We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Nearby Hotels
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$472
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,153)
Filter reviews
5,153 results
Traveller rating
2,148
2,436
445
84
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,148
2,436
445
84
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseconomy double roomgreat locationsouth exitfamily martnarita airportrooms are smalloedo lineminute walkwalking distancejr stationpost officebuffet breakfastcoin laundrysouthern terrace exitfree internettokyu handsstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
2,377 - 2,382 of 5,153 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I was here for 3 nights for work.

The hotel is like others have said, well-located near the south exit of Shinjuku station. This gives you easy access to the rest of Tokyo, and the immediate area had Takashimaya Times Square, Tokyu Hands, Lumine, and tons of other shopping and dining options.

The rooms are small, but it's Tokyo and that's expected.

The hotel breakfast is nice and worth the price.

Staff were all helpful and friendly and spoke English. The lobby has information about how to get to nearly any tourist spot using trains and subways.

My room needed new carpeting. The bed was comfortable with a duvet cover and two pillows--one Japanese style and the other a fluffier version for westerners.

The hotel had signs posted that renovations to the rooms and public areas are coming in July, so I think the rooms will be even nicer then.

For the price, this is a good option in Tokyo.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for staying our hotel and left a comment here.
We are really appreciated that you commented here. This comment certainly motivated our hotel staff. We are really happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. Yes, the hotel will be renovated in this year, so the hotel will be better next time you come.
Yours sincerely.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for only one night, at the end of a tour of Northern Japan. We were able to walk comfortably with our wheeled bags from Shinjuku station, a big interchange station in Tokyo. The walk was no more than a quarter mile, probably less. To my wife's delight we were within a short walk of some department stores with an excellent array of stuff. Heading the other direction the following morning we we crossed one street and hit the more colorful and eclectic night-time area - several blocks of small restaurants, bars and other. We wish we had seen this area at night.

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient There was a good breakfast buffet - but not great in comparison to some places we had been to in Northern Japan. The room was comfortable if a little small by US standards. It looked like it was due for some renovation and indeed that is what the hotel is planning for this year. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewsY903HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your stay with Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate for your compliment.
If you come to Tokyo ,
we are looking forwards to see you again.

Best regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We picked this hotel from other reviews of its location. Close to Shinjuku station which we used every day for our sight seeing and shopping trips. Twin room was ample for the two of us. The room could do with some new fixtures as well worn. Family mart and Starbucks close by. There was a bit of a wait to do our laundry as only 3 washers and dryers and one washing machine was not working. The dryers are not very hot so took awhile to dry clothes. Staff spoke enough English to get by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
We were really happy that overall you enjoyed your stay here.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and service you recived during your stay.
But we were sorry that you waited for a while for our laundry on the basement.
Many thanks once again and we do look forward to your return to the hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I love travelling and we regard hotel experience as part of very important part of our trip. We have stayed at Sunroute Plaza for over 5 times, every time with overall good experience. The only thing I would think it could improve, if anything, is to take a little more global hotel service approach and offer something beyond Sunroute rewards card. For example, for frequent customer, a chance for a room upgrade or a complimentary gift for those who book for special occasion on low season. We have been to a business hotel, 30-30, and we didn't have to ask for a nice touch of small flowers and card congratulating us on our anniversary when we arrived after we noted it on its standard booking template. Another hotel in Australia or Hong Kong offered us upgrade due to our frequency of travel. Japanese don't tend to see birthdays or anniversary as worth of these kind of acts? Let's try more global service approach and do something more? That would make this hotel a stand out business hotel.

Room Tip: Know that Japanese rooms are by standard very small
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjaxTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your valuable comment.
For the guests who have the Sunroute point card, we offer a special plan on our website now.
Members would receive the following benefits,
1. Early check-in at 12:00
2. One complementary breakfast ticket for each guest
3. One bottle of mineral water for each guest
If you have chance to visit Japan again, please consider reserving from our official website.
We are look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

this is a somewhat standard hotel in a city where there is a lot more to do than stay in your room...
good because the rooms are very small. the lobby has no particular charm. there is no pool or fitness. the restaurant is very average. there is no room service at night.

that being said, it is a good value for money place. great location in shinjuku. near the subways and the train station. and of course plenty of bars, restaurants, stores nearby. perfectly quiet and clean rooms. efficient reception staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear sir or madam

Thank you for staying at our hotel, and thank you for your comment.

We are sorry, but we don't have fitness and pool at our hotel.
About the room servise, we provide from 5 to 10 p.m., mainly Italian food and wine.

As you said, there are many restaurants, bars, shops around our hotel.
If you have chance to come Tokyo, please visit us again.

Best regards,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews