We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for 1st Tokyo Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is very close to Shinjuku Station, a major hub in the Japanese subway system. For your first visit to Tokyo, this is a great place to stay. All major tourist areas are available off the lines into and out of Shinjuku, many only a few stops away. Everyone at reception could speak some English - enough to help and understand your needs. The staff at reception was able to book us tickets on the Airport Limo bus to the airport. This is a huge convenience whether you are flying out of Narita or Haneda. Bus will pick you up right at the hotel. About USD $12 to Haneda and about USD $30 to Narita.

Westerners will find the rooms small and the mattresses hard. If you travel abroad at all, you will not be surprised. The rooms serve the basic need of a place to sleep. The hotel staff was attentive and helpful. The hotel common areas are immaculate. Take advantage of the Guest Lounge on the second floor as it is a cozy space to use the computers or relax between excursions in the city. If you need supplies there is a FamilyMart across the street and a 7-11 down the block. The hotel does have laundry facilities, 300 yen to wash and 100 yen per 30 minutes to dry. The dryers do not get very hot so you will need to put it on for a long time or wash only a few items. There are 3 washers and 3 dryers.

This was my first trip to Japan and this hotel really helped me enjoy our time in the city. We do not require a lot of attention when we travel so we did not ask a great deal from the staff. I always say to remember you are in someone else's house (country) so be a good house guest and act accordingly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrLito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for your message, and happy honeymoon!
We are happy to hear that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon.
As you said, Shinjuku is a very convenient area, which is a major hub in the Japanese subway system. You can visit the major tourist area in Tokyo from here.
If you have chance to come Japan, please visit us again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,150 of 4,857 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a return visit to this hotel. The location is superb, about a 2 minute walk from the South Exit of Shinjuku station. It's also very good for arriving or leaving for the Narita airport express train. Just make sure you take the correct exit, otherwise you could find yourself getting very disoriented! This was $80 a night cheaper than what I considered to be an inferior hotel we stayed in the previous night. The service is good and the rooms are small but clean. If you're spending any time in your room that isn't purely for sleeping or showering, you're wasting time, get out and see the sights!
Have been before and will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthmeadGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for your comment.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
As you said, you can take the Narita express to go to the airport from Shinjuku station.
We also have the airport limousine bus from our hotel everyday.
Please visit us again if you have chance to visit Tokyo.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights and found it a very pleasurable experience. the bright single rooms are very good and comfortable and the location is great. the staff were very helpful and spoke English very well. I would very happily return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for commenting our hotel.
We are really appreciated that you left a comment like this.
That comment will help our service to be improved.
We are looking forward to seeing you sometimes in the future
Best regards.

Front desk Hiroshi Igari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location is very good, one minute walk to the JR train station where you will find a lot of department store around, and a lot of restaurants and bars. There is also direct bus service right from the hotel front door to the airport and you can reserve tickets from the front desk, saving you the effort in buying the ticket else where and can guarantee you a seat, and also effortless in handling the luggage as the hotel will help to bring it to the bus for you. Room is on the small side but it would be the case elsewhere in Tokyo. The staff speak very fluent English as well, which is quite helpful in Japan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Sunroute  Plazashinjuku.

I was really pleased to read your kind words and have passed them on to our stuff at the hotel. Please do come and stay with us again which I hope is very soon.

Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed there for 4 nights.
the rooms are not big but this is as expected in Tokyo hotels , room was very clean and neat and had all the needed facilities.
the location of the hotel is excellent very close to Shinjuku station so you are close both for the subway system and the trains to/from the airport.
the staff is helpfull and speaks very good English.
a lot of restaurants nearby both for Japanese and western food.
highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for you very kind words following your recent stay.

It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on the top floor. It was very good. Very clean (expected I guess). I like how you can have a "eco friendly" sign and the cleaners only take the trash out and not touch or make up the bed/change the towels. The location is very close to JR Shinjuku or JR Yoyogi stations.

Rooms are quite 'big' for Japanese standards. A few things I didnt like: The shower head wasnt that great, water flow rate was poor, but I managed. Needs a few more power points I couldn't find them on the desk, used the one in the bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and polite. お疲れ様でした

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I sincerely thank you for your honest review.
I am glad to hear that our staff was nice.

I have passed on your comments to our stuff and I do hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Please do come and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Traveled throughout Japan for 3 weeks in September. On the advice of Japanese friends, we booked htis hotel - and it was a wise choice. Took a bus from Narita to hotel and settled into a small room (compared to US standards). The desk staff spoke English very well and thre is a robust morning buffet - something for everyone. And the surrounding area was full of shops, restraurants, and bars. And there was easy access to the metro line making travel to other parts of the city very easy. I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Our team appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,061 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £99 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing