We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to be close to everything, stay at this hotel in Shinjuku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want to be close to everything, stay at this hotel in Shinjuku”
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews it had on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed!

1. The hotel was clean and new and the service was excellent.
2. Apparently there is high speed internet access in your room, but remember to bring a cable as there is no wireless access. There is however, internet in the business lounge where you can also have access to free hot drinks while you are waiting. There is also a printer available. The keyboard (which has English and Japanese keys) however, is a little different as some of the keys (such as the underscore) are not where we usually expect them to be. In addition, the applications (such as Word) are in Japanese, but if you know how to navigate through the menus in general, you will not have much trouble figuring it out.
3. While the room is smaller than what most of us would be used to, it was still spacious enough for 2 people.
4. Once you have settled in and are ready to go exploring, go to the Lobby and get a map of the Tokyo subway. It consists of colourful railway lines criscrossing the page. Take it with you so you can figure out which line to take. Also, ask Reception for a map of restaurants and stores around Shinjuku. This will be invaluable to you.
5. We went to Akihabara in search of camera equipment in a store called Yodabashi. We also went to Ogawamachi station to find London Sports, a store that sells discount snowboarding and skiing gear (although we ended up buying the snowboarding gear in a store called Victoria instead. The board, boots, bindings, board bag, goggles and gloves cost Y36000 all up. While London Sports has cheap snow clothing and boards etc, we felt the quality was better at Victoria.) The best tip for travellers to Japan also looking for these items is that you can get them all in Shinjuku! Most of the shops we were looking for in Japan, are actually located in Shinjuku. For example, Don Quixote (aka Donki in Japanese) is a variety store that sells everything from exercise equipment, to costumes, food and toys. It's definitely a must-see for you never know what you'll find. Lush is a store that sells beauty products; Zara sells women's clothing; UniQlo sells a variety of clothing for men and women; Tokyu Hands sells everything you need to satisfy your home decorating, craft, accessories, travelling needs and more; and Kinokuniya has a wide selection of English and Japanese books and magazines. All of these stores are in Shinjuku and not far from the hotel. So save time by making all your purchases in Shinjuku and spend the rest of your time just sight seeing. Don't forget to claim your tax refund at the store.
6. The quickest way to get to the hotel is by taking the Airport Limousine bus which is Y3000 yen per person. In the event that you have just missed the bus that takes you to the hotel, do not be afraid to take the bus that merely takes you to Shinjuku. The drop off point is just down the road from your hotel, a short 5 minute walk. When you get off the bus, walk to the intersection and a shop called First Kitchen (with orange lights) should be on your right hand side. Cross the road and keep going straight until you pass McDonalds on your right and the hotel is just near that.
7. There is an AM PM which is a convenience store across the road from the hotel. We found it useful for stocking up on drinks (you can even buy alcohol there) and chips and lollies or whatever else we needed. Next door to the hotel is Maynds Tower, where there is a citibank atm open 24 hours a day. It easily accepts foreign cards and you can get a cash advance from there too. Ensure that you have changed up enough yen to carry you through the weekend, as it was a bit of a hike to find the World Currency Exchange (which has limited trading hours on the weekend - if any.) There is also a post office to the right of the hotel, across of the road.
8. When taking the train, be sure to come out of the JR line South Terrace Exit as it is the closest to the hotel. Once out of the station and above ground, turn left and take those stairs. You will see a Starbucks ahead of you so follow that path. You will pass an Italian restaurant and once you see Krispy Kreme on your left, turn right and take the stairs going all the way down to street level and the hotel is just across the road.
9. Shinjuku is on the Yamanote line, which leaves from Platform 14 going to Harajuku, Yoyogi and Shibuya. Most of the places we wanted to visit were on this line, so transport was really easy. We'd recommend though that you purchase a Suica card, which is a card that you load up with money and all you have to do is swipe it each time you ride the train. It will save you a lot of hassle trying to figure out the cost of each fare from one station to another. You will need one Suica card for each person. you can even use the Suica card to pay for purchases in some stores.
10. If you want some amazing accessories such as diamond studded hair clips, some hair extensions, necklaces, bracelets etc, go to Paris Kids in Harajuku in the street called Takeshita Dori. Most items are Y315 each and the quality is so good. The shop is on the left hand side of the street, not far from Wolfgang Puck's Express Restaurant.
11. We would recommend the Sunny Side Cafe in Shinjuku as a place to sit, relax, have a drink and a bite to eat. The cafe is decorated in a 1920s lounge bar feel and the service was excellent. We went there on a dark stormy night to get out of the rain and it was so relaxing with the lights down low. Very romantic.
12. We also went to Studio Katsura in Harajuku to get a Maiko / Geisha and Samurai makeover. While it cost Y20 000 it was worth it as you got to dress up in a lovely kimono and have your photos taken. It was definitely an experience!
13. By the way, the Japanese are not big on breakfast as dinner is usually their largest meal for the day. So if you want to find somewhere that is open early in the morning, you can hit the McDonalds next door (although we'd recommend you stay away from the McHotdog) or take the restaurant map and go for a walk to Nakau, which is a Japanese food take away place. The service is good although they don't speak much English. You place your order from a vending machine and give the ticket to the staff who then prepare your meal. The meals often consist of rice with a pork chop or chicken or curry or noodles and are very delicious. The restaurant is very clean and it's a great place to go. If you can hold out until 10am, go to the Basement of Takashimaya department store and you can find an array of Japanese food and Western cakes and patisseries. Most shops open at 10am and close at 8:30pm onwards.
14. if you want really good Japanese food, particularly Sushi, we would recommend going to Ginza. Take the Higashi Ginza Station and take the Kabuki-Za Exit. Cross the road and turn left. You will soon see an AM PM convenience store. Turn right and the Sushi place is on your left hand side. While they do not speak much English, the sushi-chef is a master and the clientele of the place is businessmen and high powered lawyers (which indicates that the quality of the sushi must be of a high standard - which it is!) It is reasonably priced (eg Y2100 for a mixed platter) but the quality is so good that you don't mind paying for the experience.

Overall, we had an amazing trip. We were so glad we stayed in this hotel as it was a good base and pretty much everything we wanted was easily accessible in Shinjuku. We felt safe no matter what time of the day or night and it was an easy place to just walk around and explore. One last word, if you can't figure out how to set the air con or the heater, just ask Reception as they can do it automatically for you. We will return to this hotel next year and recommend it to all our friends. We think it's a great place for singles or couples, as we did not see any people with children in the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teamknowler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,946
    2,193
    378
    64
    29
See reviews for
905
1,885
557
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2009

As everyone has mentioned, the rooms are small, but this is Tokyo and real estate is very expensive. This hotel is in a great location ( 2 minutes walk from Shinjuku station) and is modern and clean, and excellent value for money. There is free internet access (wired) in the room, or you can use one of a couple of computers in the guest lounge. Although there is a restaurant, we didn't try it, as there are no end of places to eat within a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4737_Carlin_Sir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
366 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Hotel is located really conveniently - one exit from Shinjuku station is slap bang next to the entrance of the hotel - although this can be a little difficult to find from within the station (Shinjuku is biiiig and complex). The Italian restaurant is pretty good for an evening meal, but breakfast a little less inspired - but there's a Cafe Veloce over the road, and there's a gamut of other restaurants around Shinjuku.
I was over for the Tokyo marathon, so didn't have much opportunity to sightsee in Tokyo this time, but it's very well located for the marathon - 10 minute walk to the start line - and the place was full of runners that weekend.
Rooms are not gigantic - this is Tokyo, after all - with limited storage space, but the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom very good. There's nice little touches - the mirror is heated so it never fogs up even when you're showering. I also found it very quiet - I was on the 7th floor looking out over a car park, so lower floors facing onto the road might not be so great, but no problems there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCushtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This hotel's location is indeed very good! Its convenient to the train station, just around 5mins of walking.. and its also within walking distance to Takashimaya S.C and also the other shopping areas.. the best thing is just walk down the road you can get Macdonalds, Yoshinoya, Doutor cafe which serves very good matcha latte!! the AM PM is just adjacent the hotel and opp is the post office, so should you feel that your luggage is getting over wt, you can just mail it back home!
The staffs are not too bad.. but i would say as we had arrive around 11+am, they did not let us checkin earlier.. we have to wait until 2pm.. we understand that this is their procedure but we felt as least they should make an effort to try to check if there are any rooms available and not just telling us that they do not allow earlier check in straight in our face. Other than that, the room wise is still acceptable.. its small as we expected but its clean.. the housekeeping is good too. But if you are used to roomy hotel rooms, this maybe disappointed to you. With the price that we had paid, maybe its consider worthwhile in japan.. but if its back home in singapore, with the price that i've paid, i could easily get a 4star hotels or a roomy hotel room.. but liked i've mentioned, its in japan so expect everything to be at least alittle more ex.. but the + point of the location already makes me feel quite worth it..

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Loved the place..very convenient indeed.
Lobby looks classy when you first enter the hotel.
Walking distance to everything.. less than 5 min walk to the nearest fast food Macdonalds, japanese restaurants and shops. Lots of shopping to be done as it is located to major shopping buildings nearby like Takashimaya Times Square and Lumine. Most importantly, the hotel is located very near to the Shinjuku Station. And if you are taking the Oedo subway line, the subway entrance is just next to the hotel.

Hotel staff helpful and able to speak reasonably good English. They have the JR/Metro subway routes and how-to-travel-to-your-destination info readily available if you need directions.
Room was clean and in good condition, with amenities readily available. They even provide full bottles of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel! Amazing.
Took the economy twin room with a double bed and although it may seem a tad small when you first enter the room but it is just nice enough for two. Cozy I would say.
Room service available daily, don't even have to put the sign out to request for house-keeping.

A guest lounge with free beverages, nice couch and t.v. Two sets of p.c for free internet access, allowed us to do online check-ins for the flight home. They even had a laser printer available which we used for printing out the details. Fantastic! Would definitely choose to stay with them again if we're back in Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Stayed here for the second half of our trip in Tokyo after staying the first half in a much more peaceful area. Was a bit shocked at first when I arrived at the hotel at just how central it actually was, literally moments away from all main JR and metro stations which was excellent. Many convieniant shops in the surrounding area including a post office with bank machine that accepts most foreign cards and also very nice postal service staff. The restaraunts within the hotel are quite resonable considering Tokyo itself is quite expensive, had lunch there twice and was really pleased. The rooms are small but not AS small as people make them out to be and they were cleaned to a high standard by staff on a daily basis. A comfortable 'guests only' room with internet, printers, coffee and other drinks machines was permenantly open and there was entertainment in an upstairs bar...which I did not visit as there was too much outside the hotel to offer! Overall, perfect for a long or short term stay in Tokyo if you dont mind a little bit of compromise with space.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank febstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel for a week. Good TripAdvisor rating was one big reason why we booked this particular hotel, and we weren’t disappointed.

We had double room, which looked exactly like the one in the pictures at the www-page of the hotel, so no surprises there. For us the room was big enough and view to nearby street was ok.

From our point of view the best things were guest lounge with free internet, fridge (no minibar), peacefulness, really helpful reception staff, cleanliness and great location. Nearby station isn’t the only thing that made the location great: there are also many grocery stores, international ATMs and breakfast places nearby.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and didn’t find anything negative about it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caiybpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Sunroute Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing