We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for Shinjuku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for Shinjuku”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

As everyone has mentioned one of the best things about Hotel Sunroute is that it is very closely located to Shinjuku JR Station. It's about a 5 minute walk from the South Exit (South Exit is also handy if you want to activate your JR pass). There's plenty of stuff to do within a 10 minute walk from the hotel- there are quite a few major department stores (with great depachika, the food basements, especially at Takashimaya), restaurants and other entertainments incl the Tokyo Government buildings. A Family Mart (24 hour convenience store) is about 200m from the hotel.

The front desk staff were very helpful and able to supply a map to point out unusual locations. Wifi was reliable. A small coin-operated laundry is present in the carpark.

I stayed in a single bright room- "bright" means there is a window in the bathroom that overlooks the bed and outside window. The room was typically Tokyo small; my hard suitcase ended up on the floor as it did not fit the folding luggage rack. I was surprised that the carpet looked dirty (it could do with a steam clean) but everything else was immaculate. I note on the hotel website that there are to be renovations from July. Everything was comfortable and quiet- I did not hear my neighbours or the road traffic for my 3 day stay.

With the great price and location of this hotel, I would stay at Hotel Sunroute again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.

To give you full satisfaction of your stay, our hotel staff have been trying to improve and enhance our service everyday.
Also, as you already know,our hotel will be renovated from this July, so Next time you stay our hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your patronage.

Front desk Rie Tamaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,924
    2,166
    374
    63
    29
See reviews for
894
1,856
552
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for ten nights and had no major complaints at all. The only negative I had was at time the WIFI was annoyingly slow and sometimes would not work at all. The hotel is a tad dated but is well maintained and comfortable, plus rather large compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Japan. the staff were always lovely and very accommodating, they made us several bookings to restaurants (at our request) and took care of the process eliminating any language barriers.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely! We plan to return to Japan in 2015 and will definitely stay at this hotel again. The location and service is excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevengreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Hotel Sunroute Plazashinjuku.

We appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.

Please do come and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent service , fluent English speaking staff who are friendly and helpful. Comfortable and clean - room is good sized and well efficiently furnished/laid out. Location is fantastic - great convenience with subway and JR lines nearby, a short walk to major shopping malls and there are nice eateries ad 24 hours minimarts right at doorstep. Nice selection at breakfast. Nothing negative to mention at all. Thumbs up to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liddy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for coming to review our hotel for yourself.

I do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.
Many thanks once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I visited Japan for 5 times and every time I stayed at Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku which is very convenient. The location is near subway and JR stations, so it is easy to go anywhere by train including Narita Airport. Lots of Department stores, shopping and dining areas are near, just walk to it. Staffs are helpful and friendly. I got almost of the informations I needed from the staff and they are wiling to help. The room is clean. I have great stay here. This hotel will be my first choice for stayting in Tokyo. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirakit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel for many times.
We are really happy to see the guest coming back to our hotel many times.
To give you full satisfaction of your stay, our hotel staff have been trying to improve and enhance our service everyday. Also, our hotel will be renovated in this year, so Next time you stay hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
Looking forward to seeing you some other time.
Thank you for your patronage.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed 7 nights at this hotel in May 2014. The staff were excellent - both check in/out staff and the staff working in the breakfast restaurant. Rooms were small (this is common in Japan), but were clean and very comfortable. Great beds. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was excellent. WiFi in the room worked well. Shinjuku station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Also the Keio bus station is a short walk away too. There are a lot of places to eat in the surrounding area. Overall Shinjuku was an excellent place to stay whilst visiting Tokyo. We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveAndyAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for commenting our hotel.
We are really appreciated the comment like this.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying our hotel and had a good time in Shinjuku.
Certainly looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Our hotel will be renovated this year, so if you have a change to stay our hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
Yours sincerely.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I checked in on 29 May and cheked out on 2 Jun. I booked online through their website and had requested for non-smoking and high floor room. Both my requests were met. As I had their member card which was issued to me for my stay there last year, I was allowed to check out at 1.00 pm instead of 11.00 am.

A great hotel in Tokyo with good service staff and easy access to Shinjuku station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir of Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We are really happy that we were able to met your request.
The hotel will be renovated this year. Next time you come to the hotel next year, the hotel will be different in a good way.
We certainly looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Yours sincerely.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located very conveniently with the subway station just right next door. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful too. Rooms were clean and tidy. We had a great stay in Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for commenting our hotel.
We are really happy that we were able to give you full satisfaction of your stay.
We certainly looking forward to seeing you next time you come to Japan.
Again, thank you for your patronage.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing