We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Choosing a hotel can be very overwhelming in a city as vibrant as Tokyo. The Sunroute Plaza is a safe choice boasting clean room ands stylish decor. Whilst it lacks luxuries such as a swimming pool or gym it is close to train stations, restaurant districts and shopping, making an ideal spot for anyone visiting Tokyo. Our only issue was our uncomfortable pillows but once we notified the staff they immediately gave us replacements.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We hope you had a good journey!

We greatly appreciated your kind comments.
Also we were happy to see your comments that you satisfied about our location.
And we are sorry for inconvenient the pillows.
Every time, we'll do our best service for the guest.
If you would come back Tokyo, we are waiting for you in here,Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku.

Thanks and Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,206 - 2,212 of 5,030 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a very comfortable reasonably priced hotel in a good location. There are restaurants, shops and a station nearby plus several combini stores. The room we had at the front of the hotel did get a lot of street noise however.
The rooms are quite small but clean and well equipped.
The buffet breakfast had a good selection of dishes and staff throughout were polite and helpful.
We tried the restaurant on the first evening and it was adequate but not exceptional.
As with most Japanese restaurants/hotels the "highchair" for children that was offered was just that - not what is considered a highchair in the UK with a safety harness etc but just a raised up scaled down version of an ordinary chair with an open front. The "fit's any chair" fabric portable highchair harness that had been purchased in the UK did not fit any chair in the hotel either so an alternative was purchased by a Japanese relative that attached to the table itself (including the low style traditional Japanese dining table)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank goldfishnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
The location is one of our strong point.
However if you felt noisy for street noise, sorry about it.
And thank you so much for your advise about child chair.
We will consider about it in future.
If you would have chance to come back to Tokyo,
we are looking forward to seeing your family in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent service and reasonable sized room for 7 nights. Good location convenient to the station and a walk to yoyogi (10 mins) and further to shibuya (35 mins). The coin laundry was a bonus as I hate paying over the odds for clean clothes.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guests
Thank you for staying with our hotel.
We really appreciated to give us a good comment for our hotel.
We always do our best for the guests to stay here comfortable and relax.
If you have a time to come to Tokyo, please visit us again.
We are looking to forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the moment we arrived here, we knew we'd picked well. The lobby is stylish without being uncomfortably over the top, and the attendants at the fron desk were extremely polite and helpful. Most of them seemed to be able to understand more than basic English, which is reassuring to fall back on if your Japanese fails you!
Our room was quote small, especially with a travel cot and all our luggage, but you don't go all the way to Tokyo to just sit in a hotel room! The room was kept clean and tidy, and the bathroom was stocked with toothbrushes, toothpaste, hairbrushes, razors and toiletries. The only problem we encountered in the room (infact, in the whole of our stay) was that the kettle to a very, very long time to boil. When your baby is crying for a bottle at 4am (or we were desperate for a cup of tea!) this could be a little frustrating.
We tried the restaurant on our first night as we were too late to go out- service was excellent and there was a lovely atmosphere. The food is Italian and was delicious, but we felt that it would have been nice to have had the option to try more Japanese cuisine.
Breakfast was great! As it was a buffet you could have Japanese, Western or Continental style food (or some of each!). Personally I felt the Western food left a little to be desired- the scrambled egg was runny, and the sausages were hot-dog style (they seem to be like this in most Japanese hotels) and there were no vegetables like mushrooms, grilled tomatoes or beans which I always enjoy with a cooked breakfast! This did not really detract from the breakfast on the whole though, and it was nice to try something new.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone wishing to stay in Shinjuku without breaking the budget. Shinjuku station is very close, as are a huge variety of shops and restaurants, yet despite the proximity to one of Tokyo's biggest stations, you get a very good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LibsDibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your kindness comments.
There is more chance for us to make our service better.
On the other hand, sorry for giving you the inconvenience
about the furniture.
As you seem to felt, that our hotel's location is one of
strong point.
Hope you will have a chance to come back to Tokyo, our hotel
again and enjoy the stay and cuisine here!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Bed was so comfortable that it was out of my expectation for the price I paid.
Room was pretty small but was sufficient for myself and my husband.

Location is superb ! So near to takashimaya and tokyu hands. Many eateries with reasonable pricing compared to shinjuku town.


Staffs were so courteous and friendly to extend their help to guests.

Thumbs up. I can't wait to visit tokyo again and will definitely stay in hotel sunroute plaza shinjuku!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kclp136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We thank you so much for staying at our hotel.
It’s great you enjoyed our location.
I was really pleased to read that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback.
If you would like to come back to Tokyo,
we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Again thank you very much for staying and your comments.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the start of July for 5 nights on the 3 rd floor. As requested the hotel was able to give us adjoining double rooms so we could sleep a parent and child in each room. The rooms are tiny but not a problem , we had room for our suitcases along the side of the bed and didn't spend much time there The room and bathroom were very clean . Quality sheets . The air con worked well in the hot sticky weather . We couldn't hear any street noise and the hotel was extremely quiet in general.
Breakfast was included , my suggestion is the scrambled eggs were terrible and they should stick to fried eggs. Otherwise a couple of cereals offered, asian and western style breakfasts. Breakfast was adequate and if not included so cheap that I couldn't complain
The front desk staff are very helpful and all spoke English. There is not a safe in the room but there is one available at the desk. The free wifi is excellent. Very fast and reliable.
The location is brilliant. It feels closer to shinjuku station and stores than it appears on the map. Only a few minutes. If wanting to avoid any bustle on the street you can cross the road, up some steps and walk along quiet spacious southern terrace past Krispy crime and Starbucks. The Nex platform is closest to this so very easy for us and our kids to walk with our suitcases to catch the train back to the airport. If you cross behind Krispy creme there is a new wide walkway to Tokyo Hands. The airport bus also stops here.
A block or 2 away you can find many streets of restaurants and shops . The red light district is on the far side of the station so we didn't have to walk through with our kids.
We would absolutely look forward to returning to this hotel and can highly recommend it for affordability , amenities and location .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roaringduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for staying our hotel.
We appreciate your kind comments
and it’s great you enjoyed the location and positioning of the hotel.
And, we are sorry for inconvenient for the room and breakfast.
We'll suggest to the manager of the restaurant.
Also, as you already know,our hotel will be renovated from this July.
Next time you stay our hotel, the hotel will be different in a good way.
If you would come back to Tokyo, we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The smoking rooms gives bad odor to the hotel corridor, but they plan to renovate it into all non-smoking room. This is the only inconvenient felt while I was staying here. The location is very strategic. The size of the room is sufficient for rest while the cleanliness is good.

Room Tip: Choose the non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gitams1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comment.
And also thanks to using hotel sunroute plaza shinjyuku.

We are sorry for inconvenient about the smoking floor.
As you mentioned, our hotel is now remodeling to all non-smoking room.
It'll be finished on November.
Every time, we'll do the best service for you.
If you have chance to come to Tokyo, please visit us again.
We are looking forward to seeing you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,031 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,469 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £96 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing