We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, 5mins to Shinjuku JR station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) booked the triple room and we stayed for 7 nights. We've got the 13th floor facing the main road. The room is pretty big compared to other hotels in Japan. When we arrived at Shinjuku JR Station, we took the south terrace exit. The hotel is just 5mins from the south terrace exit or south exit. There is a family mart and cafes situated right in front of the hotel. Takashimaya, Krispy Kreme and Starbucks are just 3mins away. Would definitely come back to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku if we do visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments
and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
To give you full satisfaction of your stay, we have been trying to improve and enhance our service everyday.

If you would come back Tokyo, we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thanks and Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 4,851 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

A decent location if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Shinjuku as it is on a quieter side at the southern end of Shinjuku. The fact that the airport limousine bus serves this hotel makes it popular with many travellers. A quick below 10 minute walk to Yoyogi station is a great alternative to Shinjuku. If you use the Metro line or Oedo line, it is just next to the hotel.
Breakfast while not a spread, is more than adequate with the variety present, offering both Continental and Japanese styled fare. Great that they offer take-out cups for coffee and tea if you are in a rush.

Room Tip: book early for their promotional rates. you can also sign up to be a Sunroute member and enjoy some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for staying at our hotel .
We are happy to hear that you chose our hotel and give us your comments.
As you said, Shinjuku is a very convenient area, which is a major hub in the Japanese subway system and the famous Yoyogi park and so on.
You can visit the major tourist area in Tokyo from here.
If you have chance to come Japan, please visit us again.
Thank you very much .

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel had a very convenient location to Shinjuku Station as well as another train/subway line right next to the hotel and easy access to the action of Shinjuku, including walking distance to Kabuki-cho. Room was comfortable size for me and my sister - 2 comfortable beds, 2 different kinds of pillows, an armchair w/ ottoman and a desk chair, tub w/ handheld shower, washlet, big bottles of liquid soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, Qtips, hotpot w/ tea and pajamas. Modern hotel, not that full so elevators came quickly and lobby not busy - I imagine it's a different story during peak season. Staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and spoke English well. Had a currency machine (convenient, but pricey) and we could purchase airport limousine bus passes from Front Desk and conveniently picked up at the hotel to Haneda or Narta Airports.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivingLife808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

.Thank you for staying at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.
We appreciate your kind comments and
it’s great you enjoyed our hotel and
the positioning of the hotel from Shinjuku station.
And we always do our best for the guests.
Thank you again for your feedback,
If you would come back to Japan,
we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has excellent location which is about a 5 minute walk to Shinjuku station. There are a lot of wonderful restaurants and stores nearby and a convenience store right opposite.
Free Wi-Fi in the room. We had a queen room which was very clean and very well equipped.

Breakfast was a buffet which is a bonus for me as I have a food intolerance.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. You can also join there free club which initials you to a later checkout and 10% off your dinner if you eat in their restaurant.

We were very happy with the hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a queen room which is bigger, some rooms are only doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments
and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
To give you full satisfaction of your stay, our hotel staff have been trying to improve and enhance our service everyday.
Also, as you already know,our hotel will be renovated from this July.
Next time you stay our hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
If you would come bck Tokyo, we are looking forward to seeing you in tha future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is close to everything such as the train station, subway, familymart, department store, and variety restaurants around there. Hotel attendants are very helpful with a good hospitality and good communication in English. You will not disappoint to chose this hotel for your great holidays in Japan.

Room Tip: A twin room with a non- smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for you very kind words following your recent stay.
It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location, 3 minutes walk to Shinjuku station, subway adjacent, bus/limos direct from the hotel to both Hanada and Narita airports, etc. The rooms are quite a bit smaller here than the competing Japanese chain Prince hotels, but this location is absolutely the best overall in Tokyo. So many restaurants and stores of all categories nearby, convenience store right across the street.

I repeat that the room is small, even a twin bed room, but it's super clean, well equipped. CNN is the only English language t.v. station. Free wifi worked great.

The one problem is their website, which doesn't work well. You can request a non-smoking room, and the website changes it to a smoking room. And the website makes you put the dates in multiple times to make a booking, and i think it erases the non smoking preference you indicated earlier. I was accused of not booking a non-smoking room. Then on their confirmation, it doesn't specify any smoking preference, so i guess they just assign you a smoking room. This is a problem if they can't confirm what you book.

The breakfast buffet, about $12, is a bargain, just wish it had more fruit, and the scrambled eggs are hardly cooked at all.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The amazing location here trumps everything else in Tokyo for me. A bit expensive, for the size of the room, and the tiny bathroom, but I suppose the price is fair for the area. If you join their (free) club, you can have 10% off dinner in their restaurant (small portions!), and get a 1 pm checkout instead of 11 AM.

Very comfortable bedding, small refrigerator in the room, but NO SAFE in the room, which is annoying.

Room Tip: So many high buildings nearby, I don't think there are great views anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel.
It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback.
If you would come back to Tokyo,
we are looking foward to seeing you in the furute.
Again thank you very much for staying and your comments.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Exactly as majority of the reviews posted ......

Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to Shinjuku station, shopping mall etc. Good price for that location. Staff speak fluent English, which is an asset to tourist. There is also a limousine bus services to and from both Narita and Haneda airport, which is very convenient. Although the room is abit small, but it is clean and well equipped. Housekeeping staff are very friendly too.

Will definitely stay there again for my trip trip!!

Room Tip: Preferably to choose a non smoking room (if you are not a smoker). Hotel is going to renovate all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for staying at our hotel .
We are happy to hear that you chose our hotel .
As you said, Shinjuku is a very convenient area, which is a major hub in the Japanese subway あand Japan railway system. You can visit the major tourist area in Tokyo from here.
About the room, we are very pleased with your glad comments but sorry for a bit small.
If you have chance to come Japan, please visit us again.
Thank you very much .

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,052 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £99 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Expedia, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing