We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, nice bed, great to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is close to everything such as the train station, subway, familymart, department store, and variety restaurants around there. Hotel attendants are very helpful with a good hospitality and good communication in English. You will not disappoint to chose this hotel for your great holidays in Japan.

Room Tip: A twin room with a non- smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for you very kind words following your recent stay.
It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,139 - 2,145 of 4,904 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location, 3 minutes walk to Shinjuku station, subway adjacent, bus/limos direct from the hotel to both Hanada and Narita airports, etc. The rooms are quite a bit smaller here than the competing Japanese chain Prince hotels, but this location is absolutely the best overall in Tokyo. So many restaurants and stores of all categories nearby, convenience store right across the street.

I repeat that the room is small, even a twin bed room, but it's super clean, well equipped. CNN is the only English language t.v. station. Free wifi worked great.

The one problem is their website, which doesn't work well. You can request a non-smoking room, and the website changes it to a smoking room. And the website makes you put the dates in multiple times to make a booking, and i think it erases the non smoking preference you indicated earlier. I was accused of not booking a non-smoking room. Then on their confirmation, it doesn't specify any smoking preference, so i guess they just assign you a smoking room. This is a problem if they can't confirm what you book.

The breakfast buffet, about $12, is a bargain, just wish it had more fruit, and the scrambled eggs are hardly cooked at all.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The amazing location here trumps everything else in Tokyo for me. A bit expensive, for the size of the room, and the tiny bathroom, but I suppose the price is fair for the area. If you join their (free) club, you can have 10% off dinner in their restaurant (small portions!), and get a 1 pm checkout instead of 11 AM.

Very comfortable bedding, small refrigerator in the room, but NO SAFE in the room, which is annoying.

Room Tip: So many high buildings nearby, I don't think there are great views anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel.
It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback.
If you would come back to Tokyo,
we are looking foward to seeing you in the furute.
Again thank you very much for staying and your comments.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Exactly as majority of the reviews posted ......

Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to Shinjuku station, shopping mall etc. Good price for that location. Staff speak fluent English, which is an asset to tourist. There is also a limousine bus services to and from both Narita and Haneda airport, which is very convenient. Although the room is abit small, but it is clean and well equipped. Housekeeping staff are very friendly too.

Will definitely stay there again for my trip trip!!

Room Tip: Preferably to choose a non smoking room (if you are not a smoker). Hotel is going to renovate all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying at our hotel .
We are happy to hear that you chose our hotel .
As you said, Shinjuku is a very convenient area, which is a major hub in the Japanese subway あand Japan railway system. You can visit the major tourist area in Tokyo from here.
About the room, we are very pleased with your glad comments but sorry for a bit small.
If you have chance to come Japan, please visit us again.
Thank you very much .

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Sunroute Plaza is conveniently located right near Shinjuku plaza and only a walk away from Shinjuku's restaurants and shopping. If you're planning to be out and about most of your stay and using the train system to travel around Tokyo, Sunroute is perfect. The staff speak fluent English and are more than willing to help with any queries.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We appreciate your kind comments
and we are very glad that you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel in Shinjuku.
Thank you very much for your feedback,
we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Absolutely lovely experience. Staff were helpful and spoke fluent English. The hotel itself has a great location as its only a couple minutes walk to Shinjuku station. Theres also a bus service from the airport that can take you there. The room, although small for Western standards, was relatively bigger then other hotels Ive stayed in in Tokyo on other trips. The room was fully stocked with toiletries, which is fantastic if you've forgot to bring something. Definitely will be staying there on my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We appreciate your kind comments and
it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback.
If you would come back to Tokyo
we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Sunroute is a very functional business hotel (though many tourists stay there). It's 5 minutes from Shinjuku station so if you're a tourist in Tokyo, the proximity to the station makes sightseeing a lot more efficient. I've stayed 20 minutes from a station and it was a hike getting in and out everyday. As many have noted, the rooms are small (even by NYC standards) but that's how things are in Japan. Check out user photos to get a sense. The neighborhood is safe (everywhere in Tokyo is safe) and there's restaurants and convenience stores 1 minute away. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregtakayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for staying at our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments
and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
But we are sorry that your booking room was a bit small.
Thank you again for your feedback,
we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is our first visit to Tokyo and we are so glad we chose the Sunroute Plaza. The hotels’ location is fantastic being very conveniently located in Shinjuku to the main attractions, shopping and sights with numerous eateries and “Food Markets or Seven Elevens” in very close proximity. These were very handy to buy fresh fruit, a decent take away ramen or even a beer! For a snack, breakfast, lunch or dinner you need only take a short 1-minute walk where you will find the usual McDonalds, First Kitchen through to various local eateries. We did enjoy breakfast downstairs one raining morning and for approx. 1500 yen each, found the presentation, variety and taste quite good. It was a mixture of western and Asian influences and good enough to go to again if another rainy morning should strike. We also went to one happy hour session (between 5-7pm) at the bar where for 550 yen/drink, there was a wide range of beer, spirits and cocktails available. It looked comfortable but unfortunately smoking was allowed in the lounge area. We opted to stay at the bar for an hour or so away from the smoke – still a very pleasant experience enjoying our drinks before heading out for more sight seeing.

I booked 2 rooms – a standard twin and a double, each located on the top 14th floor. The double although quite small had a double bed and it was perfect for our son. Both rooms were immaculately presented and spotlessly cleaned daily with fresh pyjamas laid out on the bed each day. One less thing to wash! The twin was roomy enough for my wife and I and the associated suitcases and shopping. As reported the beds are ultra hard, but nonetheless it was some of the best sleep that we had. The rooms had a nice ambience and felt modern, the air-conditioning worked well. There were no noise issues from house keeping or lifts. The supplies for the bathroom including body wash, sponges, etc. were better than any than we had experienced in any 5 star in Australia or hotels in Hong Kong or Singapore. For those used to awful grainy pictures on hotels TVs, you will be very happy with the quality image on the in room TVs. For western tastes, if you drink hotel tea/ coffee – there is none provided, green tea only which is not a big issue. Also no in room safe.

The weather was variable during our 8-day stay, with about half the time being showery. So it was with much delight to find this hotel very conveniently located right next to a subway entrance for 2 of the lines running around Tokyo. It meant keeping dry if needing to catch the train. Not that Shinjuku station was far away being only about a 5-10 minute stroll depending on pedestrian traffic and whether you had baggage to wheel. The airport limousine bus from Narita Airport dropped us at the hotel – convenient when raining! On checkout we walked our suitcases from the hotel to Shinjuku train station on a hot humid morning to catch the train to Shinagawa station. Not an issue as a lot of others are doing the same.

I was surprised to find complimentary umbrellas provided at reception for those days when they were needed. The Wi-Fi was complimentary and there are 3 washing machines (300 yen/ wash) and separate dryers (100yen for 30 mins) in the basement. The staff were friendly, had a understanding of English and the service was excellent. The small tings and this convenience all added up to a great experience at this hotel and made our stay in Tokyo a greater experience.

Thank you Sunroute. We miss it already and will be returning here again.

Room Tip: For couples, if you need more room - go for a twin bed. BYO tea and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for commenting our hotel.
We are really appreciated the comment like this.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying our hotel and had a good time in Shinjuku.
Certainly looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Our hotel will be renovated this year, so if you have a change to stay our hotel,
the hotel will be different in a good way. Again thank you very much for your comment.

Yours sincerely.

Front desk Yutaro Takeuchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,114 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £97 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Sunroute Co., Ltd., JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing