive alternative the Park Hyatt is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Hotel Sunroute Plazashinjuku.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the shinjuku train station, the price, and the fact that the limousine bus could take us directly there, and we could check in late. Rooms are small but clean and efficient. Hotel staff was very accommodating and let us borrow umbrellas and gave us directions and maps. There's also quite a bit to do in walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I was really happy that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and service you recived during your stay.

Many thanks once again and we do look forward to your return to the hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Best thing about the hotel is that it is located within walking distance (5-10mins) of the shinjuku station and not too expensive.

Rooms are small, cosy and clean. Service is good. There is no safe in the room but you can deposit your valuables at the reception!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wxjxjxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Hotel Sunroute Plazashinjuku.

We appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I booked the Standard Single room which is small but good enough for one person. I was very glad that they allow me to check in before 1100 hours. This was really great as it's immediate check in which I really need after almost nine hours of flight plus train ride to Shinjuku and I was not feeling well. The front desk/most of the staff are proficient in English and helpful but the only thing is they fail to recommend me to sign up for the Sunroute Club Point Card. I only remember about this on my last day while waiting for the bus to airport but it was too late to fill up any form as I don't want to miss the bus. Can I sign up for this card though I have left Tokyo?

As mentioned the room is small but it is just a place to sleep. The mattress is a bit sunken and felt back discomfort the next day, the carpet as mentioned by many other guests is dirty with many stains, some stains can be found on the wallpaper and a bit on the shower curtain. I brought my own slippers as would not want to wear "recycled" slippers though there was a note saying it has been cleaned. There is a small wardrobe for clothes just next to the door to the room. I do not like the fact that the wardrobe has no door and next to the door - the door is opened when the housekeeping staff is cleaning the room and other guest passing by might steal your clothes! Everytime I go out I have to push my clothes out of the sight of any passer by and first thing I look when I open the door is to check if all my clothes are there!

The bus from Narita only operates from 1415 hours so those arriving in the morning need to take the train. Maybe the hotel can work with the bus company to implement the operating hours from morning to the hotel. Though walking distance from Shinjuku Station South exit it would be more convenient to take the bus for those with big luggages.

My first choice of hotel is Kadoya but most rooms are fully booked and I have to change room (different category of room) every night. After reading many reviews of Hotel Sunroute Plaza I cancelled my reservation at Shinjuku Washington though the hotel rate is cheaper. Kadoya was my first choice as I can take the airport bus to Keio Plaza hotel and walk there and Shinjuku Washington has airport buses to the hotel from morning but this hotel is far from Shinjuku station.

After my stay at Hotel Sunroute Plaza; this will always be my choice of hotel. Great location, free WIFI etc..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We appreciate your honest comments.
It’s great you made use of our excellent location.
I agree that some of the room carpet is dirty and we make this clear.

Thank you again for leaving your comments.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Like before, a very good choice. Rooms typical for Japan, fantastic location. Good wifi, Airport Limousine Bus for both airports drop-off and pick-up from this hotel. Very close to Shinjuku station with access to many lines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr15t1n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your staying with us!!
We are very glad to hear your comment!

We are looking forward to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is very near to the Shinjuku station. It is modern, clean and comfortable. Staff are very polite and helpful.
Although the room is clean, it is very small.
Breakfast are both Western and Japanese.

Note: If you are travelling to several cities in Japan using public transport and don’t want to drag your big suitcases with you, we found the Luggage Transfer service is very efficient and convenient. The hotel will send your suit cases onwards to your next hotel for a fee. Highly recommended if you don’t want the hassle of lugging big suitcases on busy trains/buses.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldeneye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント 一般職 at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank for you for staying Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjyuku.
We are apologize that some inconvenience of our room.

We really appreciate for your comment.
We are looking forward of serving you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,138 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £99 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Sunroute Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing